2007 Jeep Wrangler Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2007 Jeep Wrangler X 3.8L from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired160 miles
Most recent distance4800 miles
Previous carDodge Ram

Summary:

Chrysler is ruining the Jeep!

Faults:

Two intermediate steering shafts went bad below 4,000 miles.

Cam Shaft sensor went out at 2,000 miles.

Front driver's side rotor came apart at 3,200 miles.

Soft top leaked in three areas along the stitch seams.

Recalled for stalling issue.

Dash board easily scratched by just wiping it off with a soft cloth.

General Comments:

I was totally in love with this Jeep when I bought it.

However, within the first 1,000 miles I grew to hate it.

Several trips to the dealership for repairs and spending countless hours at the dealer were enough for me.

I've owned several Chrysler vehicles that all had many issues. After this I vow to never buy another Chrysler product until quality improves.

Had shuttering issues at speeds around 35-40mph (possible torque converter issue)

The only great thing about the Jeep was the nice factory stereo with subwoofer.

Interior is terrible, cheap plastic that scratches way too easily.

I do have to say that the 3.8L is quite peppy when paired with the factory 4.10 gears.

Soft top is total junk, three leaks within the first three months of ownership.

Seats were not too horrible other than wearing quickly where the stitching comes together (fraying).

I've owned Jeeps over the years and this JK is by far the worst in quality out of all of them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2007

5th Nov 2007, 15:03

Please be diligent to note the CORRECT YEAR of the vehicle.

2007's (JK's) have the 3.8L engine and all of the woes of an all-new wrangler. I have a 2006 (TJ) Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited which has the 4.0 inline 6 cyl. It is important not to misinform others, because until 2007, Jeep CJ's, YJ's, and TJ's have been remarkably reliable. With all-new models comes a whole new set of problems. Thanks.

26th Dec 2007, 02:44

Remarkably reliable? Has the author of the last comment read any of the other owners surveys? Or is he just comparing Wranglers w/Chevys?

14th Oct 2008, 20:33

I'm curious because not only is the year wrong, but 4.10 gears only come on the Rubicon -- not the X. So it would seem that this is a 2007 JK Wrangler Rubicon. To the writer of this review... maybe you could get this moved to the right area and corrected??

Also I'd like to know more about the problem with the half-shaft. Was it a clunk in the steering when the engine was warm in particular? My JK does that too.

13th Dec 2008, 08:04

Looking over this review more carefully, I found that he has it entered as an '07. For some reason it has been posted in the '06 area. Otherwise, the axle ratio of the X is 3.73. The Rubicon is 4.10.

2007 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 3.8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

Overall not a good choice

Faults:

The new "Freedom top" is the biggest complainant. What a pain in the neck this is. From the second day, it has leaked. Jeep was returned to dealer "4" times as of 08-12-07. The problem is still not corrected. It stinks to have to jump into your jeep after a rainy night with a towel in hand, so as to dry up the pool of water that has built up.

General Comments:

The passenger seat is another problem. My kids, who are "10" and "8" have the hardest time getting in, because the passenger seat does not allow adequate entry room for rear passengers. Forget about trying to get a full size adult in the rear. Overall, the Jeep looks great, over priced, still under powered and not great on gas. Should have stayed with my 1998 "TJ" Sahara.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2007

3rd Sep 2007, 18:32

If the entry to the rear is such a big deal to you then why did you not purchase the 4-door Ultimate version or any other 4-door SUV for that matter. It is not a secret that the standard Wrangler is not exactly the ideal family vehicle.

25th Sep 2007, 17:10

I have you beat, mine was at the dealer 7 times. I know what you mean about the leaks... I had 3 of them. Not everyone wants or can afford a 4 door, you are correct about the rotten design for rear seat access. If that seat is not to be used then why have it in there (hello chrysler??).I traded in my JK and bought a new Mustang. Fun to drive and not one bit of problems after several thousand miles.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews