2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Reviews

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

I wouldn't buy another, based on the valve stem breakage alone

Faults:

I have replaced the TPMS (Tire Pressure Monitoring System) Valve stems 6 times.. they are brittle at the threads and break when inflating the tire. Most recently the stem broke while my wife was removing the plastic cap. Cheapest price I have got to replace is 98 dollars.

Checking Jeep forums, this tends to be a problem dating all the way back to 2005 model Cherokees, and also on the Commanders.

At 39,000 miles, I noticed fluid under the vehicle. Upon inspection, the bolts on the transmission pan had loosened, pretty easy fix with a torque wrench, however afterwards I attempted to check the transmission fluid to see how much was lost... only to find a cap on the dipstick tube that read "dealer use only". There isn't a dipstick, so I took the Jeep to the dealer, and forked over 35 dollars for them to check and fill the transmission fluid.

General Comments:

The Jeep rides nice, and overall it has nice features, power seats etc, it's roomy, has plenty of power... nice stereo system, it's quiet.

However, forking over 98 dollars every few months to replace the TPMS valve stems is old to me, and to add to the problem they leak air where bolted through the rim, so I constantly get the low tire pressure warning light.. and have to put air in the tires, increasing the chance to break them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th January, 2010

19th Jun 2012, 16:09

You can have a tire shop install the sensor using TMPS straps on the inside of the wheel to avoid this mess. They just use regular stems, and the system still functions, because the TMPS is still inside the inflated tire.

You can also do what I did, and put them in a PVC container with a hole drilled in it. Install a standard valve stem and seal them inside. Inflate to 33 PSI, throw it in the trunk and profit. Cost was $12.

25th Jul 2013, 04:45

Please explain exactly what you've done with the tire sensors? I have a 2008 GC diesel, and twice a year when I change to my winter tires, the sensor lights are lit up for the whole winter season. I didn't want to spend the $80.00 per tire that the garage told me it would cost.

Thanks.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10

Summary:

A dream to drive for both long trips, and doing daily errands

General Comments:

I currently have this car as a rental because my 2004 Pontiac Grand Prix is being fixed from an accident.

I love it, I've been considering buying one for the past 6 months, and having it as a rental has finally made up my mind.

I live in Michigan, and while driving this car, we have incurred 2 snowstorms, and during which one of them I drove across the state with 10 inches of snow on the ground, and my car would never have plowed through it like this Jeep. I have not fishtailed, slipped, or anything, this car is a dream, and I'm not a slow driver, and the snow doesn't slow me down a whole lot, so this car drove like the roads were clear and dry. Everyone else was in the ditch including semis, cars, and other SUVs.

The only thing I noticed is that the low tire pressure sensor is coming on, but the tires are all inflated properly, but that really is no big deal, probably just needs to be reset. Otherwise, the past three weeks have been wonderful, and I definitely will be buying and new Grand Cherokee sometime in 2009. What a wonderful, powerful, and somewhat fast, and comfortable car. Definitely a winner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2009

12th Jan 2009, 07:35

It is not unusual for the tire pressure warning lights to come on in the winter, especially in the morning after a temperature drop.

I used to own an '04 Jeep Liberty and this would sometimes happen until the tires warmed up and the air pressure rose in the tires.

The lower the outside temperature is - the lower the tire pressure. The warmer it is - the higher the tire pressure.

2008 Jeep Grand Cherokee from North America

Year of manufacture2008
Engine and transmission Don't Know

Faults:

Drove my Jeep off the lot and got to the 1st stoplight and left tail light out... my friend was following me in her car called me on cell. Got home and got on here and read about the fix with the socket contact... did exactly what he said and... poof NO BRAKE LIGHTS... hmmm went from down one to all gone. Now I am a single mom w/o any knowledge of mechanics... but I did look for the fuse diagram in my manual, found fuse #23...and you know it, I blew it while carefully cleaning contacts, pressing them and lifting all of them. BUT when I put the replacement fuse in... WOWEEEEEEEEEE I have all 3 brake lights. so it does work. Thank you for your help!!!

I have a 2000 GJC with 122k O and the back door lock does the duck thing and won't unlock too... need new ac**** thing. I think I'll take it to a audio/alarm shop and save $ with an aftermarket one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th February, 2008

9th Mar 2009, 23:39

WOW - - I was becoming frustrated because I thought I had fixed the tail light/brake light issues, but then lost all three brake lights. Your entry made me check the fuse and sure enough I had blown it as well sometime during my attempted fixes. Replaced the fuse and am now 100% tip top. Tail lights, brake lights just as they are supposed to be. Thank you for your insight.

Pry up ground contact, clean with rubbing alcohol and slide tin foil underneath the contact. You too will save yourself hundreds.

31st Jul 2009, 12:29

You drove off the dealer's lot? If so, that is a warranty issue.

13th Mar 2010, 19:05

2003 = rear light has never worked. They fix it and it's fine for a couple of days, and then gone.

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 3 reviews