1997 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 2 of 16

1997 Jeep Wrangler 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.3 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carChrysler jeep wrangler

Summary:

Poor gas mileage

Faults:

My check engine light came on three weeks ago.

While driving on freeway, the engine began to sputter and I changed gears to regain speed.

After exit off freeway, the engine sputtered and I changed gears to gain speed.

After one mile, sputtering continue, loss of acceleration and check gauges light came on.

I drove home with the engine speed of 4-5 miles per hour, although the pedal was floored. Have no clues.. Any comments? This is 1997 Jeep Wrangler.

General Comments:

What relationship do check gauges and sputtering have?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2008

30th Jul 2008, 18:53

Sounds like the catalytic converter may be plugged.

3rd Aug 2008, 01:19

Try using an OBD2 code reader or consumer friendly CarMD (available at www.CarMD.com) to diagnose the check engine light problem, and find out what repairs are needed. It may be something simple, or even something under recall or warranty that will save you money.

1997 Jeep Wrangler SE 4.0 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carFord Excursion

Summary:

I simply like this Jeep a lot. Can't wait for the summer to come

Faults:

It's a really rugged and fun car. Although I have not have mines long, I have pushed it good and its held up excellent. Nothing has really gone wrong with the Jeep. I just replaced things that needed attention too like the manifold, muffler and muffler pipe, wiper blades, and belts. I added accessories like custom Jeep floor mats, tubular rear bumper, neoprene seat covers, chrome gear shift knob, front bra, GPS, and Sirius satellite radio and tuner.

General Comments:

Although the cabin space isn't very wide or luxourous it makes it very easy to reach for items. I like how my jeep sits a little high so that I have full vision of what's in front of me.

The ride is a little rough and the engine is a little under powered, but its still a blast to drive. If I want wide space, luxury and so on, I can get that from my Ford Excursion.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2007

1997 Jeep Wrangler SE 4 c from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4 c Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Big Guy in a Jeep

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Big Guy In a Jeep.

First thing I need to say is when I was reading reviews about jeep wranglers people were saying it is small and not very roomy. This is not the facts I am 6'2 400lbs and I am also very big built I fit fine even better than my 99 ford explorer. The jeep has all the head room you will ever need and I can sit back a drive this car with no discomfort. Please note it is a bumpy ride and you feel every imperfection in the street/trail. The heat and air in my soft top jeep keep it cool in summer and warm in winter just as well as any car or truck. Take my word for it the jeep wrangler may look small, but it has all the room you will need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

13th May 2006, 11:14

How did you manage to put 115,000 miles on your Jeep in less than 6 months???

1997 Jeep Wrangler from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired76000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carChrysler Grand Caravan

Summary:

A vehicle to have has a leisure vehicle

Faults:

The engine light stays on for weeks at a time then it will go off for a few days. Mechanic says that there is nothing wrong with it. I have no complaints about my Jeep, this is my first Jeep and I am impressed with it, but not thrilled.

General Comments:

It handles very good, steering is not difficult.

I have the soft top so when you go down the highway, you can't hear the radio playing very good because of the noise of the wind hitting the soft top.

Is not intended to go long distances with because it will become uncomfortable especially if you have passengers in the back seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th January, 2006

17th Sep 2006, 18:47

Have you ever gone on a long trip?

1997 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

I love it. Already wanting to buy an '07!

Faults:

Needed a new thermostat and raditor leak fixed at 62,000 miles.

General Comments:

Some may say that I have no basis to evaluate a Jeep considering I have only driven mine for a few months. I think that the main point to buying a Wrangler is to check on the history of the car. Jeeps are not made for long highway trips, but rather off-roading and being driven hard. Be sure to buy with confidence that your Jeep has not been butchered or "driven hard and put up wet" as they say.

Remember to maintain your Jeep well and it will run forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th January, 2006

11th Nov 2006, 09:47

Yeah, what is with that new engine? I thought about getting a 07, but all the new options such as keyless entry just seemed to fancy for a Jeep Wrangler. It's a Jeep not a BMW!!!

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 58 reviews