2005 Jeep Liberty Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2005 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.7 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired29 miles
Most recent distance13000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

The car is OK, I don't think I'll buy another one

Faults:

This has been my second 2005 Jeep Liberty, due to the lemon law. The first Jeep I had, had severe electrical problems causing the air-bags to malfunction, the radio freeze, and the whole dashboard to go out.

General Comments:

This liberty I happen to love and it is serving me well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2006

2005 Jeep Liberty Limited 3.9 from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.9 Automatic
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carVolvo S70

Summary:

Overall a very nice, solid and comfortable ride

Faults:

No faults so far other than lower than stated mileage and that may be due to break in period.

General Comments:

The liberty sits a bit higher than most mid sized SUV's allowing a nice view of the road when commuting. Plenty of storage space with the rear seats folded down. Nice amenities and options for the price of the vehicle.

Interior space more generous than BMW X5. Acceleration is solid. With the automatic transmission the liberty seems to want to rev at about 2k rpm most of the time probably contributing to lower than expected mileage. I seem to be averaging near 16 mpg combined city and highway so far which is less than the 17 to 21 MPG the vehicle is rated for. This may improve as the vehicle breaks in.

The Liberty is a heavy vehicle. Normal breaking on dry pavement is not an issue, but optional ABS may be desired for wet or snowy conditions. Excellent handling and traction in snow and ice.

Seats are firm and allow ample leg head and shoulder room even for larger drivers. Factory stereo not audiophile quality, but adequate with nice steering wheel controls for volume and tuning. Great turning radius making navigation into tight parking spaces a breeze. Highway handling is nimble.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th December, 2005

20th Feb 2006, 19:50

I purchased a 2005 Liberty Limited 3.7 4x4 automatic. I have 7 months and 7000 highway miles and I can't get over 16 miles per gallon on the highway. (I'm using a true miles per gallon calculation and not just using the on-board computer). The vehicle size, quality, ride, and comfort is great. I use the vehicle off-road occasionally and it performs true to the Jeep reputation. I turned in a 1994 Chevy S-10 Blazer with a 4.3 V6 that was getting a bit over 20 MPG on the highway. I wish I had my S-10 back.

2005 Jeep Liberty 4x4 diesel from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission diesel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Impala

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

My liberty likes to drive so much it does not let go of the darn key. I see someone else has had the problem. I have had it to the dealer and they replaced the tumblers. But within two stops (same day) the key got stuck AGAIN. Major problem is that I cannot lock the doors because of jeep's fancy dancy mechanism that won't let you lock your keys in the car! At least the car theft will not have to break in! If anyone has come up with the answer I would gladly accept it!

General Comments:

Key stuck in ignition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2005

29th Mar 2006, 11:41

My jeep has the same problem. You have to kind of hit the shifter toward park to make sure that it is all the way in park. That should allow it to come out.

25th Jun 2006, 07:44

What kind of fuel economy do you get with the diesel? Do they get the 27 mpg advertised?

2005 Jeep Liberty Rocky Mountain 3.7 V6 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.7 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carJeep Grand Cherokee

Summary:

Looks great, sucks gas

Faults:

Anytime the seats get a drop of water, flake of snow, or at all wet, they stain with little spots. This is from opening the door in the rain or snow, not a steady exposure, dealer is going to scrub and Scotchgard them, hope this helps. Low tire pressure light has been a pain, even with full tire pressure.

General Comments:

I am a lifelong Jeep owner, love the Wrangler, and really liked my 1999 Grand Cherokee. I bought the Liberty because of the 0% financing at the time, and heard a lot of good on them. I should have looked into the gas mileage a little more. I recently took a trip and managed only 16 MPG on the highway, my Grand got almost 20. City driving is around 12. Where in the world the EPA gave them 17 and 22 is beyond me. I asked the dealer what I could do to improve mileage, and he told me to let it sit in the garage!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2005

30th Jan 2006, 14:22

You have a problem with your Jeep Liberty if that's all your getting per gal. I have 12,000 miles on mine in six months. I get 18.5 in town and 21 to 21.8 on trips. 12 MPG you definitely have driving issues or you have problems.

20th Feb 2006, 20:04

I have 7 months and 7000 highway miles on my '05 Liberty Limited 3.7 4x4 automatic. I have not been able to get any better than 15.8 (best). That's using 2wd, OD, and driving purposely very conservatively. I'm calculating my fuel economy between fill-ups. I'm ignoring the on-board computer which usually registers around 14 or 15 mpg. I'm very disappointed.

3rd Jun 2006, 09:10

We leased a 2006 liberty three months ago and the average gas milege is any where from 9 to 11mpg.Called the dealer and they told me to wait till you get 3000 miles on it I will be broke by then. They also told me to put more highway milege on it, but if my route is city only...Where did they get 17/22 from?

12th Nov 2007, 17:09

2005 Liberty, 30k miles. Roof has leaked since day one. After many trips to local dealer for mould & dampness, the dealer discovered a seam leaking in roof. (It was) repaired and the roof now leaks more. Too many recall problems.

+side great driver crd delivers acceptable mileage 22/30 -- IF I COULD JUST KEEP IT OUT OF THE SHOP.

2005 Jeep Liberty Sport 4 cly from North America

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4 cly Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

On my first off road adventure I was running with hummers and lifted and locked KJ or liberty. I came back with two dents in the exhaust. I am impressed that I could hang all day with these big boys and only come home with some superficial damage.

General Comments:

The liberty is by far the best suv on the market. Trails demand a small size, the lib has that. The stock suspension is great, easy to drive around town, and believe you me it will take you off road every where the big CJ's Hummers and lifted yotas will go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2005

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 16 reviews