2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo In-line 6 cyl. 4.0L from North America - Comments

14th Oct 2008, 13:26

Man, I will never buy a Jeep again myself...

My Jeep has 120,000 miles on it -

1. Oil gauge drops to zero at idle (no leaks). Going to change the oil pump and sensor this weekend; costs 80.00 for pump and 40.00 for sensor.

2. Overheating:

Replaced water pump and two thermostats. Cost 250.00 at mechanics completed (no more overheating). Still have fluid loss and no visible leaks, and the mechanic did the dye test on it.

3. Brakes (every year)

Rear brake parts fell out when mechanic took the drums off. Front brakes warping every year; cost 400.00 (still happens).

4. Tires every year.

Alignment and shocks good from mechanic; cost 400.00.

5. Headaches for buying a Jeep - Priceless!!!

If there is anyone who may be filing complaints, I will be more than happy to join in. E-mail me at this address mayers@romaycomputer.info.

Thank you for hearing my vent,

Roger A. Mayers.

17th Oct 2008, 10:51

I too have a 2000 Jeep GC with overheating problems... It started this June with the water pump failing (101,000 miles) we had it replaced along with the thermostat.. no problems until Aug when the fan wouldn't turn on and the jeep overheated... Mechanic said that it was a wiring issue and fixed it no charge it worked well until two weeks ago and no fan again.. the Mechanic changed the relay and fan worked as it was designed but continued to have issues with the jeep running warmer that usual...didn't overheat but ran close to the red zone and then would just come back to normal... had the radiator "cleaned out" hoses changed.. NO loss of coolant, no coolant in oil or transmission fluids.. no loss of oil pressure.. still gets warmer than normal but dosen' overheat... not a problem when moving just in slow or stop and go traffic... any ideas...

3rd Nov 2008, 08:26

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee 4.0 straight in line 6 cylinder... Bought with 83k on it.. Some of the same problems as everybody else. Bought Jeep for $4,000 and drove home, but didn't make it. 24 miles down the road and the Electric Radiator fan broke and flung into the radiator, causing all fluid to gush out. $300 and new radiator and fan, made it home.

Took it to Jeep dealer for recall fan switch replacement and they also installed a heat shield between the injector rail and head.

Poop - we bought a key-less entry button and extra key, $200.

No overheating or low pressure on Oil. Changed the oil and filter with Synthetic Mobil 5-50w. Tried to get Oil Filter off without spilling oil in it but it poured out and onto starter. Starter is located right under filter. Yep, Jeep wouldn't start, so I sprayed a brake cleaner spray and then (WD 40) all over it, a lot, and it finally started. Yesterday the rains started and the dash lights began to blink a lot and then the (Brake and ABS) lights came on. Pulled over and put in park and back into drive and lights went off. Drove home OK. I felt that I may have had a short, so I found a crack in the tail light, removed it and found the taillight full of water. Cleaned all contacts and dried everything and glued the crack with water proof. Everything seems OK now. Will look at brake lines next.

One thing I haven't read here is the Head lights plastic protectors. Mine are very corroded or foggy looking. Some one told me to buy some rubbing compound and polish with a buffer. I will try this just before I sell it. I can't afford the cracked head and blown engine problem.

You know that everyone says "Get the 4.0 In-line 6 as it is the best engine Chrysler has made." Well its very similar to the statement, " You can't own property in Mexico". Both of these are bogus. The In Line 6 is not a good design and the Electric fan relay fails causing the engine to overheat, cracking the head between #3 and 4 cylinders, causing the oil pressure to drop to 0 at Idle and the coolant to burn into the cylinders and out the tail pipe. The other statement that you can't own property in Mexico is also bogus. In 1994 they changed their constitution allowing foreigners to own property. I bought 1/3 of an acre on the Sea of Cortez for $40k and am retiring there where you can live on $1000 a month for food, water, gas, electricity, insurances, taxes, everything. I love the jeep look and thought it would be good in (San Felipe Baja Mexico) but must sell it now. If you need any info, email giantdad@aol.com.

3rd Nov 2008, 16:51

Hi, I have a 2000 Jeep Grand CHEROKEE. It has 185k on it and I have no problems with it!!!

4th Nov 2008, 15:04

I have read so many comments on the 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee. All the issues I've read, I am having the exact same problems. The locks make a loud noise; the the two front doors don't lock, I have to lock them manually, and the passenger tail light keeps going out...

24th Nov 2008, 14:34

I have read many of these comments but do not see my problem. My 2001 GC's Low Coolant indicator keeps coming on but the coolant levels are full in the radiator and reservoir. I am NOT loosing coolant, the engine does not over heat, nor is there oil or transmission fluid in it. Everything is fine except that darn Low Coolant indicator keeps coming on! If the sensor is bad where is it located so that I can change it?

Any help appreciated!!!!!

10th Dec 2008, 23:55

Anyone else notice how all Jeep Grand Cherokee's back up lights don't work.

11th Dec 2008, 09:36

The six cylinder in line six "was" one of mopars or actually AMC's best designed engines, as were the 383, the 440, the 340 and the 318... problem was they were overbuilt and far too dependable... so Chrysler improved upon them! With wisdom like this, it is no wonder people are buying foreign cars and trucks.

12th Dec 2008, 10:13

The 4.0 liter in-line six is in my opinion, one of the finest engines ever built.

I have heard that this AMC's engines basic design dates back to old Nash engines from the late 20's or 30's.

Whether or not this is true - it is a fine engine.

As bulletproof as they get!

17th Dec 2008, 15:39

The 4.0 in-line six may be a mighty fine engine, but they definitely put out a bad batch with defective cylinder heads and have taken no responsibility for them. I'm limping mine along as long as I can, and I hate to lose it because it's been great in all other aspects, but it won't be long now before I have to put it out of its misery. It's too old now, in my opinion, to replace the entire engine because of the damage that was done by the cracked cylinder head. I don't think I'll ever trust Jeep or Chrysler again.

23rd Dec 2008, 13:21

We purchased a 200 Jeep GCL the first of November, just made our first small payment last week, and 2 days ago it decided to die on the way to work!! Found out the entire engine has to be replaced!!! It has 108,000 miles on it, they said something about the anti-freeze leaking into the block. Our warranty covers most of it, thank god, but I do believe after being a fan of Jeeps for many years, and the owner of now #8 in my lifetime, that Chrysler really needs to take the bite for all of this. There is such a thing as a class action lawsuit, and 100 people are needed to get it started. Looks to me like we have well over that on this post alone!! E-mail me if anyone would like to pursue this any farther.

Zerostorm95@hotmail.com.