2002 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 3 of 6

2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0L 6 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L 6 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Incredible

Faults:

Front rear seal leaked at 60,000 miles

Brakes replaced at 85,000 miles front only.

I switched to full synthetic oil on 1st change.

One hydraulic lifter taps when cold then stops, just a nusiance no problem.

General Comments:

I have heard of many maintenance issues, but this 2002 Sport 6Cyl has 110,000 miles with no problems other than a tapping hydraulic lifter which I will eventually replace and put new values in. It doesn't need it, but I am keeping the vehicle and drive it daily. I have upgraded it to 35" tires, 8 inch lift kit and changed the gear ratio in front and rear to 4.56, which gave me over 20 Miles per gallon. Engine is a rock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th October, 2005

16th Oct 2005, 19:11

How much did it cost for your 8 inch lift and 35 inch tires?? what parts were needed with your lift??

2002 Jeep Wrangler sahara 4.0 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Fun, tough vehicle

Faults:

Check engine light kept coming on.. gas cap was not fitting properly.. small avoidable problem.

General Comments:

Great vehicle.. I had a older 4 cylinder soft top that drove me crazy over 50 mph and when it rained.. the 6 with hard/soft top seems to be the way to go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th March, 2005

2002 Jeep Wrangler Sport 4.0L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L Automatic
Distance when acquired26800 miles
Most recent distance30500 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Not a vehicle for big people!

Faults:

Shifting automatic transmission sometimes sounds clunky.

General Comments:

I love this vehicle! It is so cute yet rugged... a girl truck. Sorry guys, I had to say it! I am excited to take the top off this summer.

The transmission is the only thing that worries me so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2005

7th Jun 2009, 07:54

Well a Jeep isn't a Jeep if it's an automatic, sorry to burst that bubble. Should have gone stick, wouldn't have the transmission issues.

8th Jun 2009, 06:00

The comment about Jeeps not being Jeeps if they are automatics is way off base.

I've been a Jeep owner and enthusiast for well over 20 years.

I've owned Wranglers with both manuals and automatics.

I can tell you that for slow-going/off-roading (and snow-plowing) the automatic transmission is actually an excellent choice.

By the way, I currently own and drive a Wrangler with the 5 speed manual transmission.

2002 Jeep Wrangler X 4.0L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired24500 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

Good, could be better

Faults:

Nothing - So far.

4.0L is underpowered IMO. I can't imagine the 4 cyl.

Undercarriage starting to rust a bit from WV winters.

General Comments:

Although I am overall pretty happy with the Jeep purchase, I feel they could do much more to make it a better "bang for the buck" so to speak.

Bad - They are expensive, noisy, aerodynamically poor, lack creature comforts.

Good - Reliability, fun to drive, versatile.

Yes, before anybody says it, I realize it is a Jeep. BUT! I am disappointed overall in what this vehicle could be. There is no reason that Jeep could not include a hood lock, a keyless entry option, a locking gas cap and for Pete's sake, they don't even have full metal chrome lugnuts. They are wheel bolts with chrome covers!!! That is pathetic for as expensive as the Wranglers are. They need to realize that not everybody buries their Jeep in the mud on the weekend. Soooo, now I have to add power door locks, power windows, a hood lock, a locking gas cap, and get something to haul these plastic windows around in.

I simply think it could be a better "package" altogether. Hardcore Jeep fans are going to blast this review, but when somebody is stealing their battery or gas, they will think twice. I shouldn't have to go aftermarket to have a locking hood. Common sense has to enter in to the mix somewhere. A Wrangler will never be a practical vehicle, but it can be more practical than it is currently with a little more effort on Jeep's part.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2004

8th Dec 2004, 08:34

If you think that the 4.0 is underpowered, either there is something wrong with the engine, or you have unrealistic expectations about what a Jeep is.

The 4.0 is as quick an engine as you want in a Jeep. It's not a Corvette, nor is it meant to be.

Perhaps you should have waited until Jeep put the 210hp 3.7 in the Wrangler, but the 4.0 190hp is more than enough even with an automatic transmission.

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 18 reviews