2001 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.6L from North America

Summary:

Great car if properly maintained

Faults:

Replaced brakes at 60,000 and 110,000.

Key-off battery drain; replaced battery 2005, 2008.

Replaced tires at 55,000 and 109,000.

Replaced cooling switch relay 2008.

Replaced automatic window and seal 2005.

Seats are beginning to wear.

General Comments:

The Jeep has been a very reliable car and has given me the least trouble of all my cars; way less than the Nissan's I traded in.

It is comfortable, handles well and is generally safe.

I do wish the upholstery maintained a little better, because I travel a lot and the driver's side is tearing; also I had to use a steering wheel cover because the plastic was wearing and coming off black on my hands in the hot summers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th October, 2008

2001 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7 V6 from North America

Summary:

Great Vehicle

Faults:

The mystique is a car I would not give my worst enemy, we had to put a new transmission, 2 timing belts (3 weeks apart), The engine had a problem with the RPM's not staying set.

General Comments:

I bought the Jeep Liberty Sport because we need a more reliable vehicle. It has room for two growing boys to sit in the back. I would buy another Jeep in the future.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2004

2001 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7 Liter from North America

Summary:

This Liberty is very confusing but looking good

Faults:

Pull to the right initially (12 miles).

Serpertine belt glazed at 2900 miles.

Stumble or engine after refueling at 150 miles.

The first panic stop I made almost landed me in the ditch.

General Comments:

This Liberty has some quality issues.

But over all this is the first year.

Dealer has not been able to correct engine stumble.

Dealer performed alignment and corrected pull to the right, but now the Liberty doesn't track that good. Steering requires even more correcting.

On test drive he's constantly correcting and want admit it. These kids playing mechanic is getting scary.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th May, 2002

2001 Jeep Liberty Limited 6 from North America

Summary:

A great vehicle, that has a problem

Faults:

Jeep pulled to the right, but the dealer has since taken care of the problem.

I now have another problem with the electrical system, or computer on board not sure yet. I do know that I have no lights inside or out, the doors will not lock, and the temperature display gauge for the outside did not work, which I can live with.

The other problem is the speedometer was not working or the odometer.

I was also on my way to the dealer today and all of a sudden the engine jerks and then the engine light comes on, I did make it to the dealer and hope they find out what the problem is.

I really love this Jeep, but am very concerned about electrical problems already and really don't want them pulling out the dash for anything as there will be squeaks to deal with then. I just took it in the shop today and they did provide me with a loaner, will have to see what the problem is and was just wondering if anyone else might have had this problem.

Thank You

Mike.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th February, 2002

6th Feb 2002, 06:36

Hi Mike,

I have brand new Cherokee with 750 km on it.

It pulls just a bit to the right, have not taken it in yet.

Before I got it, dealer honestly told that many other Cherokees had a problem with the Centrallino, the control board, I think it is located in the engine area, and it is very easy to change. The electronic device subcontractor might have had problems with the quality. Not a big deal, I think it is fixed for the future.

Keep trucking

2001 Jeep Liberty LE 3.7 from North America

Faults:

Well I have had my Jeep Liberty for 5 weeks and have been to 4 dealerships so far. The first problem was pulling to the right. There was a cracking noise when the wheel was turned way left or right. After 3 attempts at 3 different dealerships, the pull has been fixed. The cracking noise was a skid plate that was put on incorrectly.

The second problem was the sunroof went broken. After 2 weeks of being told to tape it with duct tape, the parts finally arrived. Now it doesn't leak, but doesn't open all the way and the motor labors trying to open and close. Somehow the roof around the glass was scratched, but the dealer says that they were working on the inside, not the outside. Lots of stripped screws too.

The third problem was a seat belt did not function at all... WOW! More...

There seems to be a bucking in the transmission when I slow down. At around 15 MPH and slowing, the Jeep jumps forward in one sudden burst and then goes back to normal.

Also, the windshield had a small crack in it that I didn't notice until about 10 minutes after I pulled off the lot, I was told that I can't get a replacement windshield yet for there are not any out there. Also I have to take it back to the dealership I purchased it at. I bought it in Little Rock AR, and I now live in Orange Park FL. Some 14 hour drive to get it fixed... go figure.

I also experienced a problem with the heater. After about 20 minutes on the road, it was still pumping out cold air.

The windshield wipers are leaving some black tar film in front of the driver's side.

I really would like to say this is a great Jeep, but the problems have me very angry. I have attempted to call the 800 number and was told that all I can do is to keep taking it to more dealerships. I asked about lemon law actions and was told that nothing major is wrong and that I would have to get my own lawyer if I wanted to try to arbitrate. I do like driving the Jeep.. even if it's to the dealerships only. How do I get paid for this to make it worth it? Paying 27k for a Jeep that passes everything but the shop is getting very old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 2002

7th Feb 2002, 21:47

I also bought a Jeep Liberty in Little Rock that had a crack in the windshield!!! What is going on? Where was your crack?

11th Feb 2002, 15:16

Didn't they tell you when you bought it that Jeep stands for "Just empty every pocket"?

26th Nov 2003, 14:06

Gee, your the only person who has that saying for Jeep. Of course, you probably drive some piece of crap ford (Found On Road Dead, OR Fixed Or Repaired Daily)

-A very happy Liberty owner.

4th Dec 2003, 19:23

I rented a Jeep Liberty - I live in NJ - It became very cold one evening and had the heat high - the windshield cracked where the windshield wipers are. Where did your windshield crack??

24th Jan 2005, 11:35

I have a 2002 Jeep Liberty and during this recent blizzard I had the defroster on high and the windshield cracked where the wipers are. Is this a common occurrence with Liberty's?

4th Feb 2006, 11:53

I own a 2004 liberty sport 4wd and two weeks after I got it the windshield cracked at the top and is making its way across. Also I did notice the over-steer-sensitivity issue and thought I would get passed it well its been 8 months and no such luck. I love JEEPS just not the LIBERTY. If it were up to me I would trash the vehicle in its self. Hate it hate it oh did I forget to say hate it?

1st Nov 2009, 10:48

Just got 2002 Jeep Liberty LE with 72,500. I love this car. Fun to drive and very comfortable. The heat is amazing. I have been driving it for about three months and it feels good every time I get in. There is nothing wrong with this car. The heating system is great and the electronics are working fine. Have a mechanic check out your truck before you buy. I did.