1996 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1996 Jeep Cherokee SE 4.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Excellent solid 4x4 and great fun off road

Faults:

Water leak somewhere near the radiator on one of the hoses, but I'm finding it too awkward to reach and detect so filling the header tank each week is solving the problem so far. Plus this makes me check all the other levels so is proving a good habit maker.

The air conditioning has a leak so gas has escaped.

Temperature sensor is faulty, reading 0 degrees permanently (UK weather so maybe it's OK).

Noisy motor on the offside window.

Motor on the driver's chair reaching the end of its life.

Small blisters on the paintwork due to stone chipping, but nothing major.

General Comments:

I bought it with a gas conversion so the fuel economy is great value.

I dread to think what it would be like without as the 4.0 liter engine is a guzzler.

The gas tank has reduced the boot capacity and the cover is too flimsy to support any great weight so I built a shelf which has made a great difference to the shop run.

Great power for a big heavy car.

Interior is typical American - ie plastic rubbish, but the seating is quite comfortable and it has good views all round for parking etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2004

24th Jul 2008, 15:32

Are you talking about a car or a SUV? what are you looking for?

24th Jul 2008, 23:55

Please explain why, since ALL cars have plastic interiors, (including Lexus) are AMERICAN interiors "rubbish"??

1996 Jeep Cherokee Classic 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance99570 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

This jeep is very clean and dependable

Faults:

Nothing too much has really gone wrong with the car.

Just the front brakes and the starter needed some work.

I still feel vibration in the front when I hit the brakes... Hopfully my next stop the mechanic will be able to correct the problem... It has re-occured twice since I have had the vehicle.

General Comments:

The Jeep accelrates very quickly and the engine seems to be tight.

Little oil leaks here and there.

Not enough leg room in back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

1996 Jeep Cherokee Country 4.0 6-cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 6-cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance99500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Solid as a rock!

Faults:

I replaced the water pump, hoses and thermostat at 99,000 miles. It only cost $283!

The only other non-routine repairs were a steering component and the headlight switch.

General Comments:

This is the best car I ever owned and the best money I ever spent; I have owned some much more expensive cars (Audi A6, BMW 3-series, Lincoln Aviator, Saab 9-3) and none (maybe the Aviator) give me as much pleasure as this Cherokee.

Amazing handling with tight steering, strong brakes and crisp suspension.

Engine is very strong!

Excessive wind noise at speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2004

13th Jan 2005, 19:09

Had the same minor problems, pump, switch, hoses, and thermostat, runs strong.

1996 Jeep Cherokee Country V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance153000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Ultra Dependable

Faults:

Absolutely nothing major has gone with my jeep. After 150k miles, it is still running strong, albeit it does have average wear and tear.

General Comments:

I will be lucky to own another car this reliable - The only service it has ever required has been routine oil changes and new brakes.

I absolutely love my Jeep Cherokee.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2004

11th Feb 2005, 13:47

I have a 96 jeep cherokee and its been an awesome and fun vehicle. Its very fast for an SUV, its funny to beat the v6 mustangs and most euro cars on the street.

1996 Jeep Cherokee SE 4.0 high output from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 high output Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A super reliable off-roader

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

I got this jeep with 190K miles on it and now it has almost 200K. The jeep was my dad's car before I got it and he bought it with 160K, it has had no major repairs and is cheap to maintain if you do it all yourself.

My jeep is a super reliable off road machine, with the 4.0 high output it has plenty of power and is fast for an SUV, I can still light up the tires when I want to. It has enough power to get me just about anywhere, I've never got myself stuck or found any terrain I couldn't handle. All though it isn't the most comfortable car, it could be worse and it is well worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2004

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 47 reviews