1998 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 14 of 14

1998 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 I-6 (not a V-6) from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 I-6 (not a V-6) Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired9900 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Most fun you can have driving without having sex

Faults:

Computer went out.

Exhaust manifold cracked.

Soft top bracket in the back fell off.

Hood light bulb keeps blowing.

Tape player had to be replaced.

Catalytic converter had to be replaced.

Currently, sometimes the instrument panel shuts down until I hit a bump, then it will work again for a while.

General Comments:

I love this Jeep and would recommend it to anyone, but the best bet is to get one that is still under factory warranty like I did because things are bound to go wrong... it's a Chrysler product after all. But since the Germans took it over, DAIMLER-CHRYSLER, I think they've improved the reliability.

Don't even THINK about buying a pre-1997 Jeep! Please! These new ones are so much better and more reliable. Anyway, had a few problems, nothing that kept it from running, just a little noisy and tempermental at times. Good rig overall.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th May, 2001

25th Jun 2002, 20:10

I have a 1998 Wrangler and have had similar problems. I had a 2 manifolds crack and my Catalytic convert is making all kinds of noise of course 1 year after the warranty expired, but other than than I love my jeep also. I have several friends who own pre-1998 jeeps and they have driven mine and say they would not own another pre-1998!!

1998 Jeep Wrangler from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16840 miles
Most recent distance21005 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Great!

Faults:

Another satisfied customer. I'm a female, and I always wanted a Jeep - since I was about 5. Even the Tyco Jeep would have been great at that point!

Nothing has gone wrong with my Jeep at all. It's my primary car. It is stalling a little when it's cold, but the throttle body just needs to be cleaned and it will be fine.

Wish I had roll-down windows. The zippered windows kinda get in the way when you smoke.

General Comments:

I'm live near the outer banks in NC, so 4 wheeling in the sand is great! I haven't taken the Jeep out in the sand yet - I fear I will break it like my Trooper. This has got to be the coolest car ever.

The only problem is long distance driving. Gas mileage isn't that good, but I didn't expect to go 50mpg, either! Took it to Wisconsin (1000 miles) and the only noticeable problems were when large trucks passed by, I thought they might blow me off the road, and though I didn't notice it WHILE I was driving, I noticed how loud AFTER I was through with the drive - although, I think it was more the pressure of having one window opened more than anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2001

1998 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Great off-road vehicle

Faults:

Broken gas cap.

Seat ripped.

Cracked exhaust manifold.

General Comments:

This is my third Wrangler and it has been by far the best yet. I previously had an 87 and 94. Great off-road vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th February, 2001

26th Oct 2001, 12:20

Unbelievable, my Jeep is a 98 and it too has a cracked exhaust manifold. Only 49,000 miles on it. This is abnormal I think and so do the mechanics I have gone to..

8th Feb 2002, 16:34

I have had my 98 TJ since August 98. It has 60,000 highway miles on it. The exhaust manifold has busted clean in two on one of the pipes. I picked up a secondary source replacement for $275 because the dealership wanted $650 for theirs. Mechanics around town indicated they have seen a 60% failure rate in the stock manifolds and the supplier I bought from is selling a couple each week. It seems like an expansion/contraction problem and the stock manifolds aren't allowing any.

23rd May 2004, 08:18

The rest of the entries are older, but when I came across them I had to add mine. Just another case of my wrangler having a cracked exhaust manifold, and I plan on replacing it with an aftermarket part.

13th Sep 2004, 08:10

I too just found out that my 98 Wrangler has a cracked manifold, it is the worst jeep ever, and I have had more problems with this vehicle than any other I have ever owned.

28th Sep 2004, 11:30

I have a cracked Manifold on a 99 Sport Wrangler. I am in the process of determining what the best course of action is to get it fixed. I am leaning to going with an aftermarket part, but I feel Jeep should have covered this as it is such a common problem.

1998 Jeep Wrangler Sport V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission V6
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10

Faults:

Recalled 2 times. Cracked head (warranty). Electrical problems, runs bad in wet weather. Cruise control is crap. Brakes locked-up (warranty). Raddles in dash. Plastic dash cracked.

General Comments:

Very disappointed. Want to trade in for something else, but would already lost $5,000. :(

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 1999

23rd Dec 2000, 17:03

First of all it is an inline 6 cylinder engine.

I have owned a Jeep CJ-7 for 5 years, and a 91 Wrangler for almost ten. The last one was stolen, and the first was a victim of a young mans adventurous spirit. Every time I read a bad review of a Jeep it causes chills to go up my spine. Not for the person, but for the poor Jeep having to deal with the abuse. A Jeep is the absolute most indestructible vehicle on the road if driven correctly.

I wanted a new engine in my Wrangler, so I tried to crack the head. I ran it with water in the oil, ramped it off of sand dunes, and occasionally turned it into a submarine. Nothing... I had the same engine for the 10 years I had it.

Little things will go wrong with them; alternators, water pumps, cosmetics etc... However, your review is pure blasphemy.

29th Oct 2001, 11:00

I have to agree with last persons comments, I have owned two Jeeps in the past nine years, they last forever. My first Jeep was 91 Wrangler, I bought it for $5,995, drove it for five years & sold it with 149,000 miles on it for $5,500. Try doing that with any other truck. The 97 wrangler I have now is way better then my 91 & I plan on driving this one forever.

1998 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
Engine and transmission 4.0L
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

Been recalled 3 times already.

General Comments:

Very cheap. Thinking about trading it off for another 4x4 vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th December, 1998

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 42 reviews