1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 19 of 21

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.9L 5.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.9L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

A classy, rugged, fast SUV.

Faults:

The passenger side seat-warmer quit, but I think I can fix it. This has been a great vehicle so far. My wife loves it. We bought it with slightly larger-than-stock tires, 255/60-16s which increase ground clearance some. I'll keep that size on it because of that and the better appearance. It doesn't handle great, but you can't expect that from most SUVs.

General Comments:

The 5.9L V-8 made it the fastest SUV available in 1998, but has been far surpassed since. It looks great with those hood louvers, no tacky gold trim, nicer wheels and plusher leather package. It pulls a trailer like nobody's business. One drawback: It loves gas. We live about 10 miles outside of town, so we have a lot of highway travel, but still only get 14-15 mpg average. The 5.9L has a freer-flowing exhaust that sounds very nice. The intimidating rumble is pleasing to my ear. We had it off-road this summer and it performed flawlessly and comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

7th Nov 2005, 06:36

Answer to the above comment: it IS normal when you go around the tight turns for the 5.9L to feel like it is sluggish and binding up. The 5.9L has the "trak loc" rear differential standard. That feeling takes awhile to get used to.

I am a fellow owner of a 5.9l Limited. They are the perfect marriage of power, luxury, utility, style, and off road capability.

Question to the poster... Do the 255/60/16 tires ever rub on the inner fender well? Do you think that 255/70/16 tires would fit?

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 six from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.0 six Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

High Maintenance, but worth it

Faults:

Transmission problems start at 1000 miles, Transmission went at 12000 miles, Dealer told me there was nothing wrong.

Replaced front and rear drive lines twice.

Rebuilt 4x4 transfer case at 15000 miles.

Rebuilt rear end at 17000 miles.

Blew computer control panel at 34000 miles, Left car stranded.

Rebuilt Transmission went at 35654, thank goodness still under warranty.

Brake system power surge, ABS system shut self down, Had to replace entire brake system.

Rear passenger door window roll down with out knowledge. I swear, has happened 4 times.

Power steering pump is on it way out. Dealer quote $404.00 to replace pump and pulley.

General Comments:

The vehicle has a great ride, I suppose that is why I still own it.

One suggestion is find a service center that knows Jeeps inside and out. I have had a Chrysler 5 star dealer service my vehicle since the second transmission, and feel they are considerate of my needs and frustrations.

Before buying a Jeep have a service center look at it. Fifty dollars before a purchase could save thousands in the end.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4x4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Not up to expectations

Faults:

A reoccuring puddle on the passenger side floor board.

Had to replace the power steering pump.

Problems with breaks.

General Comments:

This car is not that bad, but it rattle around a lot. It is not a smooth riding vehicle. There is plenty of room for me and the pick up and go is great if you like to drive a little fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th November, 2002

21st Dec 2002, 20:30

I own a 1998 Jeep Grand Cher. And the engine runs a little fast at idle for the transmission, causing the brakes to be worked overtime in town.

I have a six cylinder 4.0 and get 16 mpg in town and 21 highway at 70 mph. Not bad for a Jeep.

I like to change my own oil and the filter is easy as the oil plug to remove without putting the vehicle on a lift.

I think this vehicle is a little over priced, but has the best ride for the type of vehicle in it's class.

I want to buy a Jeep Liberty, Diesel, if and when it comes out, as long as it's rear wheel drive.

20th May 2003, 14:05

Here is how to solve the puddle on the passenger floor problem in under 30 minutes. Go to NHTSA.GOV and look up TSB's (technical service bulletins) for your Jeep. You will find one regarding a wet floor on the passenger side. It is because the A/C drain is clogged and needs to be cleaned out. Directions to do so are found on that site, and even show pictures as to how to solve the problem.

18th Sep 2012, 09:21

I have a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee, and I hate it. The thing blew the head gasket, and all the wheel bearings are shot, muffler is broken off, and the engine needs to be rebuilt. Worst vehicle I've ever owned.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 74 reviews