2000 Jeep Cherokee Reviews - Page 28 of 31

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68780 miles
Most recent distance87300 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

I'm throwing my money in a bottomless pit

Faults:

Well let's start with the steering gear box. Dealer replaced it because it was covered under the warranty with 100 deductible.

Suspension parts: Sway bar links and bushings, upper and lower ball joints on both sides, track bar (whatever that is) lower control arms and its bushing.

Brake drums - need I go on?

General Comments:

This Jeep was full on with problems when it was delivered because I replaced all of the above only 3 months after I got it.

The dealers are crooks so they would only fix the gear box. EVERYTHING ELSE CAME OUT OF MY POCKET. ($1300). I would never go back to them or buy a Jeep product.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

11th Jun 2003, 02:41

I agree I bought a jeep from south bay jeep, two days after I bought it I heard weird noises took it in, $900.00 of bushings, suspension stuff, and radiator and they said not covered under my warranty. They are rip offs and rude. I also noticed my black paint job is chipping everywhere.

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4wd 4.0L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A good SUV at a good price

Faults:

Check engine light always comes on.

The vehicle needed new spark plugs and fuel injectors needed cleaning at 39,000 miles at my expense.

General Comments:

Car handles very well in snow.

Gas mileage could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th May, 2003

19th Oct 2004, 20:02

I just purchased a 2000 Cherokee Sport and when it was still at the lot the check engine light was on. They said the battery cables were loose or somthing and the mechanic adjusted it a bit. Light hasn't been on since.

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance47990 miles
Previous carLand Rover Range Rover

Summary:

Perfect SUV for up to 4 people

Faults:

The driver side seat pedestal broke. The dealer replaced this free of charge.

The exhaust manifold to down-pipe gasket was leaking and the dealer replaced free of charge.

I added a transmission cooler and the dealer forgot to connect the vacuum line for the cruise control and heater/cooler systems.

General Comments:

I really like this Jeep. It is comfortable for taking clients and friends to events, but has the ability to go to the more inhospitable places of the California wilderness.

I can take it off-roading on weekends without having to visit the shop on Monday, which was a problem I had with my Range Rover.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

An alright ride

Faults:

My headlights and fog lights have already blown.

My alternator and starter have already died.

I've already had to get new brakes.

The seats aren't really that comfortable.

The suspension sucks.

General Comments:

I have had a lot of trouble with my jJeep, but I think it probably has something to do with the guy who owned it before me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

11th Feb 2003, 07:59

Don't drive it much do you... please say how many miles is on this car.

2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Poor quality, high maintenance 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport

Faults:

Completely new brakes and rotors, replaced THREE times in just 24,000 miles!!! It will not shift immediately into 4 wheel drive (the lever moves, the dash light comes on) but the vehicle will not engage into 4WD until you drive at least one city block, of course the dealer cannot duplicate this problem. Problems with rough start & idling (even though it is kept inside a heated garage.) The automatic transmission clunks when shifting from 2nd to 1st gear - dealer cannot find problem. Poor seals around the doors & hatchback, might as well ride with your windows open, because it sounds like it and water comes in. The paint job is horrible - round rust patches on the hood since the vehicle was a month old (even though it is garage kept.)

General Comments:

The dealer has been extremely helpful with doing these repairs under warranty, however, one should not have this much trouble with a brand new vehicle. I believe that there are serious design and inferior replacement part (brakes & rotors) problems with the 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport and WOULD not recommend one to anyone. Ride is very rough - like a Sherman tank. Now I am trying to get out of my lease & cannot without huge penalties because I have 3 years of payments left on this inferior crap-mobile!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2002

20th Jun 2004, 08:05

Hey guys, I would like to mention I read the first complaint, I was sorry to read that, I myself have a 2000 cherokee I have nothing, but good luck, it's my second one since 91, I have had great service from both so far and was saddened that they discontinued the cherokee sport, knock on wood cherokee's rock!

12th Sep 2008, 11:07

I know one of the factors of the problems with shifting into and out of 4wd is proper tire pressure or uneven tire pressure on the fronts. I also have a 2000 4x4 Sport and I love it, when I have this problem, the first thing I check is tire pressures and yes it is the culprit.

21st Aug 2010, 19:27

You keep it in a garage. A Jeep is an outside vehicle. Mine sleeps in the snow, mud, and rain. It has never given me an issue except the power windows, which was just a broken ground wire.

You actually have to have some mechanical ability to own a Jeep. Mine has 125000 miles and is still as strong as ever.

All I have ever done is oil changes, and junk like that; just general maintenance.

Oh yeah, the front seats like to break on these Jeeps, but replacements are cheap.

Put it outside and make it happy.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 106 reviews