Jeep CJ5 Reviews

1978 Jeep CJ5 304 V8 from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 304 V8 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Great weekend Jeep

Faults:

Since I bought this Jeep, I've had to replace the flywheel, starter, alternator, battery, radio, speakers, steering wheel, horn, and other small things. I've enjoyed the work, and Jeep can't be blamed for what the past 30 years, or so, of previous owners neglected to do.

General Comments:

It's the most fun Jeep I've had, though not a good daily driver. Its 3 speed is easy to shift, and with the 304 V8 it's very quick. That being said, it's not a sports car, and has to be driven with care.

Can't wait for summer to hit here in Georgia, so I can drive with out the soft top. It's fun with just the doors off, but no roof or doors will be a blast.

If you enjoy the outdoors, and are looking for a simple vehicle to get you anywhere, I recommend buying a CJ5.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2009

11th Dec 2009, 07:07

Here in the northeast you just don't see very many CJ's around anymore. The ones that you do see are usually well-cared for and in great shape. Once in a while you will see one used as a small plow truck at a gas station.

Enjoy your CJ, they are a great part of American and automotive history.

1966 Jeep CJ5 Dauntless V6 from North America

Model year1966
Year of manufacture1966
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired24225 miles
Most recent distance25006 miles

Summary:

This is the best kept CJ you will ever see

Faults:

The clutch linkage broke, so I made a tougher one.

General Comments:

I bought this 1966 CJ5 with 24006 miles from an old teacher.

It's been in a airport hanger since 1971. Everything works like new. Original paint, doesn't even need wax. Everything is original; no dents, not even a small scratch. It's an eye turner.

It drives better than the new Jeeps.

I would like to have 4wd put it in their mag or the Jeep mag.

It also came with the owners manual, and for the factory clutch winch, also the top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd May, 2009

20th Jan 2012, 10:56

I have 1966 Jeep, and added a snow plow and need more electricity; it has 35 amp now, and I would like to raise it up. Can you help me with another alternator and regulator?

1967 Jeep CJ5 231 dauntless Buick V6 from North America

Model year1967
Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 231 dauntless Buick V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carJeep CJ5

Summary:

A sturdy no nonsense powerhouse sweetheart

Faults:

Bearings in standard transmission at 64,000 miles, 1985.

Bearings in transfer case at 64,000 miles, 1985.

Brake shoes at 64,000 miles, 1985.

Replaced gas tank at 65000 miles, 1988.

Wheel cylinders at 65,000 miles, 1989.

King pin broke at 65,000 miles, 1989.

Sun gear bearing, rear differential, 1994.

Shock absorbers at 66,000 miles, 2000.

Master cylinder at 68,000 miles, 2008, will change soon.

General Comments:

This truck is the sweetest little ride. I can't believe I am still holding onto her after all these years. She lives in a heated garage and has for 16 years. Now I have massaged her occasionally, but have not given her a hard ride in a while. The rougher the ride the smoother she goes. What a wonder of mechanical joy.

With the BF Goodrich radial mud TA tires, you can go anywhere, even swamps, especially with the full posi-traction front and rear differentials; all 4 wheels always spin.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th October, 2008

1977 Jeep CJ5 CJ-5 version B (gas cap not be AMC 304 Small Block V8 (original engine) from North America

Model year1977
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1981
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission AMC 304 Small Block V8 (original engine) Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance16600 miles

Summary:

Very Nice collector vehicle

Faults:

Electronic Ignition system fouled up a couple years back.

Shaft in transmission broke (from jumping over pipelines)

Normal wear and tear (which has been home-fixed)

General Comments:

Very nice vehicle from the late 70s.

Not pointless like SUVs.

4WD when you need it, but to mess up a nice vehicle with mud is just plumb crazy.

The vehicle I first learned to drive.

Currently restoring it, found out AMCs are not very easy to get parts for, but not hard either.

Easy to fix if you know even a slight bit about classic vehicles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2008

25th May 2010, 00:50

CJ5 1976???

Any one have any reviews on CJ5 1976? Would you say the CJ7 1976 is better than the others or equally good, bad?

Thanks...

I'm thinking of purchasing one with the 6 cyl... I'm a girl and don't want the 8... Six would be perfect for me...

Currently, I own a 97 Jeep Wrangler, but would love to own the 1976 CJ...

Thanks for your help!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 9 reviews