2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo In-line 6 cyl. 4.0L from North America - Comments

26th Feb 2008, 21:25

Last October I bought a 2000 GCL with 106,000 miles on it. As soon as I got it home, I noticed the coolant leaking out. Next morning I drove it and the engine temperature went way up. I had to get the water pump replaced. Thinking this would fix the problem I kept driving to later find that the fan was also broken. I got that replaced along with a few inexpensive sensors. All added up came to around $1200.00. If anyone is filing any kind of petition, I'd be happy to sign off on it.

I should note however that since the original fix, I have had no problems whatsoever with the gcl. GL to everyone else with these problems.

29th Feb 2008, 21:09

I have a 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport 4.0 strait 6 with 118,000 miles on it and I have a number of problems. First the anti-freeze is disappearing at 100,000 miles its been pressure tested and was found to be normal, the oil pressure drops off since 80,000 miles, the windows can only be rolled down from the drivers side and some times the windshield wipers are on and will not go off. Any info would gladly be appreciated. Contact me at Dtheater25@yahoo.com thanks.

10th Mar 2008, 10:28

I have a 1999 Jeep GC with very high mileage. 170,000 plus. I have had the same problems recently as many have posted. I have replaced the fan, two radiators, sensor unit, and it has transmission problems as well. Although this vehicle has been well maintained I attributed the problems to high mileage although the engine runs strong, sounds good and uses no oil. But now I have a new problem. the oil pressure gauge drops to zero and will increase with rpm, but then drops to zero at idle. I am hoping that it is the oil gauge itself as has been described in earlier posts or, since I have just changed the oil, that it might be the after market oil filter restricting the flow and causing the oil pressure to drop.

15th Mar 2008, 12:09

PLEASE READ TO HELP WITH RECALL OF GRAND CHEROKEES!

I have many of the same problems as I see mentioned on this website: coolant issues, brake lights, heating problems, door locks, rotors.

If any of you are interested in taking action towards forcing a recall, please visit the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration website. Please file a separate complaint for each problem you have with the vehicle, because you need to file each complaint into a category. The NHTSA will investigate when there are enough complaints in each category. Right now I see only 14 complaints listed on there for the coolant problem! The link is: http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/ivoq/

For those of you who do not trust links, you can visit www.nhtsa.gov and click on links to File a Complaint.

17th Mar 2008, 16:30

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0 I6:

Replaced warped front rotors. Rear left taillight works sporadically. Replaced driver's side door latch/ lock mechanism. Replace fan speed controller after engine overheated. Currently in the shop to a cracked head between third and fourth cylinders. New plugs, battery, and thermostat at the same time. Yep... sounds like a Jeep.

24th Mar 2008, 11:42

I have an '01 Grand Cherokee with the 4.0 6 cyl. with 74,000 babied miles on it. Last month the check coolant light came on and I've been adding fluid every week now for a month. No visible leakage, just disappears. I went on this site and found all of the head crack problems between 3 & 4 cyl. and now realize I probably have the same problem. This is my 4th Jeep with a 4.0 in line 6. The other 3 had 150,000 to 175,000 miles before I sold them. All three are still running. I haven't even put a new battery or brakes on this Jeep and the head is cracked? Unbelievable.

31st Mar 2008, 17:52

I have a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 6 cyl with 76,000miles. The low coolant warning light had been coming on for a few months and I would refill it. After a few months of refilling the coolant, the heater stopped working. I took it to my local repair guy and he told me that there was a crack in the gasket and that the coolant was leaking into the engine. I then took it to Jeep service dept to be repaired under warranty. It seemed to be fixed the heat was working, the low coolant light did not come on

And then today only 6 days later the low coolant light came on again.

I brought it back to the Jeep dealer and they could find no problems.

The next day my engine light came on and the timing of the engine sounds off.

So I will be bringing it back to the servce dept. on monday.

It turns out it was a crack in the cylinder.

They replaced the engine under warranty.

Charged me about 500 dollars to replace filters fuel injection cleaning etc..

I got the car back after 21 days and that same day the coolant light came on again.

I am very frustrated and after reading other comments on this site I agree that Jeep should really look into this problem.

4th Apr 2008, 15:15

I own a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee, bought it with 30k miles on it. I have had the driver and passenger actuators go out the same year. I also have had 2 temperature sensors replaced and rotors done twice. Every time this is done each visit to the mechanic is between $400.00 and $600.00. This car is an never ending money pit. I will sign anything to get this recalled... oh I almost forgot I also have coolant leaking since I bought it... not sure why???

8th Apr 2008, 22:10

I am a fine owner of yet another Jeep headache. I have a 2000 Cherokee Classic. Tomorrow I will be taking the cylinder head off it, or maybe not. After reading all these comments it really upsets me. I am a mechanic, so I won't have to worry about labor costs. That's the only good thing about it. The dealers have no problem taking your money, but when you have a problem with the services, expenses etc. they don't want to hear about it.

Anyways, my windows only work from drivers side when they want too.

Oil gauge works, then it doesn't.

And of course, the coolant thing. New radiator put in last year; you wouldn't even know it by looking inside it.

Front diff. is making noise now. Keep in mind I change my own oil and fluids.

It will be paid off in September. It's not gonna make it; trust me.

The only good thing about this whole thing is that I get to have another car payment. I swear the dealers have it set up that way. Go Chevy all the way!

13th Apr 2008, 10:22

Very easy to file a complaint. I filed for 2000 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 6 cylinder motor cracked cylinder head. After reading all of these same problems on this site as well as other sites, it is beyond a doubt that the 2000 4.0 6 cylinder engine has defected heads etc. FILE at www.nhtsa.gov (need vin# -- date of purchase) and just keep going on the complaint form until the end.. it seems repetitive, but just continue to the end and get your print-out of your complaint. There is a phone number to call also. This is a super rip-off by Jeep... don't let them get away with it... file!!!