1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 9 of 19

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 I6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0 I6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance287000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Awesome little tank!

Faults:

Nothing. Just the usual maintenance, such as belts, tires, brakes, battery, oil changes... things like that. I did have to replace the radiator once thanks to a bad off roading experience with a log. The power door locks in the front doors also tanked out on me at about 200K, but that's really about it.

General Comments:

It's been an awesome vehicle! Racked up a ton of highway miles since buying it new in '97. It's been extremely reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2006

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 3.7 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

A giant piece of doggy doo-doo!!

Faults:

I don't know where to begin. With less than 1,200 miles on it, the fuel pump went out. A couple months later 'eerie' noises starting coming from the front end. Turns out the front differential needed replacing. At 28,000 miles, the rear differential had gone bad, the fuel pump needed to be replaced yet again, and the transmission started slipping. Keep in mind that I bought this Jeep brand new, took in it for the regular scheduled services (ie oil changes), and never EVER took it off road. By the time the Jeep had 65,000 miles on it, I had pretty much paid for the thing twice. The electrical system had gremlins in it the dealership never could seem to track down when it was in their shop, the manifold leaked, I was left stalled on the side of the road more times than I can count. I will never EVER EVER buy a Jeep again!

General Comments:

It looked good parked in my garage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2006

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.2 V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

I love jeeps

Faults:

Just little things that are easy to fix.

General Comments:

I live in the NW of the US where theres nothing, but trails in the woods I have had 2 '95 limited GR. Cherokee's and a '97 Laradeo and they all have never let me down. I LOVE JEEPS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th September, 2005

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 5.2L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

Works very well when maintained correctly

Faults:

Hit a extremely large pothole at 94,000 which damaged outer ball joint.

General Comments:

Lots of power.

Not a lot of legroom for a 6'4" man.

Works well off road and in snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2005

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2 Liter V8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.2 Liter V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired83000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

Great vehicle that ended in a dramatic fashion

Faults:

The vehicle was okay until it randomly caught fire in our garage due to an electrical problem. It had been sitting for 7 hours just fine. The next morning about 12 hours after we last used it, it caught fire and totaled the vehicle. The problem may have been random, but I'd keep a fire extinguisher handy!

Catalytic converter needed to be replaced at 85000.

Front axle CV joints went out at 90000.

CD player quit working well.

General Comments:

The vehicle ran well and had plenty of tow power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2005

8th Aug 2006, 18:32

I find your comments strange, I also have electrical issues with my jeep. Also I have issues with the front end. I wonder if this is most common with these jeeps?!

6th Aug 2007, 20:39

There must have been some type of improper repair or electronic component installation done. All of the vehicle circuits are fused, and could never develop the amount of current required to ignite without popping a fuse. The only other possibility is a fuel leak, but even still, there would have to be an ignition source. It's done now, so I guess you'll never know.

1997 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 6 in line 4l. from Portugal

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6 in line 4l. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carCitroen XM

Summary:

Not the most practical boy-toy

Faults:

In general the car has been very reliable, however in the last 8 years things have gone wrong besides the general maintenance.

When the car was new a sunroof was installed and this roof has been leaking a lot from the very first day, only last year “Webasto” in the Netherlands repaired the source of the problem, before that time the car had been to the dealer for repairs and this would last only a couple of months before water entered the car again.

The aircon has also been a pain and has been broken several times with very expensive costs to repair as the dashboard had to be taken out. But when working the climate-control works very well especially with the heated front seats.

All suspension bits and peaces have all been renewed in due time, as well as new sets of tires every 35,000km.

A couple of car batteries had to be changed as they would be broken from one day to another, very strange!

Last year the car had trouble running smooth with a cold engine, and would stop running when I tried to drive off or give more gas. After taking the jeep to service the problem was solved with no clear explanation to the course of the problem.

General Comments:

I must say it has been one of the most reliable cars I had and very comfortable to drive, however not such a good highway drive when fully loaded as the Citroen XM turbo CT exclusive break.

In Portugal it is very wise to drive a strong car with good all around vision as the Portuguese roads and drivers are not known as the best in the world. This is probably on of the reasons why I really like driving this car.

I must admit this car does not drive cheap, especially in the city it is very thirsty so I tend to use this car only for longer distances and keep it in the garage when not used, in this way the car stay in good condition and very reliable.

I and very pleased about the performance of the engine, especially the power is wonderful, it does not go fast, but can seed up and outperform many cars due to pure power.

The car is not as specious as you would expect, nevertheless a good car and I tend to keep it for the coming years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th July, 2005

3rd Apr 2006, 22:34

I too own a 1997 Grand Cherokee limited, and I have had very little trouble with it for the past two years I have owned it. The only major problem was when the boots of the front axles had to be replaced after doing a little four wheel driving. It does not get great gas mileage either. Overall I am very satisfied with this car and would buy another Jeep.

17th Jul 2007, 09:11

Are you sure you are from Portugal? cause you said that you repaired the car in Holland??!!These cars have a very bad reputation in Portugal and you can often see them in second hand sale for 1/5 of the original price and not with many years on them, comparing with other second hand car prices they come very cheap cause their just a big bunch of trouble (oil leaks, gearbox problems) and usually, serious problems.

6th Oct 2009, 09:16

I also have a 1997 Grand Cherokee with the 4.0L inline 6. I love it. it has plenty of towing and climbing power, but I agree with you it is not a good highway vehicle (that's what we get for not having the V8). Mine has never left me stranded or stuck in snow! I have had it for about 6 years and it has 155,xxx miles on it and seems to run stronger as it gets older! I would definitely buy another Jeep.

11th Mar 2014, 08:49

I also have a 97 Jeep Grand Cherokee, and it's been great except gas mileage is I'd say 12 in the city and 18 on the highway. Bad speakers too, but given all one could complain about, it's gone above expectations.

Average review marks: 6.2 / 10, based on 64 reviews