2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America - Comments

12th May 2002, 18:07

I have had numerous problems with my 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo and brake rotors have accounted for several trips to the dealership. The rotors were first replaced at 6055 miles. At 35,414 miles I paid $625 to have the rotors replaced again which were so bad they could not be machined smooth (hard spots). Not only is this an outrageous price, but should not have to be done so soon. To top it off, they need to be replaced again and it has a 42,000 miles on it.

I will never buy a Jeep again. High priced junk!

17th May 2002, 13:48

I will have to completely agree with you. I have had my rotors turned 4 times so far, and I my Jeep Grand Cherokee has only 33,000K miles. I had the rotors first turned back when it only had 10,000K miles.

I have heard from numerous other friends who own Jeeps that they too have had problems with their rotors. I didn't realize that this was such a common problem.

Additionally, two months ago my rear view mirror just fell off.

Another problem I have had is my brake lights not working. I had to have the problem fixed twice already, and each time the socket had to be replaced.

I love this car and I wanted to hold on to it for 10 years, but if I am going to continue to have brake problems every 10,000 miles, then forget it...

23rd May 2002, 14:28

I have had the same problems with the rotors. The dealer's pricing for repair and replacement is extremely high. Several companies like Stillen make after-market rotors and pads that will eliminate the frequent trips to the dealer for brake repairs. The braking is also improved. This is my second new Jeep GC, the first was a 1993 Laredo. Traded it in on the 2000 Limited. Most problems have been small. I love this thing and take it off road often. It out climbs just about any other SUV I've been off road with.

6th Jun 2002, 10:32

I have a 2000 Grand Cherokee. I am on 3rd replacement of rotors at 50,000 miles. I also have a 93 geo prism with 132,000 miles and never replaced rotors. Whoever heard or replacing rotors when you still have more than 50% of brake pad left? The excuse offered by my jeep dealer is that lug nuts were probably tightened incorrectly. GIVE ME A BRAKE! Pun Intended.

12th Jun 2002, 19:53

This 2000 Jeep is our second Grand Cherokee. The first was a 1998 that the company bought back before we turned it in under our Lemon Law. (Three transmissions, four rear ends, two front ends and all new shocks and struts? and the car wasn?t even two years old) We thought it might have been a fluke so we "bit" on the 2000. We've had the rotors trued twice and the car has less than 30,000 miles. We've had all new shocks and struts and major transmission adjustments. It's still clunking and slipping away. The dealer thinks we're crazy. We're thinking,"not again!" We're going to try to hang on to it another year, but Toyota is calling pretty loud! NEVER NEVER NEVER AGAIN! Our Jeep experience has left us older, wiser and much poorer! Sure looks good sitting in the service bay though!

18th Jun 2002, 11:35

I've been quite pleased with my 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo. I've got 44,000+ miles on it and just noticed my first issue, a squeal when braking, this week. I'll be taking it in to inspect that tomorrow. Other than the factory recall for the fuel pump seal, I've experienced no problems.

I drive this vehicle 60 miles/day, and have been on several long vacation drives. I've found it both reliable and comfortable.

However, to be fair, I do have a friend whose experience was quite different from mine. He has complained mostly about fit/finish problems and rattles or squeaks in the interior trim. In my opinion, Chrysler probably suffers from erratic quality control.

30th Jun 2002, 18:02

If anyone else has bothered to read this far - you've probably noticed NUMEROUS complaints about rotors.

Well - ours has 37000 miles and is ready for its second rotor repair. According to Daimler Chrysler corporate headquarters: Chrysler only owns a couple patents on rotors and they all have problems. So we should just plan on getting rotors resurfaced/replaced every 12000-14000 miles. According to the guy I talked to - this is what to expect if you purchase a Chrysler vehicle.

14th Jul 2002, 14:23

My Wife just took her 2001 JGC in for the rotor problems yesterday (19k).

Chrysler replaced the rotors, calipers and pads under warranty. 3 months ago they told her that it was not covered under warranty because brakes were only covered for 12 months.

19th Jul 2002, 11:43

Hello. I'm reading some very negative comments about the Laredo. Doesn't make me feel too great, considering I'm just a day away from possibly purchasing a 1999 model. My brother and several other friends sing the vehicle's praises. What's up with all the "bad press"? Can't someone out there give me more positive feedback? My husband owns a 1997 Jeep Wrangler and loves it. Granted, he's had to fix some things; it's used! The one I'm looking at has the "F" package and is in great condition. Don't know if the dealer is a certified used car dealer for Jeep; would that help if it was? Thanks...

12th Aug 2002, 11:57

Yep, Stay away from the Jeep brand. I have had the same experience as everyone else with a 2000 JGC. I have had the rotors grinded down twice and then finally replaced with new ones which I expect will need to be serviced after 10K. I have also had issues with door seals falling off, transmission problems, fuel pump problems. I tried to sell it, but the buyers noticed something I didn't, the doors had not been fully painted on the inside! The primer had been applied, but not the paint. I will never buy another Chrysler product again.

What's even worse is a buddy of mine bought a 2000 Wrangler around the same time. He has had his computer replaced, transmission work done as well. But the icing on the cake was when his paint was peeling and Chrysler flew a paint expert in to check it out, they said it was not Chryslers fault, but that sap from certain trees will degrade the paint. Can you believe that. Maybe your suppose to keep it in the garage?

14th Oct 2002, 18:13

Rotors, rotors, rotors! 2001 Grand Cherokee with 39K miles. Jeep replaced rotors at 9,000 miles and then had to pay for rotors that could not be resurfaced at 25K miles (approx. $800 with labor). Decided to try something different at 33K miles when JGC started wobbling while braking hard and switched to Stillen drilled rotors and ceramic pads. Helped for a while and took the squeak away, but the Jeep engineering is lousy as the rotors are simply undersized for the job. Has been great otherwise and want to keep it, but $$$ are adding up and there doesn't seem to be a good after-market alternative.

21st Oct 2002, 17:58

I have had 6 Jeeps since 1984. Some were bought new some were used. My current car is the 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited. I have 46m miles on it and have had the following problems.

At 27m I complained about a transmission problem, the dealer replaced the transmission, without charge. At 43m miles the transmission started to do the same thing. Different dealer, said the computer was the problem and he replaced it $150.00.

That's it, other than oil changes, new K&N air filter and tires. No problems with anything else. I must be lucky after reading all these post.

If you need tires, I love these, Goodyear Wrangler F-1, the best wet tire I have ever had.

My only complaint is the dealer who just worked on the transmission said it would be $850.00 to do all of the regular mantiance that is now required. I think that is robbery. If I knew it was going to cost me over $1000.00 a year in regular maintenance, I would have look else where.

I do love Jeeps, but this maintenance cost will drive me away.