1989 Jeep Wrangler Reviews

1989 Jeep Wrangler 2.5 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance196000 miles

Summary:

I love the freedom of the Jeep

Faults:

Cracked windshield, windshield wiper lever is broken, rips in the seat, gauges are not working properly. The car seems to slow down going up hills.

This is the last thing my dad gave me before having a stroke. I would really like to fix this Jeep up and make it my project car. I am curious how easy it might be to find replacement parts for this vehicle, and if I could get some help asking questions about what I can do to fix this Jeep?

General Comments:

So far, I really love the Jeep. I hate that I can't drive it in the rain due to the windshield wiper lever being broken off. But there is nothing better than taking off the doors and enjoying a summer day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2010

1989 Jeep Wrangler YJ Islander 4.2 i6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.2 i6 Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired155789 miles
Most recent distance160555 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

After some TLC and little cheap things, it's been the best vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

My engine detonated a piston the first 100 miles I had it. It also needed all new rod bearings.

I welded a new frame section in for the gearbox because it was weak. Also I had to re-weld the driver's seat.

General Comments:

After everything was rebuilt in the engine, I ported and polished the head (IT MAKES A DIFFERENCE). I have been getting about 20 mpgs, but all synthetic fluids in everything helps a lot.

There are a lot of little things that help make the ride less abrasive, like oil in between the leafs and good shocks. So I would say that now it's more like a small truck rather than Wrangler tank.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2010

19th Jul 2010, 06:24

There's nothing wrong with a "Wrangler Tank".

1989 Jeep Wrangler S 2.5 I4 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.5 I4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance142000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

There's only one Jeep!

Faults:

I have worn out two sets of seats.

The radiator rusted and leaked.

Transmission had to be rebuilt after 120000 miles.

Water pump had to be replaced at 85000 and 140000 miles.

General Comments:

I will probably never sell this vehicle, as it is fun to drive, both on and off road.

With both soft and hard tops and doors, it is almost like having two cars.

Considering that I used it off road quite a bit, it has held up remarkably well.

As I have owned it 21 years, the cost of ownership has been very low.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th April, 2010

21st Apr 2010, 08:22

It's nice to read a positive review about the old Wrangler YJ. They certainly are fun vehicles aren't they? I own a 1995 Jeep Wrangler with the 5 speed manual transmission and the 4.0 liter inline six. My Jeep also has 142,000 miles and has been extremely reliable.

1989 Jeep Wrangler Islander 4.2L straight 6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.2L straight 6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.5 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Pull your hair out fun

Faults:

Rebuilt both axles, transmission, carb.

Replaced radiator, water pump, clutch (including master & slave cylinders).

New top, windshield seal,

General Comments:

It is truly a Love/Hate relationship. I do have a factory service manual.

It is a blast to roll through mud or sand & pull other vehicles that get stuck. It is also great to put the top down on a sunny day. Of course it takes forever to put it back up!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

1989 Jeep Wrangler 2.5L from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5L Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired143000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Reliable, fun to drive YJ

Faults:

Seats are torn.

Brake lines had to be replace.

Original frame rusted badly and had to be replaced.

Transmission replaced at 140,000 miles - due to accident.

Fuel pump went at 143,000.

Starter replace at 143,000.

General Comments:

It has been very reliable for the time I've had it. I had to spend some time getting it back into a good condition (had to replace the frame)

The jeep is pretty slow, doesn't have much power, not very comfortable, but is fun to drive.

Gas mileage is usually between 15 and 18 on street tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2007

1989 Jeep Wrangler Islander 4.2L from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.2L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired82000 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Fun outweighs headaches

Faults:

Rebuilt Transmission, new clutch, u-joints, clutch master & slave cylinders at 90000 miles.

Replaced radiator, hoses & belts at 85000 miles.

New brakes & shocks @ 85000 miles.

New top @ 87000 miles.

Rebuilt front axle @ 91000 miles.

Rebuilt rear axle at 93000 miles.

Rebuilt carbuerator @ 94000 miles.

Replaced water pump, belts & fan clutch @ 95000 miles.

General Comments:

Something seems to break almost every time I drive it.

The fun factor with the top down or hitting a muddy area outweighs the weaknesses of this Jeep.

A throttle body injection kit will cure the overall weak performance of the engine & less than great gas mileage.

The ride is harsh, the seats aren't comfortable, the top is noisy at highway speeds.

It's a jeep. I would by another in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2007

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 16 reviews