2001 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7 from North America


I am very happy with this vehicle


I haven't had it serviced yet. I've not had any problems. There is a recall to replace a part but it's not causing me any problems and I haven't made an appt to get it fixed yet.

General Comments:

Gas mileage could be better but it gets the 16/20 rating that it promises. I can get about 22 mpg on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2002

2nd Jun 2002, 17:36

Got my Liberty 1 1/2 weeks ago and I love it! I have no complaints whatsoever, although it has only been less than 2 weeks since I got it. After reading all the negative comments, I am keeping my fingers crossed.

I love everything about this vehicle. The design is fabulous. My favorite is the brush aluminum accents.

Haven gone 4x4ing with it yet - only 500 kilometers now, so have to break it in first.

I would definitely recommend this vehicle.

2001 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7 V6 from North America


So far so good... I'm in love!


The car "creaks" a little when the brakes are applied at slow speeds. I haven't gotten them fixed just yet.

The front two windows squeak on the way up.

Besides that the car is a gem.

General Comments:

Holy cow... I love this car. It has been just what I needed... an inexpensive, fun SUV. Sure it doesn't quite have as much room as the bigger Explorer, Grand Cherokee, and 4Runner, but it also costs A LOT less than those. It has a strong, peppy engine and a GENIUSLY designed tight suspension. It is an absolute JOY to drive and makes you want to take an off-road jaunt every time you take it out for a spin.

Yes, the gas mileage is less than desirable, but I wouldn't trade my V6 for ANY 4 cylinder go-kart out there. It has enough room for everything I need and my passengers have been pleasantly surprised at the roominess of the back seats.

I loved my Pathfinder to death and it lasted me 216,000 miles, but nothing can beat this sportiness and strength for the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th September, 2001

8th Mar 2007, 20:25

I have a jeep liberty ltd 2002, this is my first vehicle and I absolutely love it. It is the perfect size, no problem parking it or trying to get out of a tight parking spot. it's been almost 5 yrs now that I have owned it.

8th Mar 2007, 20:28

I have seen photos of the 2008 liberty and I don't agree with the change. I think it is ugly and it doesn't even look like a liberty.

9th Mar 2007, 08:55

The current Liberty is attractive?

2001 Jeep Liberty 3.7 Power Tech V6 from North America




We are previous owners of a Jeep Wrangler, so we are familiar with Jeeps. The main concern that we have with this vehicle is a constant pull to the right. This was addressed with the salesperson on our first test drive, and he assured us he would have it taken care of with an alignment.

We were also interested in a sunroof, which this vehicle did not have. We stated that we were in no hurry to buy, and that we would order a new vehicle with the sunroof. The salesperson said he could get the roof installed; although he wanted one thousand dollars to do it. We said "No", we would order a new Liberty, it was only going to cost seven hundred dollars from the factory. We agreed to have one installed for seven hundred dollars.

The alignment was noted in our purchase and Sales agreement, and therefore, we went forward in Good Faith on this purchase. A few days later we went back to pay for the Jeep Liberty, we insisted on taking it for another test drive; and this time we were assured the alignment had been done. Of course the alignment was not done, and when we arrived back, the salesperson was there to ask how it went. We told him the alignment still had not been done. He apologized, he said, we had no sooner taken the Liberty out for the drive, when he found out that it was not done. We discussed this issue which we felt was serious, and how disappointed we were since it was still not correct. Again, we were assured it would be taken care of.

We paid for the Liberty and planned to pick it up the next week with wheel alignment corrected. Needless to say, the Liberty came with the pulling problem still not corrected! It went in a couple of days later, and was there for two days. We got the Liberty back, and again, the vehicle still pulls to the right. There were a few other items to be taken care of, which they did, but, the process was an ordeal. We are still not happy about the pulling, and are in the process of filing under our state's Lemon Law, since it has gone back again to the dealer who had to take it out for an alignment since their own machine could not do it. Another dealer, could not perform an alignment also, but, said it was within the parameters, and therefore, "OK"; but, could not explain the pulling, other than, all vehicles pull to the right!

General Comments:

Pulling to the right, makes driving difficult due to the constant steering correction you have to apply to compensate for the pull.

The Liberty has since developed a lot of squeaks when not on a perfectly smooth road; dealer says they all squeak.

There is a "clattering sound" in the front end on the driver's side; dealer states that everything looks OK.

Sunrood had a problem closing and makes a noise, closes now, but still noisy. We were told by the owner of the company who installed it, they are aware of the noise problem, but, do not know how to correct it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2001

3rd Sep 2001, 10:38

I don't want to add insult to injury but almost without exception, everyone I have ever known who had an after market sunroof put in was disappointed.

One friend of mine had one put in and they still left the black marker outline of where they had to cut on the headliner. It's very visible.