1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee 5.9 Limited 5.9 V8 from North America


Great when running properly


Where do I start? I have two of these silly things. What was I thinking? Both are 1998 Limiteds. One is a 5.9 and the other is a regular 5.2. Major problems with both.

Bad paint problems on the 5.9. The paint it badly faded on the hood louvers and on the grille... very disappointing especially when it happens around 55000 miles.

The 5.9 has left me stranded before because of a bad relay which cuts fuel off to the vehicle do to an accident, but there was no accident!

Constant problems with the axles in both of the Jeeps.

You name it and it has happened to the 5.2 Jeep.

In both the 5.9 and the 5.2 the heated seats work for about a week after being replaced. I have done that numerous times... I quit, I will just deal with a cold butt!

Check engine lights are a common thing... many transmission problems in both Jeeps.

In both Jeeps the rear windows love to mysteriously roll down.

Jeep dealers are worthless!...can't ever fix anything the first time. I am glad that I have extended warranty or else I would have paid for the Jeeps twice.

General Comments:

Both Jeeps perform great. Especially the 5.9, loads of torque!

Both of these Jeeps tow extremly well. I have a 21' car hauler and can pull cars great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th January, 2004

13th Sep 2007, 16:14

Transmission issues are fairly common in Jeeps, and can often be traced back to service stations failing to use the proper additive...


1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo I-6 4.0L from North America


This is a real American car


There was very little wrong with this car. I replaced the fan belt after a couple odd noises, and my transmission is acting a little weird, but that is a Jeep trade mark, after 100,000 miles your trans will usually have problems as my old Wrangler YJ did.

General Comments:

This car is definitely an indestructible force. You can blast through any trail and have no problem with the stock suspension (although not tight enough for me), the engine, or the trans even in 4Low. It handles awesome in the snow although people have told me it handles horrible, but untrue. Even though I miss my 91' Jeep Wrangler YJ with 35" tires and a 4" lift, I am enjoying this stock Cherokee.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2003

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.9 Liter from North America


An excellent vehicle, with a good feeling and performance both on and off road


Rear end axle bearings replaced 80,000 Kilometer.

Front sway bar rubber bushings replaced at 80,000 Kilometers.

Gas mileage is a little low.

General Comments:

The overall feeling of a Jeep is beyond words. It is similar to your first love as a teenager.

With a 5.9 Liter (360 Cubic inch) engine power is never in doubt.

Options include power everything, from heated leather seats to rear window with a delay wiper system.

A sound system that could easily embarrass must home stereos, with controls on the steering wheel.

I have only owned this vehicle for a year and I am sure the rest of my life will be in a Jeep.

I have to learn to hide the Jeep from my wife. She has developed a passion for a vehicle, were she never displayed any preferences prior to the Jeep.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2003

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0L inline six from North America


The best luxury SUV on the market


The only thing that I had to fix was the power door motor. $ 80 to fix it.

No other problems.

Very, very reliable vehicle.

General Comments:

I have 80.000 miles on it and it still runs like new.

Outstanding 4x4 performance.

Low operating costs. Especially compared to the Explorer (junk).

Tows great. I tow a 5000lbs travel trailer often. It pools it like a mule, thanks to high torque "inline 6" engine.

Very comfortable, reliable and versatile vehicle. I would highly recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th November, 2003

1998 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 5.9 from North America


High Performance with High Maintenance


Manifold gasket blew at 78000. $240.

Air Conditioning system has developed a leak. It will hold freon for around 2 weeks.

Rearend was starting to go when I purchased this vehicle. $650.

Drivers side seat quit heating.

Drivers side mirror doesn't "darken" anymore. A weird burnt mark appears when the button is pushed on the rear-view.

Transmission shifts rough at low speeds.

CV boots have been busted for an unknown period of time which leads to me having to replace the front axles in the near future. Local garage quote= $500-$600.

And finally the Jeep decided to put itself in drive while I had left the motor running in park. Luckily I stopped it before it got away. One time occurance.

General Comments:

This Jeep runs very well and has great power. It will pull almost anything without effort. Other than the rear end and axle problems there has been nothing major.

I would like to add that my Acura I owned before this had 178000 miles on it when I sold it. I purchased the car at 40000 and never had one single problem ever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2003

21st Oct 2003, 12:24

Sounds a lot like my 98 Grand Cherokee. I have the exact same problems. The problem you had in the park is actually something Chrysler knows about. There was a recent recall you may want to check out.

25th Jun 2006, 14:24

My power windows and air conditioning stopped working all together. The driver side UN-lock button also only UN-locks, but does not lock.

11th Jan 2008, 09:48

That's exactly what was going on with my 98 Limited. The rear end was going and the mirrors didn't darken anymore. I decided to replace it with a regular heated mirror, and it has been problem-free since. There was one time when my Jeep decided to put itself in drive too, I realized that Chrysler had a recall for that reason, and the only reason I found out is through a carfax check on my car. It was a free trip to the dealership, and the car will never do that again. The replacement electrochromic mirror runs about $200 for just the glass. not worth it. Those have been the only problems I ever had. I love Jeeps.