1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance66000 kilometres
Previous carJeep Grand Wagoneer

Summary:

A unique theme vehicle that needs tender care

Faults:

1989 Grand Wagoner - all incidents since April 2002. (all $ Canadian)

* Incident #1 - Brake master cylinder, calipers, flex hose, service ($800). The brakes went really soft, had to tow it in.

* Incident #2 - transmission service /seals and misc ($250). A routine service where oozing was noted.

* Incident # 3 - front brakes pad and related ($300) (went for a tune up #5 below and 5-10% was noted left on brake pads)

* Incident #4 - Muffler and pipe ($300) (tail pipe had rotted off, muffler a bag of bolts, converter was OK)

* Incident # 5 - Major tune up, wires, distributor etc ($300) (coughing sputtering, poor power, was getting about 8 miles to the gallon)

* Incident # 6 - Now just a few days after the #5, the in car heater won't come on, although the air conditioning module works. Perhaps it's the switch. And the right front window has started sticking. (to be done)

General Comments:

Hi folks. In April 2002, I acquired a 1989 Grand Wagoner from a relative. It had about 60,000k, now has 66,000 k. We love this fine beast. But we are bugged by the maelstrom of problems. But, despite the growls we won't cut this wildcat loose. Comments?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th September, 2002

1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer AMC 360 5.9L 2bbl from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission AMC 360 5.9L 2bbl Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired156000 miles
Most recent distance159000 miles

Summary:

A Timeless Beast Forever

Faults:

Gas gauge is inaccurate.

Temp gauge may be inaccurate: never goes above 160 but smells like it's overheating in hot weather.

Only gets 11 - 12mpg.

Exhaust rusted out when I got it at 156000 miles.

Headliner beginning to sag.

Reverse lockout is unreliable, so be very careful when shifting from drive to neutral while moving!

General Comments:

Awesome off road capability.

Beastly powerful engine.

Very reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th May, 2002

1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1993
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Faults:

My 1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer didn't survive the third fire. The first time it was burned happened at the gas station when the catalytic converter overheated and started a fire. The interior of the car had to be completely restored.

The second fire was due to a short in the wiring harness.

The third fire was the fatal one. The engine started smoking while parked at a service station. The engine was off and the cause of the fire is unknown because the engine was so badly burned.

The Jeep seemed to be part of the family, and we are all so sad because it is gone. It can't be replaced by anything on the market. Despite the many problems we had with it through the years, it always stopped running at a place where I could get help and continue on my way.

General Comments:

We bought the Jeep Grand Wagoneer because of its classic style and its reputation for dependability. It lived up to its looks, but not to its reputation. We loved it anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

19th Jul 2005, 20:15

The air noise from the 2WD / 4WD selector when shifting is normal; check out bjsoffroad.com and ifsja.org... I've got an 85, so I know how these things are. Good luck!

1989 Jeep Grand Wagoneer V-8 360 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-8 360 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Deluxe!

Faults:

Electronics are notoriously bad - back seat driver's window, slow tailgate window, short in the back seat passenger window.

On one occasion, driving over the Continental Divide, the Jeep got a bit of vapor lock. Spraying carb cleaner in the carb started it up after 20 minutes.

Fuel gauge inaccurate - I keep a small notebook handy for records - and 5 gallons of fuel on the roof!

General Comments:

The GW tends to run hot - about 220 degrees consistently.

This truck is tough as nails and nicely countered with more panache than 99% of all other vehicles. However, it needs lots of tender loving care - routine maintenance like checking fluids, etc.

I wouldn't trade this truck for anything, despite the 11 mpg I get cruising down the mountain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2001

31st Jan 2003, 23:43

Your comments hit the nail on the head. I have owned mine for a year and have done numerous things to it: new engine, rebuilt the tranny, new heater core. Stuff like that. I wish that they had put a bigger gas tank in it as I fuel up much too often. I also wish that it had fuel injection. As long as I have had it even with the new engine, I still have a miss and cannot figure out what it is. I have even taken it to a "professional" mechanic who cannot find how to fix it either. I think my only remedy is a new carb.

Even with all the problems and the countless hours spent under the hood and on the floor of my garage, I still love this thing!! Call me stupid, but it looks cool. My wife wants me to get rid of it until she rides in it!

28th Jul 2005, 20:30

I have had my 89 GW since spring of 96 and I love my girl! I had thought about replacing her, but nothing out there comes close in cargo space, interior comfort and style. And as a Scout mom I do use all the features including 4 wheel drive.

It does run hot and I have had to drop a couple of radiators in her. That has been the only on-going issue.

I do confess that the gas gauge is not to be relied on (thank heavens for Triple A's road service!) and the back window wiper does not work, but with more than 198,000 miles on her those kinds of things are going to happen.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 18 reviews