1996 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 11 of 11

1996 Jeep Cherokee Limited 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

A quality, reliable 4x4

Faults:

The Air Conditioning compressor failed at about 60,000 miles.

The Power steering lines wore through due to a rubbing hose.

General Comments:

This has been a great car and hasn't been as expensive to run as I thought it might be. Having said that, the air conditioning is expensive if it goes, not much change from 1000.00 if it does.

A recent run up to Scotland and back gave me about 32 miles to the gallon which was fine as I wasn't slow.

The car gets used frequently as a tow car with a 1100 Kg caravan and it's like driving normally, the car just doesn't struggle at all.

I don't find the instrument panel at all bad, several reviewers have commented that the instruments are very American looking, but they work fine, are clear and seem accurate so what more do you need?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance138500 miles
Previous carFord Crown Victoria

Summary:

A true sport utility that is a great buy for the performance and durability of the car

Faults:

Power steering pump had to be replaced at 100,000 miles. The replacement cost me $45 and I replaced it myself.

General Comments:

This is a true sport utility. I want to emphasize the utility of this car. You can haul heavy loads, put your wet dog in it, run through mud and over rocks, and cruise across the country with all your gear in the back. Great for outdoor people with a lot of gear.

The Jeep has tremendous acceleration from 0 to 75 mph.

The Jeep performs great offroad as is unlike most other SUVs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

1996 Jeep Cherokee SE 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired58036 miles
Most recent distance61358 miles
Previous carJeep Comanche

Faults:

Nothing so far, just minor squeaks and rattles.

General Comments:

I searched high and low to get exactly what I wanted - 2 doors and 4.0 with a 5 speed, and I wasn't disappointed.

I drove it 75+ MPH on my first trip for about 400 miles, absolutely no problems, except no cruise.

The seats are really uncomfortable for me, I'm short, and have to pull the seat way up, so I can shift gears.

It could be just a little quicker. It has plenty of bottom end torque, though. The previous owner towed something with it, and that might have messed it up a little.

The 4WD works great!

The only thing that I don't care for about Jeep's are the rigorous maintenance costs, you have to do it to keep 'em running at tip top shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2001

1996 Jeep Cherokee LTD 2.5 TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 TD Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

If only it wasn't flawed

Faults:

Minor dashboard electrics.

Ball joint fell out of track rod - fortunately when traveling slowly.

Rocker gasket failed resulting in oil in the footwell.

Rear differential noisy.

Gearbox noisy.

General Comments:

Well appointed, interior stands up to hard use.

Surprisingly frugal, and good performance from the TD engine. But the engine is agricultural (noisy), gearbox rumbled between 1500 - 2000 rpm.

Spares are very expensive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th March, 2001

1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4x4 4.0 six cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 six cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carMazda 626

Summary:

Excellent and reliable

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

Just general maintenance.

General Comments:

Back seat is uncomfortable and lacks leg room.

Short wheelbase makes it ride rather rough over all but very smooth roads, but this IS a sport utility vehicle after all.

The 4.0/5 speed combination offers great performance and reasonable economy (21-22 miles per gallon on the highway).

Antiquated design, but I love it anyway!

Relatively easy to do my own regular maintenance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2001

1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0? from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0? Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

When I first got it, one of the power windows wouldn't work at times. Dealer fixed that; NO problems since.

General Comments:

I love my Jeep. It's great for kids, dogs, hauling stuff, and it's also got all the luxuries I like. The perfect car for someone with a family.

I've had no problems whatsoever, except for the power window problem when I first got it, and that was fixed immediately.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2001

1996 Jeep Cherokee Limited 4.1 from Egypt

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.1 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Vectra

Summary:

It is a good car

Faults:

At speeds higher than 120km/h, the car is not stable.

The braking system is very poor for such a car and engine.

General Comments:

The engine of this car is excellent, but the car needs good brakes and good suspension to help it cope with the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2001

1996 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4DR 4.0L I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.0L I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16000 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

All around OK car, could be better on the wallet

Faults:

Water pump blew March last year.

Both rear speakers popped after their first month of use.

Constant clunking noise in the front driver's side suspension, dealer of course cannot locate or repair it.

O2 & Cam sensors replaced.

No other engine problems whatsoever.

General Comments:

I love the way it drives. Handles like a car, pulls hard like a small V-8, good interior space, although the back doors are a little too small. I wish it was a little better on gas though.

The "Sport Package" roof speakers are a joke. This model came without CD also, disappointing.

It seems that the previous owner may have got it into an accident, alignment is never steady for long, and there is always a noise coming from the front end which cannot be traced.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2000

6th Feb 2001, 16:30

I also own a '96 Jeep Cherokee and my speakers also blew right away, but I had put in an aftermarket stereo which probably caused it.

I bought this Jeep new. When I put a 3 inch suspension on it I noticed a front clunking like you're describing, don't know what it is either, wish I did.

Overall, it's been the best vehicle I've ever owned and there's been a few.

I take it offroad all the time and it performs like a Jeep's supposed to. It also rides like a Cadillac out on the trail.

1996 Jeep Cherokee Ltd 2.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10

Faults:

Air conditioning condenser failed at 25,000 miles (under warranty).

General Comments:

Ride can be rough and 'bouncy' on some uneven road surfaces. Test drive on plenty of minor roads if considering purchase.

Gearing seems too high in normal driving, although low ratio really good off road.

Suffers from rear drum brakes, these need cleaning every time after going through mud and water.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th February, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 47 reviews