1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer 360 from Norway

Summary:

Exellent

Faults:

Nothing spesialy.only standard maitnens

General Comments:

This is the car with BIG C, it runs everywhere on snow,or sand, and you are sure to get where you are going.

I don't think there are any weather that can stop this car.

You are sitting like you are sitting in your living room.

The car are strong as an bull

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd October, 2006

1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer Not sure. 360 cid., 5.9L, V8 from North America

Summary:

It's my pride and joy no matter what goes wrong with it

Faults:

When I first got it, I had to replace the brakes, my power steering pump was leaking, and the gaskets form my roof rack leaked. It throws oil. I had a blow out with really bald tires. I had to replace the head liner. Driver side window came off of the track. Both the driver side door and the back left door won't open from inside. Had to replace the rear-end because it got flooded. Speedometer cable went out. The gas guage quits working when it gets to about a half a tank. There is no rear windshield wiper. I had to replace the starter solenoid. I rebuilt the carburetor. I replaced the valve cover gaskets (twice). I have to replace the radiator and water pump. I've replaced the spark plugs and spark plug wires.

Other mods:

I put a Flowmaster exhaust system in. A K and N air filter in. I put a sound system in with a Clarion CD player, a SPL 400watt amp, and a 10" JL Audio sub. When I had my blow out, I replace the tires with 31" Roadmaster All-Terrain tires. I also replaced my fog lights with higher power fog lights. I replaced the head liner with formica to match the outside wood grain pattern.

General Comments:

I love my car.

I wouldn't give it up for anything.

My dad and I love Grand Wagoneers.

Even though my dad and I spent more money in fixing it than buying it, I think it is worth it.

When I'm through with it, it's going to be the best off road 4x4 that we own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2005

15th Apr 2005, 09:42

What the bleep is a Grand Wagoneer Not Sure?

This must certainly be the long lost predecessor to the ultra-rare Jeep Liberty I'm Undecided! No?

17th Jul 2005, 08:21

Hey, good review. I was wondering if you have any pix of your new headliner, that sounds interesting what you did with it...?

20th Jul 2005, 13:13

Great Review. I just bought a 88 Wagoneer off ebay. It is not in quite as good a shape as the owner said it was, but I don't care because I too am in love with Wagoneers. My Wagoneer's front end "floats" or "wanders" when I drive it, what causes this and how can I fix it??? Thanks JD in DC.

24th Oct 2005, 14:23

You might want to check the foreword sway bars.

12th Dec 2007, 00:40

When I got my '89 Grand Wagoneer, the front end floated a lot. New tie-rod ends fixed it up.

6th Aug 2010, 14:42

Just bought an 88 Grand Wagoneer for about $8,000. The body is beautiful, the interior is nearly perfect. The engine had its emissions dismantled, so I am having to have that worked on. There are some minor other repairs, but for the money, I think I did very well.

I love the look of the GW!! It is a powerful, yet comfortable ride. I plan to keep one in the family from now on.

One thing that I don't see in too many reviews is how AMAZING the visibility is in the GW compared to any other SUV. I love it! It really has no blind spots, and for such a huge car, that really is something.

8th Aug 2010, 04:51

$8000 for a 22 y/o Jeep that needs repairs?

1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer from North America

Summary:

I would buy a new one if Jeep still built them!

Faults:

Got a great deal on it because the paint was peeling badly when it was only 7 yrs old.

Had the car stripped and painted.

Replaced Radiator (this is a weak point of the Grand Wagoneer)

Replaced pressure line on power steering after it blew out.

Replaced power steering pump due to leaking seal.

Replaced starter solenoid.

Replaced front and rear engine seals.

Replaced EGR valve.

Rebuilt carb.

Repaired frame next to the gas tank. This is a FATAL flaw in these cars. Sometime in the early 80s Jeep redesigned the gas tank and skid plate on this car and the result is that it traps dirt next to the frame and makes it rust out. I had a 1979 wagoneer and it was designed differently and did not have this problem.

Leather seats and leather steering wheel started going bad prematurely.

General Comments:

Overall it is a really nice car, it rides like a true luxury car, and will go almost anywhere.

In my opinion it has the best 4-wheel drive system ever designed, even better than the new computer controlled systems on new SUVs.

The leather and corduroy seats are very comfortable even for long trips.

The large windows and narrow pillars gave much better visibility than newer SUVs.

Overall it is a great car, and it is fun to drive. It is amazing how many people compliment the car. Several have even tried to buy it!

The only real negative is that it gets only 13 miles per gallon on the highway.

Since the model was discontinued over a decade ago parts are getting harder to find, as are mechanics who know how to work on them.

They are much tougher than the newer plastic SUVs. I am certain that as long as parts are available somewhere there will be Grand Wagoneers rolling down the road long after most newer Jeeps have gone to the junkyard.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th January, 2003