1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 10 of 21

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L I-6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0L I-6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired95627 miles
Most recent distance97244 miles

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

When I bought it from a private seller, he had taken it to a shop and had it looked at. The guy at the shop knew the radiator was leaking so he put stop leak in it. The stop leak worked till I bought the car. I have had to replace the radiator and the thermostat. Also the starter went, but that was normal wear and tear on the SUV.

General Comments:

Other than those two problem, I love the Jeep. It was the only kind of SUV I would buy for my first car.

The 4X4 works very good, and I love the 4X4 being select tract, so I can have it engaged all times without tearing up the drive train.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2007

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L PowerTech I6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0L PowerTech I6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired132000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Very reliable and very comfortable

Faults:

So far I had to replace the radiator due to a pin hole leak. The fan belt also needed replacing.

General Comments:

This is by far the most reliable car I have ever bought. The 4WD is amazing and it is just as quiet as my previous 95 Lincoln Town Car. It is very comfortable with a great sound system and plenty of cargo room. I now have two Chrysler vehicles and at one point in time I hated Chrysler. Now that I have two very reliable vehicles from Chrysler (my other vehicle is a 1996 Dodge Dakota Sport 2WD) I have switch my views from Ford over to Chrysler. Hopefully Chrysler can keep their heads over water due to gas prices and the foreign cars basically taking over America.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2007

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Summary:

Good

Faults:

Floor mat is wet in the passenger compartment. Now AC is not cooling anymore. Transmission is going bad. Band Not adjustable anymore. 2nd gear does not work. When the RPM is 2500 to 3000 if shifts to 3rd gear and everything works fine after that. Rebuild is vary costly. Any advice for all the issues above. Thanks.

General Comments:

It is OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th February, 2007

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.2L V8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.2L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance162000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

A car that relies too much on faulty electrical components

Faults:

My break system has been replaced twice, total transmission overhaul at 115,000, rear lift gate lock is broken and cannot be opened any longer, electric on driver's side door randomly goes on and off... this is especially inconvenient in Florida when you have the windows down and afternoon thunderstorms occur and you can't put the power window up, the electric seats no longer work, the radio fizzs in and out, and the floors have complete worn down. Oh and the A/C system had to be entirely replaced.

General Comments:

Th '98 Grand Cherokee Limited is a nice looking vehicle with leather seats and all, but the electrical problems, and the transmission issues put this car in the "don't buy it unless you know how to fix it yourself" category. The repair costs, not to mention the gas guzzling, are not for anyone who doesn't make at least $40K+ a year. It has great pick up and does well in the snow, but the interior is tight and uncomfortable in the back and the car basically falls apart over time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

29th Jul 2006, 21:55

And my experience with the 5.9 GC limited is EXACTLY 180 out. I have never had any problems and have over 130,000 miles! It does enjoy gas however... typically 14.5 to 15 around town.

4th Aug 2006, 16:02

I have 157K on my 98 JGC. I drive 140 miles everyday in New York City and Long Island. It has never given me any major problems.

Just basic parts replacement including shocks, water pump, and fan assembly.

Leather seats, power seats, power windows, power locks, A/C, lights, wipers, brakes, transmission, wheels, doors, lift gate, computer display, heater, and everything else works just fine.

It's the perfect SUV except for the gas issue.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9 Liter Limited from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Perfect blend of power, utility, luxury and off road ability. It can do it all

Faults:

Normal routine items that wear out after 100,000 miles. I installed Power-slot rotors, Hawk Pads, and Edelbrock IAS shocks, 10mm Magnacore spark plug wires, cap and rotor. All mechanical systems have performed well and are still very healthy.

General Comments:

The 5.9 liter engine in stock form cranks out 245 hp and 345 ft. lbs of torque. It propels the 4200 lbs of luxury SUV from 0 to 60 in 6.8 seconds. 1/4 mile time is 15.2 seconds (Motor Trend Jan, 1998)

The exhaust is a melodious growl. The 5.9 purrs like a kitten and throttle response is crisp. The large amount of low rpm torque gets you goin' (in a hurry)

The leather interior is of top shelf quality. I love the design of the Grand Cherokee as well. The 5.9L came in Platinum, Stone White and Deep Slate. All imaginable options came standard, well the towing package and skid plates & tow hooks were options. A total of about 14,000 5.9l ZJ's were made in 1998.

I recommend installing a larger throttle body 52mm or 53mm (stock is 48mm) msd digital 6 ignition, AEM Brute Force Intake, Computer Chip upgrade and 180 degree thermostat. These mods should get you over 300hp and let you run mid to high 14's in the quarter mile.

The braking system is superb on the Grand Cherokee. It has four wheel ABS disc brakes which will stop you from 0 to 60 in 130 feet.

The all wheel full time 4 wheel drive is a great. Quadra-Trac, which normally puts all the torque to the rear axle, but can automatically shift torque fore and aft at any split between zero and 100 percent, so that the torque always goes to the tires that have the best traction.

Stock tire size is 225/70/16 I will recommend going with 245/70/16 Bridgestone Dueler AT Revos of Goodyear Triple Tread Fortera.

Its fuel mileage is 14mpg city and about 19 highway. Speed costs money... how fast can you afford to go? It does cost more to run, but you get what you pay for. Kind of like if you want to make an omelet you have to break some eggs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2005

9th Nov 2005, 15:03

I had meant to write the braking is from 60 mph to 0 mph (duh).

The Jeep Grand Cherokee won 4x4 of the year again in 1998 from Petersons 4Wheel and off road.

http://4wheeloffroad.com/roadtests/131_9802_eval/

It includes specifications for the 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9L.

22nd Dec 2005, 10:53

Update from original poster:

I installed 245/70/16 Goodyear Fortera Triple Tread tires. They are top-ranked by Consumer Reports. I have been very impressed with their dry, wet and snow handling and braking.

I am not affiliated with Goodyear either. They cost me $165 per tire. OOOOUCH! (I will get a $100 rebate for set of 4)

Also, the Edelbrock IAS shock absorbers ($68 each from Summit) offer superb handling and ride comfort. Very pleased with them too!

Thanks for reading. Happy and safe motoring!

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 74 reviews