2005 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7 V6 from North America


I love it


At 179,000 miles, had to replace the transmission.

This Liberty has been everywhere, both on and off road, and we have had no trouble with it at all. If we could buy a new Liberty with the old body style, we would; don't care for the new model

General Comments:

Great SUV.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2012

25th Aug 2012, 09:12

Exactly why I bought a 2007 Liberty Limited last year (my 3rd).

I love the Liberty, but couldn't live with the 2008 - present body style.

25th Aug 2012, 12:12

The current style in my opinion is a lot better than the top-heavy looking previous style.

25th Aug 2012, 22:49

I love this review.

"...we have had no trouble with it at all."

"At 179,000 miles, had to replace the transmission."


26th Aug 2012, 12:12

Styling is very subjective - I just happen to prefer the older rounded style to the boxy styling on the newer models.

There is nothing wrong with the newer style Liberties, for those who happen to prefer its styling.

26th Aug 2012, 12:13

I think 179,000 miles out of a transmission is pretty good compared to a lot of vehicles I read about on this and other sites.

27th Aug 2012, 11:34

179,000 miles on this transmission is VERY good. The Chrysler Ultradrive transmission is notoriously problematic and has been recalled several times.

5th Oct 2012, 17:49

Although styling is subjective, I must say there is nothing "top heavy" about the styling of the original Liberty. IMO it is STILL one of the best looking SUVs available. Much better than the cookie-cutter look-alikes on the market nowadays. To me, they all look like KIAs.

2005 Jeep Liberty Sport 3.7 V6 from North America


My check engine light came on. I took it into the dealer, and was told I had an internal problem with the engine. I am covered under the warranty. It is hard to believe that Chrysler could produce such a low quality engine.

Seats stain with water. I have also had air conditioning problems.

I will never buy a Chrysler, Jeep or Dodge again!

General Comments:

I think the Jeep rides rough on the highway. It is great in the snow, but the engine and overall problems with this vehicle are bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th October, 2010

11th Dec 2014, 22:36

My first Jeep Liberty Limited 4X4 3.7L 2005. Bought it in July 2014, Pepsi Blue, beautiful... But now 4 months later, driving, turn on "Trans Temp" and the transmission failed, will not run. Who knows what the problem is? Can you call me at 787-509-5656.

12th Dec 2014, 18:44

Earlier Consumer Reports annual auto issues had the 2005-2007 Jeep Liberty in their used cars to avoid section. Then in the 2014 they changed it to 2006-2008. Not sure why the change... but someone on edmunds.com had a similar problem to yours. Go to 2005 Jeep Liberty consumer reviews - edmunds.com. Go to sort by, then to lowest rating. It should be the second review on the lowest rating section. He mentions that the transmission was changed to a weaker one... not sure if true or not... or if you got a used one that was abused or taken off road a lot in its life.

14th Dec 2014, 00:01

Pepsi Blue? That was not a factory color - Not sure what color you are describing, Atlantic Blue perhaps?

14th Dec 2014, 00:04

I've owned three Liberty Limiteds - a 2004, a 2005 & currently a 2007. Wonderful Jeeps - I wouldn't drive anything else. Versatile, practical, comfortable, plenty of room for my family and my gear, and they get me anywhere I need to go in any weather.

2005 Jeep Liberty Renegade 3.7L V6 from North America


It's a Jeep


- Ball joint recall

- Power window switches replaced under warranty; soaked them with coffee and they quit working. Go figure.

The only other things that have gone wrong with my Jeep are the things that I broke while driving it.

General Comments:

Not my first Jeep. Hate it when folks call it a "car". Aside from the AMC Eagle, there are no real 4wd cars out there. I test drove a Ford Escape (couldn't tow my boat), a RAV4, felt too much like a car without a real 4wd system (viscous couplings are NOT 4wd), and a Kia Sorento, nice, but no thanks.

I love my KJ, I've had it for 5 years now and it hasn't let me down once. It's taken me everywhere. I put a lift on it, some fat MTs and some performance goodies.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th June, 2010