1995 Jeep Wrangler 6 cylinder, 4.0 from North America

Summary:

Fun at first

Faults:

The rear slip yoke design is poorly built. The rear U-Joints needed to be replaced about every 4000 miles due to the fact that the Slip Yoke will wear out causing it to become unbalanced.

Had to replace the vacuum lock for the 4 wheel drive to engage 2 times. Finally replaced it with a manual cable lock.

The rear tailgate hinges became so worn that they needed replaced.

There were other problems, but these were the most common and costly.

The YJ jeep Wrangler in my open is one to avoid.

General Comments:

For having a 6 cylinder it felt underpowered. It was fun driving with the doors and top down, but that gets old quick when your top starts to dry rot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th November, 2008

11th Nov 2008, 13:29

I'm sorry that you had so many problems with your 1995 Wrangler.

I have owned 2 1995 Wrangler Sports (with over 100,000 miles on them), and both have been extremely reliable with none of the problems that you experienced. If fact I still own a 1995 Wrangler and it is as reliable as any new car I've owned.

I used to sell Jeeps and in my opinion the 1995 Wranglers are very reliable.

The Jeeps to avoid are 1999 Grand Cherokees, as this was the first model year of the redesign, and they were very problematic. Grand Cherokees tend to go through brakes often, and I would suggest replacing the stock rotors with high quality aftermarket rotors.

The XJ Cherokees and YJ Wranglers are probably the most reliable Jeep models. The TJ Wranglers are fairly reliable as well, but some experience electrical problems and rough shifting with the automatic transmission.

Overall, Jeeps are relatively well-built vehicles.

17th Apr 2013, 16:42

I finally rebuilt my 1995 YJ 4 cylinder at 380,000 miles, only because it was starting to show color under load. Otherwise, no problems.

1995 Jeep Wrangler Santa Fe Edition 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

It was fun but impractical

Faults:

Had to replace U-joint, rear and front brakes, O2 sensor, throttle sensor, a battery and an alternator.

There is more, but that is all that I can think of. Oh yeah, I had to cut out rust.

General Comments:

I had a soft top, it was miserable. It was a pain to put on and off. It would always come unvelcroved or zipped.

I liked driving it. The manual was a lot of fun at first. The steering was very quick to respond because of the short wheel-base.

It wasn't very good on gas, but it would have been worse.

It got wet with the top on all the time, whenever it rained. I hated that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th June, 2008

16th Aug 2008, 18:45

The u joint thing would be your fault though, because the u joints have a port to lube them up. That's general maintenance.

The other stuff is stuff that's gonna fail over time that's not Jeep's fault.

15th Jan 2013, 18:45

I have a 95 Jeep Wrangler YJ 5 speed 4.0, and it starts up great and idles good, and is sluggish and sputters under acceleration after 3rd gear. So I replaced the fuel pump, cap, rotor, wires, plugs, and no difference, so then I changed the ignition pickup in the distributor, and it bucked and didn't want to start, but once started, ran like brand new until warmed. Then it wouldn't start anymore, but put the old one back in, and it would start fine... Any ideas? Please help.

6th Nov 2014, 16:13

Any time a vehicle bucks or runs like crap when cold, or only when hot, it's usually the coolant temp sensor.

1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ 2.5 4 cylinder. from North America

Summary:

Fun yet Annoying, guess it's a Jeep thing!

Faults:

Every little thing you can think of. No major problems yet.

2 mufflers replaced.

Thermostat problems.

Transmission problems.

Random repairs and fix-ups: paint, doors, hard and soft tops, speakers, leaking, audio problems, eletrical problems, wiper motors, interior decay, dings and dents VERY easily.

General Comments:

Car is very unique, nothing like a Jeep wrangler.

Fun in the sun, yet headaches later on.

Loud, noisy, and engine is way underpowered. Drives more like a "power-wheels" than a car.

You either like it or you don't. It's a daily drivers worst nightmare.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

26th Jan 2006, 07:55

You bought a vehicle made to go off-road like no other, and expect it to be a "daily driver". Unless your daily drive is over the river & through the woods, what did you expect?

Next time buy a Camry, and stop complaining about Wranglers.

15th Dec 2006, 15:28

Amen!

10th Aug 2007, 19:00

If a vehicle can go off-road like no other, wouldn't "daily" driving be a breeze for it?

Next time Jeep can make a vehicle of quality performance and people won't complain.

9th Oct 2008, 11:06

No... completely different wavelengths. Crawling along at 5 mph and getting on the freeway at 75 mph. It's not fuel efficient, not really comfortable, jittery due to SWB and no interior room. Buy a Camry if you want a daily driver.

9th Oct 2008, 19:22

Jeep does make a quality product - at least my 14 year old Wrangler YJ is a quality vehicle.

Built to last and ultra-reliable.

Of course there are compromises in highway ride & handling, Jeeps are made to go where there are no roads.

Take your Civic or Camry where my Jeep can go, and see how long it lasts.

Those who think that Jeeps are not well-made are very wrong.

15th May 2013, 16:21

The YJ's are extremely useless offroad. They have zero suspension flex and a trashy drivetrain. If you honestly think they are amazing, you have little to no experience offroad.

6th Nov 2014, 16:16

You have either A: never been off road in a YJ or B: never been off road.

These things will kill any trail in a 100 mile radius of where you stand right now.

Me and my YJ have pulled EVERYTHING out of holes and right spots. From huge lifted K5 Blazers, to older CJ5s and even newer four door Wranglers.

Not having a lot of flex has its benefits.

Not everyone wants to be a rock crawler.