1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 13 of 21

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V6 2WD from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 2WD Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance95500 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

I hate all American cars! I'm sorry to say this, but it's true. I love America, but its cars suck!

Faults:

Electrical problems at 73,000 miles. My rear windshield wipers stopped working and my top rear brake lights stopped working. At 80,000 miles my fan broke down. Supposedly the electrical wire that controlled the fan burnt. Cost me $50 to fix because I found a great mechanic. But still has some electrical problems in the same section because my temperature control knob lights would light up only after I tap it a few times. And my rear windshield wipers and top rear brake lights still doesn't work.

At the same time, there was problems with the sensor which stops my engine every now and then while I am in idle. Cost me $200+ to fix.

Now at 95,500 miles, my rear light sensor doesn't work. When I open my trunk, it doesn't know to automatically turn my interior lights on anymore. My hydraulics for my trunk has gone bad (I understand that happens to all cars).

The car doesn't handle the road (wet or dry) very well. Skid on snow and icy roads. When I brake hard and suddenly, it would swerve to the right on it's own.

When I shift gears, I would hear some clanking noise. Scared everyone in the car and outside.

And last, but not least, my rear passenger side window stopped working. It did not want to roll up or down and it was stuck in the middle. My friend had to take the side door panel apart to fix the problem. It turned out that the connection was loose. Now how can that happen when no one has touched the plug since the car was built???!!!

General Comments:

Although I enjoy the comfort of the interior because it's extremely spacious and the seats are cushioned, I do not like the fact that it cost so much to maintain and repair this SUV. It has given me nothing, but headaches since I've had it. I don't even know how long it will last after 95,500 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th January, 2004

7th Nov 2005, 06:52

I am certainly sorry to hear of your electrical problems. They are a demon of a problem to solve.

Your comment that the Jeep handles and brakes poorly... Do you have four wheel anti-lock braking (ABS)?

Another problem I notice is you bought a TWO WHEEL DRIVE.

What is the point of buying a 2WD Jeep??? (but then again why is a 2wd jeep offered as an option)

A 2wd Jeep is as pointless as decaffeinated coffee or non alcoholic beer.

5th Jun 2007, 04:54

Did you say shift gears? I thought Grand Cherokees were all automatics.

14th Sep 2007, 13:29

I'm confused, you say you have a V6 manual? I'm assuming you mean I6 (no V6 availble then) and and automatic (i don't recall a manual option). Trying pushing the hatch light, it also functions as a switch to turn the interior lights on/ off when opening the hatch.

14th Sep 2007, 17:44

Another review that can be dismissed out of hand. They bought a vehicle that they don't understand, have no use for, and don't know how to operate. As a result, "all American cars suck". Now be honest, you bought this solely as a status symbol SUV and have no idea what a Jeep is actually for, right? Sadly, a Civic probably would be more suited for your needs.

25th Jul 2010, 10:53

I have a 1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo, and it is as useful as a swiss army knife. It goes through any weather or condition. One of the few real 4 wheel drive vehicles out there. Don't listen to this guy. Read the owners manual. Buy a 4 wheel drive if you want it to be good in bad weather.

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9 Limited 5.9 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance82000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Discovery

Summary:

Great when running properly

Faults:

Where do I start? I have two of these silly things. What was I thinking? Both are 1998 Limiteds. One is a 5.9 and the other is a regular 5.2. Major problems with both.

Bad paint problems on the 5.9. The paint it badly faded on the hood louvers and on the grille... very disappointing especially when it happens around 55000 miles.

The 5.9 has left me stranded before because of a bad relay which cuts fuel off to the vehicle do to an accident, but there was no accident!

Constant problems with the axles in both of the Jeeps.

You name it and it has happened to the 5.2 Jeep.

In both the 5.9 and the 5.2 the heated seats work for about a week after being replaced. I have done that numerous times... I quit, I will just deal with a cold butt!

Check engine lights are a common thing... many transmission problems in both Jeeps.

In both Jeeps the rear windows love to mysteriously roll down.

Jeep dealers are worthless!...can't ever fix anything the first time. I am glad that I have extended warranty or else I would have paid for the Jeeps twice.

General Comments:

Both Jeeps perform great. Especially the 5.9, loads of torque!

Both of these Jeeps tow extremly well. I have a 21' car hauler and can pull cars great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

13th Sep 2007, 16:14

Transmission issues are fairly common in Jeeps, and can often be traced back to service stations failing to use the proper additive...

http://www.wjjeeps.com/service/transmission.htm

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 74 reviews