1992 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 8 of 13

1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance250000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

The best thing to happen to me is my Jeep

Faults:

I warped the head, but that was my own fault for not paying attention to the coolant in the system.

I have replaced the shocks, brakes, and other normal items associated with wear and tear of a Jeep that is driven daily, and of this age.

I have been through three sets of tires on my Jeep, and I am about to finish off the third set, and no cupping, no abnormal wear and tear can be found.

General Comments:

If I had a choice, I would drive this car for the rest of my life. I have never had a car quite like this. My Jeep has taken me through everything the road can throw at a person and brought me out intact, with minimal problems to the actual Jeep itself.

I plan on fixing up "Old Boy" when I have the money, and keeping this Jeep for as long as the fates allow it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2004

23rd Apr 2009, 10:32

I still have my 92 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 inline 6 at 165000 miles.

It runs up and down I-95 with the best of them, and goes where most could never go.

It is tuff and rides nice. Great car..

1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 6 cylinder 4.0 liter from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder 4.0 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance131000 miles

Summary:

1992 Jeeps are the best cars ever

Faults:

The transmission needs to be replaced. The paint is peeling of in some areas. The shocks need to be replaced.

General Comments:

This car is very fun to drive, and Jeeps are the best cars ever made! I hope that I have at least 50,000 miles left on it. This is my first car and my next car will definitely be a Jeep. I got this car for 1,000 bucks and it runs like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2004

20th Jan 2005, 18:23

I can't imagine it runs like new if the transmission needs to be replaced.

8th Feb 2005, 23:09

Its true, 92 Cherokees are the best cars ever made.

3rd May 2005, 19:23

Yeah, I am 16 and I just got my first car (same as yours). It has 240k on it and it still runs well. lol. I also got mine for 1,000.

20th Jun 2005, 14:58

I also have a '92 laredo and it is still running strong. Jeeps are the greatest vehicles on the road.

23rd Jun 2007, 09:22

I'm eighteen, and my first car is also a 1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4x4. My dad bought it for $900, put minimal work into it, enjoyed it for a good year or so, then passed it on to me. I absolutely love it. Jeeps are awesome.

18th Aug 2007, 20:56

I'm getting a Laredo for my first car, and I'm getting it for 600 bucks (wholesale) when originally it was 3,000 with 130,000 miles on it, and it's really mint so I'm excited :)

25th Mar 2010, 02:07

My first one was an 89 lifted with 290000, and was a constant pain in the ass.

The second one I got was a 92, which was great, but little problems makes me not want to buy any other old Jeep ever again. Little but constant problems, so no more old Jeeps for me. I'm going for Toyota or a Land Rover Disco.

I loved my 2 Cherokees, but it's enough. My last one; the linkage of the tranny broke and went flying off a cliff, and a tree stopepd it.. FML.

8th Nov 2010, 15:46

Reliable SUV, but have had the drive train break, headlights go out because of wiring, replaced water pump and now roof rack broke sending luggage flying into another vehicle. Also, the speedometer and odometer has gone out.

It has around 200,000 miles and it's the 4x4.

1992 Jeep Cherokee Laredo 4.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance178500 miles
Previous carMercury Tracer

Summary:

Jeep will be on my key chain for life

Faults:

When I purchased the vehicle at 80,000 miles I was aware that it needed new brakes. Apparently there were the wrong size of drums installed on the rear (front disk rear drum on this vehicle), and total repair cost me about $800. Since then I have had problems with the rear brakes not engaging. Many answers to why that happens have been given to me each costing about $120 every year and a half or so. I replaced the water pump and fan clutch at about 168000 miles. Then the radiator and thermostat at 170000 due to a leak. Total cost of the new cooling system was around $350. There are a few rust spots (Not surprising being that this car has been in Wisconsin since it was made) Rust near the fuel door, and door handles. Cracked tail light and cracked backup light (my fault, but both still functional)

One other thing, the rear wash has a broken hose behind the trunk panel, that will gush out into the trunk when I use the rear window washer. That can be easily fixed by a less lazy man for a few dollars I'm sure.

General Comments:

I am very surprised at this vehicles condition. Originally I planned on keeping it for a year or two then purchasing a new vehicle. Year in and year out I pass on the opportunity to buy a new vehilce. at 180000 miles and still going I couldnt tell you when this thing is going to quit. It still has more pickup than most cars I've ever driven new or old.

Recently I took it in for an emissions test and passed easily.

Due to the number of miles I've put on it I could say on average I've only had a chance to change the oil every 7500 miles or so, sometimes longer, but apparently my jeep hasn't noticed. The transmission is still fine, the engine is still fine, and the interior is still fine.

The only complaints I get about it regard the interior and the lack of leg room in the back. I don't really care because I don't ride there.

I must aslo comment on its performance in 4wd. When I first got it I worked at a ski resort that was on a remote hilltop. Sometimes I would have to travel there in the am before the roads were plowed and the jeep took it like a pro! I have gotten myself into and out of a lot of tight spots with the jeep and it has never failed me yet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 50 reviews