16th Jun 2011, 21:20

My friend intends to buy Kia Forte 1.6 full spec.. Is it OK, because he was considering the Vios, Mazda and Honda, but Kia has the value for money...

9th Jul 2011, 04:14

(Original Reviewer)

Clocked 26,000 kms... still good and steady..

27th Jul 2011, 08:57

Great!

I have booked mine today :) Can't wait to get the delivery and enjoy my brand new Forte in Black... How's the fuel consumption on yours? KM/L?

Although, I'm not very much concern with the fuel consumption, but still...

I love the shape, and the look and the drive is quite good as well for this price.

6th Oct 2011, 17:00

(Original Reviewer)

Replaced malfunctioning "R" Gear Console light under warranty.

Reaching 44,000 kms... still good and steady.

For additional information

MITSUBISHI 2.0 GT - KIA FORTE WINS through corners, climbing hills and acceleration.

HONDA CIVIC 2.0 - KIA FORTE WINS through corners, climbing hills and acceleration.

PEUGEOT 308 1.6 TURBO - KIA FORTE LOST.

AUDI A4 1.8 TURBO - KIA FORTE LOST.

18th Nov 2011, 17:01

(Original Reviewer)

Replaced both front tyres to Michelin Sport 3 @ 45,000 kms. Original Kumho tyre tore on the outside wall.

Clocking 50,000 kms... still good and steady.

22nd Dec 2011, 11:41

I think the Civic 2.0L might be the European R model?

If it was a Civic Si, the Kia would be out performed in every category on the road, other than gas mileage and features.

31st Jan 2012, 05:34

(Original Reviewer)

@57,xxx kms, GEARBOX failed!!!

Been 6 weeks and still waiting for KIA to replace the gearbox under their "Industry Leading" 5-Years Unlimited Mileage Warranty.

21st Feb 2012, 18:16

I just bought a Kia Cerato Hatchback (Forte 5). I have done just over 10 000 km so far without any events. I wrote a review separately on this site.

19th Mar 2012, 23:18

How's the repairs of the gearbox coming along? Did you get a new one installed? Any indication what went wrong with the damaged one?

5th Apr 2012, 18:25

(Original Reviewer)

Gearbox replaced under warranty... after 3.5 months!!!

Root cause: Gearbox hose burst! No idea which hose, but during my visit to the service center, I saw one hose connected to a sensor to the gearbox damaged... 18 cases in Malaysia (not including mine)... affecting all 6-speeder KIA... i.e. Forte, Sorento & Sportage.

Check and replace all your hoses related to the gearbox if necessary. So far I haven't heard of any recall campaign in Malaysia for these hoses... no idea about other countries.

7th Apr 2012, 08:24

(Original Reviewer)

My Forte broke down again after 1 day... no idea why. Tomorrow is Sunday, so have to wait until Monday to know what's wrong. Inspected with mechanics beside the road while waiting for the tow truck... 1st look, it seems air conditioner refrigerant is leaking all over the engine bay, probably causing a sensor or some sensors hanky panky. Will update after the service center run through the computer diagnostic.

7th Apr 2012, 10:35

Every manufacturer makes its fair share of lemons and problem cars. Some more and some less. It sounds like you got one of the lemons.

With today's modern cars, a lemon can quickly become a nightmare... with miles of wiring, safety and smog equipment in the way to get to a problem. Even some dealers are turning away some of these cars, with technical bulletins, silent recalls and warranties not being honored. It can become a mess for the average consumer out there.

9th Apr 2012, 07:30

(Original Reviewer)

Air conditioning compressor jammed!... Service center is ordering a new one. Was told by the staff there, that there have been a few other similar cases on the Forte 2.0.

3rd Dec 2012, 05:10

To the original reviewer: How and where do you drive your Forte 2.0? 57,000 km done in 1 year! That's taxi mileage already. Are you in a sales line?

9th Dec 2013, 00:24

(Original Reviewer)

Approaching 130,000 km. So far so good.