2002 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 10 of 21

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carToyota Pickup

Summary:

Risky Purchase

Faults:

Electrical problems began at about 12000 miles.

Speedometer fluctuates then stops working after long drives, over 25 miles.

If I continue to drive it, eventually the engine light goes on. Also the lights, a.c., and locks stop working. Finally the car begins to hesitate then stall.

General Comments:

I enjoyed the car at first. Now I'd like to get rid of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

27th Aug 2004, 03:06

Go back to the dealer and let the replace the ECU, no big deal and it is probably still under warranty.

30th Jun 2005, 10:13

Were you ever able to fix the electrical problem?

18th Jul 2005, 17:17

Did you solve your problem? I have the same one!

Thanks.

23rd Nov 2005, 11:49

I am having this problem now. Did you fix it or is it an on going thing?

5th Jan 2006, 13:52

I suggest you get rid of it. I have owned several jeep products and Chrysler treats its customers horribly. Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge very rarely if ever honor the extended warranty. Dump it and get something else.

19th Apr 2006, 20:56

Well I have owned a Jeep Liberty 2002 Sport model for a little over a Year now and I have experienced the same troubles as you. I brought it back to the dealer and they replaced everything free of charge because it happended only 2 days after I purchased the vehicle. Now I have been trouble free for 2 years. Replace your ECU, one large problem on these jeeps!

12th Jan 2008, 04:17

I tried this and it does not seem to run as well as before.

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.7L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

One Fun Ride!

Faults:

My Body Control Module played out causing the headlights to stay on all the time.

The Speed Sensor also went out at the same time.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle. The engine is perfectly matched to the vehicle providing highly desirable acceleration. It provides good fuel economy as well.

The interior is very comfortable and has plenty of space.

The rear hatch design is superb and very easy to work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

26th Dec 2005, 22:47

Gee, I don't know what your previous vehicle was, but my Liberty is a gas guzzler... really lucky to get 18-20 mpg

My 3.4L Pontiac transport was getting 28 mpg. The Liberty's gas tank should be bigger. Only getting 250 miles on a tank full.YIKES!

6th Feb 2006, 10:31

As a first time Jeep owner and the owner of an Acura. I must respond to the fuel consumption. Being in a part of South-western Ontario commonly known as the Snow belt, this jeep has served me well. I get winter mileage of 450-500kms on a tank of gas and summer mileage of over 500kms/tank over 600 on hwy driving. My Jeep although a little over two years old has mid 30km's in mileage which may not be high, but relevant when determining mileage factors. The only issue with this jeep is that I have not been able to really put it through it's paces as a jeep, and I wish the factory stereo was better.

17th Aug 2006, 23:30

I have had my liberty for over 2,000 and I am impressed at the gas mileage. I have a 4cyl manual and bet I am getting around 25 on the highway and 23 in town.

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.7 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7500 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

I'm in love!!

Faults:

At about 25,000, the Check Engine Light start coming on. Took it to the dealership. They ran a scan and found that an Oxygen sensor was starting to malfunction. I think they said it wasn't closing properly... or something to that effect. Dealer replaced. Problem solved.

At 34,000, the volume control knob on the radio was getting 'stuck'. Dealer replaced the entire radio.

General Comments:

I absolutely LOVE my Liberty. It's fun to drive, doesn't feel 'tippy' while going around curves and holds the road like a real champ. He's tough, rugged, barrels through snow and really handles the Minnesota winters well.

I know there are people out there that constantly complain about the "poor" gas mileage, but come on... this IS an SUV. If you want good gas mileage, buy a car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2004

28th Mar 2004, 18:57

I also have a liberty sport and I had the same problem with the oxygen sensor when I had 12000 miles on it. its not the first time I heard this, so must be something common on the liberty. but overall I love my jeep and I'm very satisfied with it.

21st Jun 2004, 08:21

If you read your owners manual it says the Liberty is picky about bad quality gas. A lot of people who own Liberty's and have their check engine light right after filling up or shortly after. Only take it to high quality gas stations. Costco believe it or not, works best for me. I've gotten great mileage out of their gas and it was the cheapest in town.

23rd Jul 2004, 13:16

I purchased my Liberty 6 weeks ago and put 2000 miles on it. It was used. Mileage is @ 37000. My air went out. Dealer says it's not covered under 70,000 mile warranty. The last 4 vehicles I had were Ford products. As soon as I scrape up the money to fix a/c I'm getting rid of it. I think this may be a sign of things yet to come.

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 67 reviews