2001 Kia Rio Reviews - Page 11 of 21

2001 Kia Rio RS 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance66500 kilometres

Summary:

If I was you, I wouldn't look at a KIA

Faults:

Passenger Door wasn't lined up when got the car. We found out by wind noise happening.

Paint on hood chips easily.

Spoiler broke, when replaced it doesn't line up and it is showing unpainted parts of the truck.

Bottom of bumper, around the area of the license plate, the paint is just chipping and flaking off. Looks ugly.

There's still wind noise, such as whistling sound.

Check Engine light has been on since December 2003, almost one year now. and they still haven't corrected the issue. The dealership has tried many times, and many things, but it keeps on coming on!

General Comments:

My experience with this car has been bad. I'm sure there's something good, but it gets topped by the Bad.

Poor Customer Service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd September, 2004

2001 Kia Rio LX 1.5 DOHC from Singapore

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 DOHC Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50 kilometres
Most recent distance60000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable with good performance

Faults:

Dash Board reflects badly.

Wheel bearings need to be changed twice within 3 years of purchase.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable with proper servicing and use.

Fuel consumption is average at 12km/l.

Cabin is quite small and ride comfort is average, but what do you expect from a car that cheap??

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2004

2001 Kia Rio RS 1.5 litre from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.5 litre Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired25 kilometres
Most recent distance85000 kilometres
Previous carGMC G.M.C. S-15 Sierra

Summary:

My RIO is simply the best little car I have ever owned.

Faults:

I have had no problems with my KIA RIO since date of purchase.

General Comments:

My KIA RIO has been perfect in every way since I bought it in 2001. I currently have 88,000 kilometers and the car feels the same as day one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2004

5th Jul 2005, 11:56

You must be one of the lucky ones!

2001 Kia Rio RS 4 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 liter Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired23 kilometres
Most recent distance86000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mercury

Summary:

Love the car, hate the lease

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with the car, we have had to replace the headlights a couple of times. (Not covered under warranty.)

The noticeable things are when you turn on the turn signal, the clock blinks with the signal light. (This still happens and the dealership can't find the cause. This is not a problem though, just a minor bug.)

The dash light went out once, it needed a fuse replacement. (This was covered under warranty.)

Around has stalled twice, once around 40,000 k and once again around 60,000 k. It has always started and we have not had to put any money into it other than regular services, which can be a bit expensive with so many miles on it.

General Comments:

Overall I would buy another KIA. We have looked at the Sedona and they apear to look like one of the better vans on the road. Also with the 100,000 k warranty, I am sure we will consider the Sedona when we make our next vehicle purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2004

2001 Kia Rio 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.2 / 10
Distance when acquired60 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Not worth the money or headache!

Faults:

I had to have the engine removed in order to get to a wire that kept causing my engine light to go on 25 days after I purchased it.

I have had a recall notice twice on it for two different things in the last year.

General Comments:

Gas mileage is horrible for such a little car.

However, because it is small, it makes for moving through traffic easy.

It's really loud in the cabin when traveling at high speeds.

The car seems like a bargain at its price, but when one has to keep using the warranty, the price doesn't matter anymore. It's a waste of time!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th June, 2004

2001 Kia Rio 1.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles

Summary:

The Korean Death-mobile

Faults:

It's on it's third transmission, door handles have broken off, squeaks because the window seals are faulty, seats have worn horribly, and the radio has gone out.

General Comments:

The car was my dads before he gave it to me. He used it to drive to work, 60 miles one way, 120 round trip, everyday. The transmission first went out at about 40,000, then again at 86,000, then one day I was driving it and it would only drive in high gear. It also wouldn't shift into reverse, so I had to push myself out of the Radio Shack parking lot and the transmission had to be replaced again.

Also, door handles fell off early on because they are made of cheap plastic, door seals leak, and you can see the wood and metal in the driver's seat because it has worn so badly. My friends at work and I have taken to calling it the Korean Death- mobile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th April, 2004

8th Jun 2004, 13:10

Your car has more than 120K miles on it. It is about time for a replacement.

8th Jun 2004, 14:44

Wood in the drivers seat?

10th Jul 2004, 14:29

For the person who thinks cars should be replaced at 127,000 miles, ever heard of Toyota??

5th Jun 2005, 19:12

But who wants a car for that long?

Average review marks: 5.2 / 10, based on 78 reviews