1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 from North America


Has been good for me for 150,000 miles


The major problem I have had is the vagueness of the steering. This was inspected many times without finding anything wrong. I had always used the Goodyear tires and when I switched to Bridgestones the problem went away. No more Goodyears for me.

The transmission has been serviced regularly and works fine most of the time except that sometimes it feels like the speed sensor is not working properly.

General Comments:

On the whole the vehicle has been very reliable. The service costs seem very high, but there is not much alternative. Reliability seems to a function of following the service requirements.

I like the comfort and the higher driving position. I also tow an enclosed trailer for which the 4.0 is marginal on power. I switch off the overdrive for towing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.9L from North America


Great performer, but a maintenance nightmare


Front differential was bad when I bought the car.

Air conditioner and digital air conditioning controls were faulty as well.

2 new oxygen sensors at 65,000 miles.

New transmission around 62,000.

Front axle bent one day for no apparent reason.

I have had to replace the brakes and calipers and rotors three times.

Replaced rear differential also.

Seat heaters never worked.

Just recently, today actually, a gasket on the rear driver caliper blew open and sprayed brake fluid all over the wheel and body.

The power-steering pump cracked and leaked power-steering fluid all over the engine.

The transfer case bearings are about to go out and I will soon have to replace the transfer case.

General Comments:

This car is very fast and responsive, however it guzzles gas and refuses to run smoothly on anything less than premium.

The seats are incredibly comfortable.

Great off-road performance in mud.

Poor electrical system.

Used ones today are a bargain, selling for about $9,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th February, 2004

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee TSi 5.2L V8 from North America


Great for four years, expensive to keep after that.


Sunroof not correctly assembled from factory.

Front brakes replaced under recall.

Front sway bar links replaced at 54,000 miles.

Driver's heated seat repaired at 61,800 miles and again at 87,000 miles.

Shifter recall for detent addition.

CV boots leaking at 65,000 miles.

Transfer case seals and bearings replaced at 65,000 miles.

Rear differential rebuilt at 78,500 miles.

Air Conditioner EVAP unit replaced at 80,240 miles.

Viscous clutch failed at 82,000 miles.

Transmission rebuilt at 87,000 miles.

Water pump replaced at 87,850 miles.

General Comments:

Generally reliable most of its life until the last six months. Never taken off road, good performance on wet roads. Carries four people and a good amount of stuff with ease. Lack of driveline reliability a major disappointment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd February, 2004

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V6 2WD from North America


I hate all American cars! I'm sorry to say this, but it's true. I love America, but its cars suck!


Electrical problems at 73,000 miles. My rear windshield wipers stopped working and my top rear brake lights stopped working. At 80,000 miles my fan broke down. Supposedly the electrical wire that controlled the fan burnt. Cost me $50 to fix because I found a great mechanic. But still has some electrical problems in the same section because my temperature control knob lights would light up only after I tap it a few times. And my rear windshield wipers and top rear brake lights still doesn't work.

At the same time, there was problems with the sensor which stops my engine every now and then while I am in idle. Cost me $200+ to fix.

Now at 95,500 miles, my rear light sensor doesn't work. When I open my trunk, it doesn't know to automatically turn my interior lights on anymore. My hydraulics for my trunk has gone bad (I understand that happens to all cars).

The car doesn't handle the road (wet or dry) very well. Skid on snow and icy roads. When I brake hard and suddenly, it would swerve to the right on it's own.

When I shift gears, I would hear some clanking noise. Scared everyone in the car and outside.

And last, but not least, my rear passenger side window stopped working. It did not want to roll up or down and it was stuck in the middle. My friend had to take the side door panel apart to fix the problem. It turned out that the connection was loose. Now how can that happen when no one has touched the plug since the car was built???!!!

General Comments:

Although I enjoy the comfort of the interior because it's extremely spacious and the seats are cushioned, I do not like the fact that it cost so much to maintain and repair this SUV. It has given me nothing, but headaches since I've had it. I don't even know how long it will last after 95,500 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

7th Nov 2005, 06:52

I am certainly sorry to hear of your electrical problems. They are a demon of a problem to solve.

Your comment that the Jeep handles and brakes poorly... Do you have four wheel anti-lock braking (ABS)?

Another problem I notice is you bought a TWO WHEEL DRIVE.

What is the point of buying a 2WD Jeep??? (but then again why is a 2wd jeep offered as an option)

A 2wd Jeep is as pointless as decaffeinated coffee or non alcoholic beer.

5th Jun 2007, 04:54

Did you say shift gears? I thought Grand Cherokees were all automatics.

14th Sep 2007, 13:29

I'm confused, you say you have a V6 manual? I'm assuming you mean I6 (no V6 availble then) and and automatic (i don't recall a manual option). Trying pushing the hatch light, it also functions as a switch to turn the interior lights on/ off when opening the hatch.

14th Sep 2007, 17:44

Another review that can be dismissed out of hand. They bought a vehicle that they don't understand, have no use for, and don't know how to operate. As a result, "all American cars suck". Now be honest, you bought this solely as a status symbol SUV and have no idea what a Jeep is actually for, right? Sadly, a Civic probably would be more suited for your needs.

25th Jul 2010, 10:53

I have a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, and it is as useful as a swiss army knife. It goes through any weather or condition. One of the few real 4 wheel drive vehicles out there. Don't listen to this guy. Read the owners manual. Buy a 4 wheel drive if you want it to be good in bad weather.