1989 Jeep Wrangler Islander 4.2 liter Inline 6 from North America


A great investment and a great sight to look at


Engine is somewhat leaking oil.

Vent flaps won't close automatically (with switch).

Smoke leaks into cabin through shift boot.

Problems with electrical system.

Bad tailgate hinges from heavy spare tire.

Right speaker goes in and out.

Parking brake doesn't work.

General Comments:

This vehicle is great for off-roading and for in the winter time when plenty of traction is necessary.

The soft top is a real pain to take off and put on.

The acceleration is great for a vehicle with only 117 horsepower.

Plenty of parts available which is a plus.

When driving faster than 40, the cabin becomes very loud, but is still surprisingly warm in the winter.

The four-wheel-drive system works great.

The seats are comfortable on long trips and there is plenty of both leg room and head room.

Despite there being vinyl windows, the visibility is great wherever you look.

The ride does get fairly uncomfortable with choppy roads or many bumps.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2005

12th Apr 2008, 20:28

Jeep Wranglers suck!! Jeep Wranglers are great!! This is the dilema of a Jeep owner. I love my some times annoying but fun machine. You want to blow it up sometimes. But you never will.

13th Apr 2008, 17:17

I don't want to blow my Wrangler up - I've got far too much money invested in it!

1989 Jeep Wrangler Yj Loredo Straight 6 from North America


Solid, but costly


My fan belt went at 212,000 km.

Seats are breaking down just normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

I strongly recommend this vehicle to any new driver.

The jeep is not good on gas so be prepared to pay at the pumps.

Off-road capabilities are excellent.

In an accident the exterior held up fine, but everything internal blew apart.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

1989 Jeep Wrangler Islander 4.2L from North America


Great Jeep love this thing!


I have owend my Jeep YJ Islander for 2 years now and I haven't had any major problems.

It runs really strong, but if you do decide to take your Jeep Islander off-roading it is possible to get the distributor wet. This causes the Jeep to bog a little bit. It takes about 5-10 minutes to dry and then it runs fine.

It is fairly hard to do though, as it has only happened to me once while I was going across a creek which was 3-4 feet deep.

General Comments:

This is a great vehicle for city driving, but not so great on the highway.

I love my Jeep in the summer, rolling with the top down and cruising around the city. It is surprisingly a babe magnet too, the girls seem to love it. With the top down it isn't very noisy or windy until you start getting into heavier speeds (70km/h+). If you do decide to go on the highway with the top off it is fairly noisy and windy.

I love the way the Jeep handles in the city, and it doesn't get horrible gas mileage either. But once again if you take it on the highway the ride isn't as comfortable and the gas mileage isn't great.

This is a great city truck with awesome comfort and is really practical. If you are planning on doing heavy highway driving I wouldn't recommend it though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th March, 2005

2nd Jan 2009, 15:43

Hey, I was wondering if anyone knows where I can get the original decals for the Islander?

2nd Feb 2010, 09:44

Go to a good sign shop that specializes in vinyl. They can cut them for you.

1989 Jeep Wrangler 2.5 from North America


Just like a leatherman, best all-round tool there is


Radiator was damaged. Front U joints (axle) were worn. Wasn't very pretty inside or out. Some bubbling paint and rust.

Fuel gage lies.

Have since replaced the radiator, water pump, and belts. Bought and carry a gas can (full) Will replace the u-joints and work on the appearance when I get some time.

General Comments:

Bought the Jeep from a farmer that used it daily for farm work (8 years). I've been doing the same and driving it to work sometimes also. I haven't been embarrassed other than running out of gas now and then. I live in Germany and drive accordingly (my trips to work are usually between 70 and 90 Mph which is the reason for the bad gas mileage). Not the quickest thing on the road when pulling a loaded horse trailer, but hangs with a tractor when pulling a water tank or loaded wagon across a field.

Wouldn't trade it for anything in the world.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd August, 2004