1997 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 4 of 16

1997 Jeep Wrangler SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carChrysler Laser

Summary:

It is a good vehicle overall and I would buy another!

Faults:

'Bucking' stopped with replaced oxygen sensor.

Had leaking radiator replaced.

Brakes locked up in rainy weather.

Radio needed replacement.

Catalytic converter was replaced.

Rubber seals around the soft-top doors wear out and water leaks in.

Zippers on soft-top doors get worn out and go off track.

Sway bars wear out at 54,000 miles.

Brakes replaced at 52,000 miles.

General Comments:

The jeep generally runs well and is fun to drive.

It is great in snow and easy to park.

The cabin is noisy and you can't hear the radio on highway travel.

The 4 cylinder does fair on hills.

The soft top is expensive to replace as well as just the doors.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2004

1997 Jeep Wrangler SE 2.5 4 Banger from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 4 Banger Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Something to try once

Faults:

Broken sway bar link.

Top is shot (why do they still make a vehicle where you HAVE to replace the top, and why is it $700?)

Mystery problem that randomly makes the Jeep buck and its not the TPS.

Other than that its pretty healthy.

General Comments:

The first time I took it off road it threw an electrical fit.

Any kind of super swamper tire does not let you drive highway very easily and they make you get about 7 MPG.

I put some tasteful upgrades on the truck (stereo, TV, canyon wheels, thornbirds, real HID lights) and the ladies love the thing...that's why I still have it, but I will be parting ways with it soon.

I think it's a great vehicle for anyone who can put up with it. And if you live in a hilly area, don't get the 4 cylinder!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

11th Aug 2004, 18:26

You put a TV in a Wrangler? Please tell me you lifted this Jeep and are not one of those who "pimp out" a Jeep.

7th Sep 2009, 00:03

Just a quick note to the OP. If your mechanic (s) could not diagnose a bad O2 sensor than you need to find a new mechanic. It is one of the easiest things to diagnose. Usually when an O2 sensors fails the engine will run rich and you'll smell gas while driving. You'll also get incredibly bad gas mileage.

7th Oct 2010, 11:13

You don't have to replace the top... You just need to take better care of it obviously.

I had a soft top and a hard top for 14 years.

My rag top isn't looking the supreme greatest, but still zips up still keeps the water out.

My hard top, since I keep it inside during the summer, looks practically brand new.

1997 Jeep Wrangler Sport 2.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance53000 miles
Previous carSeat Cordoba

Summary:

A very fun car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Looks great.

Surprisingly easy and fun to drive.

Very comfortable seats.

Women love it!

Watch out for the expensive parts costs. A hard top will set you back about £800, second hand. If you want cheaper parts try Ebay america and get them imported.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2003

1997 Jeep Wrangler SE from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

A low performance rip off

Faults:

Drive shaft replaced (no know cause reported from dealer mechanic)

Radiator replaced two times.

Gas gage recalled and still doesn't work properly.

Power steering pump blew up.

Stabalizer links for suspension broke.

Terrible acceleration.

Oil pressure gauge.

Horrible experience to drive on any road that requires you to travel 55mph or higher!

Soft top fades/windows scratch easy.

Soft top hardware breaks easy.

Canvas stitching is horrible.

General Comments:

This car is fun if you intend to use it occasionally. If your driving it for your everyday commute to work, forget it. There are so many other 4 cylinder cars/light trucks out there with better fuel economy and far more comfortable cab. If you live near a mountain, or off road trails, buy one and hope it doesn't break when your out in the middle of nowhere.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th September, 2003

8th May 2005, 23:32

You have to keep this in my mind... jeeps are in no means of a sports car. 4 cyl are not fast anyways.

17th Oct 2007, 15:42

I have a 97 jeep wrangler 4.0. I have a 3inch lift and 33 inch tires, the other day I got a citation for street racing it in town. I smoked a dodge stratus in a drag race. Even when it was stock I would beat my buddies 5.4L ford super crew up to 40mph. Its quick, plenty fast for a offroader! just let the rpms carry up higher.

Average review marks: 5.7 / 10, based on 58 reviews