2001 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 4 of 7

2001 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Liter Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

What a rip off

Faults:

First engine went out at 39,000 miles. It spun a bearing on the crank shaft.

Dealer replaced it technically out of warranty because I had changed the oil every 3,000 miles.

Clutch went out at 50,000 miles. It cost over $900 US to fix and most of that was parts.

The second engine went out at 60,000 miles. Dealer would not replace because it was 13 months & 20,000 miles since the last replaced engine. I still changed the oil every 3,000 miles. I replaced the engine with a salvage yard motor with roughly the same mileage. So far it has been working fine.

Catalytic converter went out at around 70,000 miles causing the check engine light to stay on.

Around the same time as the catalytic converter went out the oil pressure guage has stopped reporting correctly. It just goes straight to full pressure as soon as the vehicle is started.

Aside from the abysmal reliability of this vehicle and high repair costs, it is extremely expensive to drive.

It is also NOT a road vehicle. Even with the hard top, wind noise is excruciating and it exhausts you to drive with high wind at highway speeds.

General Comments:

Off road performance is exemplary. I had a blast the few times I took it off road. I stopped taking it off-road after the first engine went out thinking it was something I had inadvertently caused.

I discovered this not to be the case after the second engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th April, 2004

4th Apr 2005, 19:22

I'm not sure how you mananged to kill the Jeep engine, 4.0 inline 6, right? Cause I'd like to know how you accomplished this unbeatable task. If it was a 4 cylinder, then I blame you for that.

8th Apr 2005, 12:40

My 2001 Wrangler Sport I-6 had overheating after dry-rot hoses caused radiator pressure loss then lost oil pressure at idle. Oil will not hold pressure when at idle (after reaching operating temperature) until RPM reaches 2000+. No dealer has a clue why. I believe the original cooling hose rot was my fault for driving through 5' deep "puddles." I can't find cause or fix for oil pressure. Any ideas? (61000+ miles)

26th Apr 2005, 13:49

My Jeep Wrangler (I-6) spun a bearing on the crankshaft also. What's with that. My mechanic couldn't believe it... he says these engines are bulletproof. Is this a problem in the manufacturing... a lemon??!? Just curious if y'all ever heard anything else about this.

Thanks,

2001 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance43000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Passat

Summary:

A true American classic

Faults:

My hazard light switch broke at 27,000 miles. Though under warranty, it took two trips to the dealer to have the switch replaced. On the first trip, the dealer replaced the switch with the wrong switch. The problem was corrected on the second trip to the dealer.

General Comments:

The Jeep runs great.

The soft top is holding up well, as are the plastic windows.

Wranglers are fun to drive year round, four-wheel drive traction in the winter, top down fun in the summer.

I would suggest, if you are looking to buy a Wrangler, buy one with full steel doors. I did not, and wish I had.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2004

5th Dec 2005, 01:51

You sound like a champ I've been looking at buying a wrangler for about 6 months now and just wasn't sure about them, but ill go out and buy one this week.

10th Jan 2006, 02:25

YEAH AND NOW I'm king of the hill... jeepsy beep beep...

2001 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

The best fun and practical car I have ever owned!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is one of the vehicles, which is truly an all-rounder. The term sport utility describes it perfectly. I can take it off-road, for skiing trips and it handles even at 90-100 mph very well and predictable.

The only problem I have is that I had to get the automatic transmission, since I am 6 foot 8 tall and my shines were knocking into the lower console guards. The automatic shifts very well and is great for everyday driving. However, on snow in 2-wheel drive it becomes an animal to deal with. These problems are countered by using the auto 4-wheel drive position. The Jeep becomes then a true and predictable friend, that will guide you through slippery conditions with ease and confidence.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 20 reviews