1987 Jeep Comanche Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1987 Jeep Comanche pioneer 4.0 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Awsome

Faults:

I have gone through 2 Radiators.

Well one because of the 2 deer I hit.

I have to jiggle the key for the turn signals to come on.

General Comments:

Well out of the trucks in its class the s10,ranger, and imports it sits much higher stock, and also handles more like a car than a truck.

However the cab is a little to small.

Though for the miles and age on the origanal engine, trans.,and clutch she still go's!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2006

1987 Jeep Comanche MJ 2.5 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles

Summary:

Greatest small pickup ever built

Faults:

My radiator hose blew.

Seat has several Cracks.

Got in a wreck.

Destroyed my U joint.

General Comments:

The little four banger has gone through more than I can mention and is still running strong.

Converted from 2 Wheel Drive to 4 Wheel Drive. It was easy to convert.

I've only gotten Stuck twice Wheeling and both times is because I high centered it. I have not gotten it stuck with my 31 inch Super Swamper's. The Tires rock.

I have a lot of fun Driving it and wouldn't sell it if I had to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

17th Mar 2005, 08:28

How Did you convert it, to 4 wheel drive. Email me Please I'm interested. vanillachill@hotmail.com.

19th May 2006, 19:33

Could you send me how to convert it from 2wd to 4wd.

Cmcamp838@yahoo.com.

15th May 2008, 13:59

Can you send me info on how to convert 2wd to 4wd jetling71@yahoo.com.

16th Feb 2009, 11:47

How did you convert it to a 4wd so easily? I would love to know, it would be awesome if you could email me at figget134@yahoo.com.

1987 Jeep Comanche Chief 4.0 Litre 242 cubic inch gas powered from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Litre 242 cubic inch gas powered Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance183000 miles

Summary:

Power, strength, reliability and style all rapped up into one

Faults:

Starter and Starter solenoid went out the night I got my license.

Seats are ripped badly. Butt freezes in the winter and fries in the summer (black vinyl)

Questionable gas mileage sometimes.

Transfer case is hard to drop into 4 wheel low.

Second gear syncronizer is shot.

General Comments:

This little truck may be the size of a mouse, but it has the heart of a lion.

Have fallen in love with it, but aftermarket parts are hard to find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2004

29th Jan 2006, 00:18

If you go to www.summitracing.com, you can buy cams and lifters and stuff for a 4.0L engine.

29th Apr 2012, 02:45

It's the same as a Jeep Cherokee from the seat forward, which have huge aftermarket support.

1987 Jeep Comanche Chief 4x4 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

It's fun to drive, looks tough, is tough, and I am very attached to it

Faults:

Cracked headers at 110,000mi needed replaced. After that the exhaust/intake gasket kept blowing out. This is my 4th replacement - but this time I resurfaced the intake manifold.

Front left wheel hub was all chewed up. The mechanics probably did not tighten it up when they worked on the brakes/bearings.

Radiator busted at 120,000 - probably from jumping the truck over sand dunes when I let my blind friend drive it on the beach. Hey - blind guys like to drive too.

Neutral switch - still bad, I have not fixed yet.

Transmission mount - I broke it in low 4wd when trying to push over a firmly embedded fencepost (first post I couldn't push over).

Fuel injectors at 125,000.

General Comments:

This is the kind of truck you feel safe in when you are way back in the boonies. I have not gotten it stuck yet, and would take it anywhere.

It has decent ground clearance as stock and is a real 4wd truck.

In low gear I think I could pull my house off it's foundation with it.

I love this little truck and will replace the whole thing one piece at a time if I have to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th October, 2003

1987 Jeep Comanche MJ 4.0L Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0L Inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles

Summary:

A solid, nice looking, and great performing workhorse

Faults:

The clutch pedal weld broke at 65000 miles. A local shop fixed it for $35.

The rear brakes have had minor issues with the slave cylinders.

General Comments:

This is the strongest of the "small" trucks available.

The performance of the 4.0L is extremely good. The truck pulls strongly at all speeds.

Overall, this is the best pickup that I have owned.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2002

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews