2002 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 8 of 21

2002 Jeep Liberty from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

I like it

Faults:

Experienced electrical issue a few times. I experienced interior lights coming on then going off while driving.

Currently, Jeep won't start although Battery has full charge. Constant clicking of electronics in the dash and engine compartment when ignition turned on. A constant click under dash with ignition off. I was able to drive it home after a jump and reving the engine.

On the way home all gauges flickering of and on.

I'm thinking short somewhere.

Anyone else havng the same issue?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2005

9th Nov 2005, 09:41

I have similar problems. First was the lights coming on during a drive. Then the dash went crazy lights and gauges. Could not start vehicle. Took it to dealer. They said it was the battery and changed it. Took it home 7 months later I started getting same problems AND IT IS NOT THE BATTERY.

6th Dec 2005, 18:02

I have a 2002 jeep liberty that is having some of the same problems. Sometimes (day or nighttime) the dome lights come on. Just last night I went into garage and dome lights were flickering... looked like a lightening storm! All door and tailgate switches have been checked and are good. Jeep has a service bulletin...# 0802601 that supposedly deals with the problem. I am looking through forums trying to get that service bulletin.

23rd Dec 2006, 07:22

I don't own a jeep liberty, but I do have a jeep grand cherokee and I have had the same problem with it. I found out by playing around that one of the battery terminals were not making a good connection. Just try to clean them off a little bit and tighten down the wire really good. That should fix the problem. I did this and have had no problems since.

2002 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7L 4x4 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7L 4x4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Great NYC gear car, but not as comfy as other Small SUV's

Faults:

A/C Pump blew at 81,000

Replaced belts and spark plugs at 83,000.

General Comments:

In the last few weeks, only when I start the Jeep in the morning, one of the cylinders doesn't seem to fire correctly, prompting the Engine light to blink. If I decide to stop the car, turn off and back on, the light stops blinking and the cylinders seem fine. Three trips to the mechanic (national chain tire center) and it just happened again. They are going to look at again this Sat. Anyone else have anything like this? I will report when I have more info.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th October, 2005

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

It's a great 2nd vehicle to own

Faults:

I have had no problems with this Jeep.

General Comments:

I love the Jeep Liberty Limited. I purchased this vehicle just for the winter months. The only thing that I dislike about the vehicle are the seats. They are not the most comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2005

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7 litre from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance50000 kilometres
Previous carDodge Shadow

Faults:

Sensor wire fell off / needed replacing.

Fog lights wouldn't operate independently of headlights - needed fixing.

General Comments:

I drive a 2000 Jeep Cherokee for work, and the Liberty is head and shoulders a better vehicle. It handles well, the interior fit and finish are good, as is its power. The vehicle feels authoritative even when fully loaded.

As per others' comments, the fuel economy is a bit less than expected, especially in hilly, city driving. It has good off road ability, and handles well in deep snow - less so on ice. The turning radius is exceptional!

The displays and controls are well laid out, except the window controls - you never get used to reaching to the centre console to operate them.

I would buy this vehicle again if gas weren't so expensive - maybe the new common-rail diesel available later in 2005.

Overall, I'm very happy with this small SUV with mid-size credentials.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2005

2002 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7 V6 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired36400 miles
Most recent distance36800 miles
Previous carGMC S-15

Faults:

Our engine camshaft and valve broke. We were excited about the Liberty since we just bought it from a dealer with only 36,000 miles on it. Now we are scared, since it will need a new crate motor installed!

General Comments:

This car is my wife's dream car and she finally got one, so it is sad to see her face right now. She is wondering if we should make the dealer take it back?

We loved this little car for only 2.5 weeks because of the tight turning and cute bug eyes headlight looks. We really don't know what to do? It is at a Jeep dealer 6 hours away, with our local Jeep dealer talking to Chrysler to see if they will back them up.

The lady traded in this great looking Limited because it had gone off the warranty of 3 years etc. Help us world!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 67 reviews