2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews - Page 46 of 46

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee WJ V8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27 kilometres
Most recent distance14500 kilometres
Previous carJeep Cherokee Sport

Summary:

Great vehicle, but some reliability issues need to be addressed

Faults:

Front differential whines at approx 70Km/H & is increasingly louder at higher speeds. The dealer has replaced the diff twice so far with each developing the same fault at approx 4600Km. The current third diff seems to be OK so far.

General Comments:

Great concept but in a country like Australia 4WD reliability has to first rate if outback touring is the goal. This car rates well in everything except that so far. I'm not sure if I can trust it too far away from the dealer. If success is Jeep's aim here in Oz, then something has to be improved in the design department at DaimlerChrysler.

I have several friends who have had similar problems with late model Jeep front diffs. The word doesn't take long to get around the 4WD set and sales will suffer. I love my Jeep, but find it hard to recommend to others. The dealer has been exceptional to this stage and quick to fix all problems which is probably why I still own it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th February, 2001

22nd Jan 2002, 05:09

You have hit the nail on the head with Chrysler Jeeps. Reliability, reliability, reliability, the rest is a refreshing change from Japanese drudgery (formerly owned Hi-lux, Discovery, Land Cruiser, all Pigs to drive by comparison).

11th Mar 2004, 08:32

Scottish owner 60,ooo miles of wonderful comfort in all weather. Had two Steering b/joints and front diff done because bad tolerance on re-build when replacing front wheel bearing seal. Would not live without it!

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance17000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Faults:

Only thing that happened was the power window control worked intermittently. Dealer fixed it immediately with a new electronic actuator. Perfect ever since.

General Comments:

Fantastic car. The best happy medium between a car-like ride, maneuverable size, cargo capacity, and off-road/bad weather safety.

Fit and finish with this car is exceptional. Long haul comfort is great as well.

The only complaint I have is the gas mileage. With the V8, I average 14-16 mpg. Power is always available, however.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2001

4th Mar 2001, 15:28

Unfortunately V-8's are designed for power, not economy, most people who do not faint at the sticker price can usually get over the added costs of gas.

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFord Probe GT

Summary:

Best I have ever driven, and I have driven a lot!!!

Faults:

One problem in Feb 2000 in Wi. The throttle stuck when I pulled away, it was about -35 F, after about a half second it came back and I was off again.

General Comments:

I love my GC Limited!!!! Just that one problem.

Other than that she handles great, snow, ice, mud and gravel, she keeps on going and asks if that is all you have!

I am considering buying another one in 2003. However, I might go for the new Hummer. It is supposed to be very comparable.

I have gone on a few road trips of over 6 hours and I love it. The comfort is really good. Engine purrs like a kitten, and the transmission is also really good.

I think a lot of people have problems because they simply do not know how to drive it. It cannot pull a train, you have to know how to drive it and it will take you there and back!

Check them out, you will be surprised!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th December, 2000

9th Mar 2001, 07:57

I agree, many people cut down the Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited and I don't see why. If you treat the Jeep good and don't abuse it, then it will run forever and run good!

7th Dec 2001, 13:10

I TOTALLY disagree...

Jeep used to be very good, but now, it's selling junk!

I've taken excellent care of my 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee, and still, it has problems. I've had problems with the fuel pump-unable to start, shocks that leak, and a transmission that keeps making noises. Jeep says it's normal, but what a waste of $35k!

I'm going back to GM.. where the REAL QUALITY S.U.V.'S COME FROM!

Average review marks: 6.0 / 10, based on 167 reviews