2004 Kia Picanto Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2004 Kia Picanto LX 1.1 from Malaysia

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Automatic
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.7 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance1200 kilometres
Previous carProton Wira

Faults:

I purchased my Picanto from the first batch that was imported into Malaysia. I like the design and was told by the salesman who claimed that this is a very economical car in terms of fuel consumption.

However, this was not the case. You could only achieve about 10 kilometer per liter.

I am in the opinion that the manufacture had given false information / advertisement on its alleged fuel economy.

I have also seen some write-ups before that claim the car could do 600 - 700 kilometers on a full tank!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2005

25th May 2005, 04:26

I'm getting approx. 630Km driving carefully not above 100km/hr. When above this iot does start to drink the petrol though.

14th Jun 2005, 19:40

Hi guy,

Maybe your driving style plays a part. U should not accelerate too much since your picanto is a auto. Try to maintain @ 2000 - 2500rpm.

23rd Jul 2005, 15:17

The fuel consumption drops with kilometers. After few thousand kilometers the consumption will be less.

9th Sep 2005, 07:21

I purchased my Picanto in December 2004.

The Picanto achieves about 15 km per liter, that includes city peak traffic driving and passing 130 km/h quite often.

I am delighted with my Picanto and I think it was a bargain.

13th Sep 2005, 07:05

I bought my Picanto only this August 2005, and made 14.3km (1st full tank), 14.5km (2nd full tank), and 15.25km (3rd full tank). This is city and hi way driving with the aircon always on.

31st Mar 2006, 05:05

I am getting serious about buying one. It does appear that Picanto is designed for about 90km/hour city driving, like in Singapore. Most likely, the salespeople expect you to be knowledgeable of it/otherwise as ignorant.

It would be better if the car is deisgned for the 110km/hour North-South Highway, too.

2004 Kia Picanto EX 1.1 from Denmark

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carSkoda Felicia

Summary:

Value for money!

Faults:

I have had my Picanto for 3 weeks now, and this far nothing has gone wrong nor annoyed me.

General Comments:

Surprisingly high quality of materials in the interior.

Transmission not as precise as in a Japanese car, however better than we are used to in Korean cars.

Low noise until appr. 110 km/h.

Fuel consumption 18 - 20 km/litre, unless cruising at 130 km/h - then fuel consumption grows remarkably (max. performance 15 km/l).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd November, 2004

6th Dec 2004, 06:43

All type of KIA vehicles is well known heavy fuel consumption. It might cause by the poor ECU design to optimize it. If really 10KM/Liter, your car definitely close to my Proton Wira 1.6XLi w/Converted to Mitsubishi DOHC 16V that had 130ps.

22nd Jun 2005, 11:04

I have had my Picanto now for 3 months, I feel this car's pulling power at the begining is poor compared to that of other cars.Especially on mountain roads it pulls with great difficulty at the start. Fuel consumption is not so bad in Sri lanka. When driving in cities it does 12km/L ,wheres driving on highways and country roads around 15km/L.

2004 Kia Picanto 1.1 petrol from Malaysia

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

A bit disapointed

General Comments:

The fuel consumption is extremely high.

Contrary to the positive write-ups on fuel economy, I could only obtain 10 Km per liter for town usage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2004

4th Nov 2004, 07:09

Surely 10 litres/100 urban driving is not THAT BAD for an automatic? With such a tiny engine the auto box is not the best choice, unless of course you have physical reasons for needing an auto. Keep us up dated about other things too please.

7th Nov 2004, 18:43

I am shocked. My 1.5 cc wira has similar fuel consumption around RM 10/100 km and that is killing me for daily drive to Putrajaya from PJ. I thought I could booke a Picanto to save cost.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews