2007 Jeep Wrangler Reviews

2007 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon 3.8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.8 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Let down

Faults:

So far the Jeep has been relatively good.

The 3.8 leaves a little to be desired in the power department.

The reason I write this review however, is the problem with the hinges. The hinge rust would be understandable in the pin dept, however the rust that is forming under the hinge paint is unacceptable. I have it on 6 hinges on my Rubicon. The four door hinges and the 2 hood hinges. If they were scratched or perforated, I would understand the rust forming; these however are not PERFORATED AS OF YET, but the paint is BUBBLING and it is obvious that there is a problem BREWING under the the paint like cancer.

The Chrysler district manager refused to cover this under warranty, stating that it is not perforated!!! I am sorry; if there is something going on under the paint that is otherwise sealed, that would indicate a problem to the normal user.

I think Chrysler/Jeep has become so cheap that they refuse to back their product. It is a indicator of even more looming problems with the auto industry. They willingly take the money of the average American, not only after they buy the car/vehicle, but afterward a handout from the taxpayer, and then refuse to back the product when an obvious defect is identified. I am sorry; if I don't do my job, I get fired this. Obviously is not the case, at least not in the auto industry.

General Comments:

It's a Rubicon. It does its job.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd June, 2010

25th Jan 2012, 22:45

The rust problem with Jeep hinges is very common... they all rust because of their design. It's been this way for decades. For this reason, aftermarket companies and Mopar sell replacement hinges in a variety of finishes.

As long as people still want the classic style low-cost hinges, so they can fold their windshields, and take off their doors... rust will be an issue. The best thing to do is keep them lubricated and the paint waxed. At the first sign of chipped paint or corrosion, apply touch-up paint to the area.

Although I know rust isn't nice... this isn't really a big deal.

8th Mar 2012, 05:18

Or Chrysler could stop cheaping it out and galvanise the hinges? That is a cheap and proven solution that would not be difficult to implement. Everyone else has been doing it for years, but unfortunately the American big 3 lag far behind in this department.

2007 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 4 doors 4.8 V6 from Brazil

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carFord Explorer

Summary:

Highly addictive car, great driving, I can't trade in for anything else!

General Comments:

Great driving feeling.

Nice options to remove the top of the car. Front/ back.

Strong engine, good torque.

Fantastic off road: Desert, jungle, rock, mountains, anywhere is home for this Wrangler.

Can't trade it in for anything else.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2010

2007 Jeep Wrangler Sahara V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

General Comments:

Look to agree with y'all. Owning a Jeep is something that no other car is.. I am on my 3rd Jeep.

I owned a 2000 Jeep Wrangler, a 07 2 door JK, and now I own a 08 4 door JK.

People complain about Jeeps not being this or that in comfort. True Jeepers know the advances that Jeep has made in its years.

I love my jeep even though it leaks, doesn't get good mpg, is not always comfy... it is a Jeep thing and most people don't understand..

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 31st July, 2009

12th Oct 2009, 17:28

I have been a Jeep enthusiast and owner since the Wrangler was introduced as a 1987 model back in 1986.

I love Jeeps, but a HATE that stupid "It's a Jeep thing - You wouldn't understand" slogan.

It was probably dreamed up by some Madison Avenue advertising person who has never even owned a Wrangler.

2007 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 3.8 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired13800 miles
Most recent distance15400 miles
Previous carToyota Tundra

Summary:

Love it!! - so far

Faults:

I bought this Jeep used, and have only had it for 1600 miles, so nothing has gone wrong yet.

One tire is worn a bit crooked, so I don't know yet if it needs an alignment or if the previous owner failed to rotate on schedule.

The front seats are initially comfortable, but lose support and feel a bit narrow on a longer trip.

General Comments:

Considering that Jeep claims 15 city and 19 hwy, I'm glad to see that my Jeep gets 21 mpg hwy.

The interior is rugged but hard plastic.

I love the versatility and rough-edged appeal of this Jeep.

I took it out and wheeled it for the first time about a week ago (the previous owner never wheeled it). WOW!! This thing can crawl up a cliff. I've never had anything like it before.

The sound system is excellent with Infinity speakers and the right balance on the sub. Sirius satellite is nice too.

There is a surprising amount of room under the seats -- important since Jeeps tend to be a bit shy of space.

The power is more than adequate on and off road. With 4.10s, though there is a definite drop off in power when around 70mph. Still enough, but just not as punchy as when running at lower speeds. The automatic shifts smoothly and promptly.

Mine is Rescue green, my favorite color in Jeeps along with the new orange and white. There really isn't a bad color, though.

Since I'm the only Rubi owner to post a review, and because I've only had it for 1600 miles, I'll try to keep posting so that you all can keep abreast of my experiences with it. Come rain or shine, it's the coolest stocker off the pavement! Jeep on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2008

7th Oct 2008, 22:33

I took my Jeep to the black hills and did a little 4-wheeling. What a blast!! I was a little staid in my style, though, since I was wheeling by myself. The low gearing really pays off in the rocks. I can walk 3 times as fast as this thing crawls. Saves trouble when momentum isn't wanted or when you're picking your route carefully. I forded a few streams and climbed a couple of 45 degree slopes with not even a slip of a tire. I stayed in 4wd but didn't use my lockers or sway bar detachment (I should have--would have made things a bit smoother). A good trip.

One little problem cropped up which is apparently common on these JKs. There is a little clunk in the steering that is primarily noticed when off-roading or when the engine has been warm for a length of time. Turns out that it's a common but not dangerous issue with these Jeeps. According to guys on a Jeep forum I read, the problem is in the steering wheel half shaft. Trouble is the problem comes and goes and is thus difficult for techs to find. I took it to the Jeep dealer in Spearfish who was familiar with the problem but couldn't produce the clunking sound. Nice guys, though. They spent A half hour examining the suspension and steering and washed the Jeep for me and charged me a grand total of $0. Anyway if this problem gets more serious--enough for it to show up at a dealership, I'll post more about it.

Apart from that I'll just say... to you TJers, YJers, CJers, etc., I wave at any Jeeper. Please wave back.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews