2002 Kia Rio from North America


Big disappointment


My timing belt went at 55,000 miles!!!

Stripping on the doors fall off.

Replaced the tires twice.

General Comments:

My father purchased the car and when I finished school he gave it to me. I have been the only driver and now at 56,000 miles the timing belt blew and they won't pay for it. Luckily I live in NH and we have a tight lemon law, but now I can't get to work or school, and I'm a single mother at christmas!!! Kia really disappoints me, I am absolutely hysterical over this... I don't know what to do I have no $$$ and they won't even fix their mistake!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th December, 2005

8th Dec 2005, 05:03

56,000 miles is about right for a timing belt change and also you can't blame Kia if you haven't looked after and maintained the car.

8th Dec 2005, 12:17

56,000miles or 89,600km is NOT right. A timing belt should be replaced at about 100,000km. That would amount to 62,500miles, and this does not mean that the belt will break when it reaches this number. It usually lasts longer to allow for replacement. 56,000miles seems very premature.

Keep fighting this!!!

2002 Kia Rio LS 1.6 from Sri Lanka


The plus points beat out its flaws


Well the left headlight needed replacing, and the brakes which had become rusty.

Note this car is cheap so it breaks easily.. u may notice cracks around the air conditioning dials.

Also at around 30,000 some air conditioning screws need replacing..

All cheap repairs.

General Comments:

Quite a good car.

Brilliant value for money.

I was thoroughly impressed at its performance, I own the hatch version and its acceleration is great not to mention its sharp turning circle.

The suspension is a bit creaky so you will hear a lot of road noise and the ride isn't that smooth.

Yet the practicality with the hatch specially is phenomenal, and with the performance and all the cool toys you get this car is great.

Did I mention the looks to..

You will have to look hard to find such a great practical car, the accent doesn't come close. To the hatch specially.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2005

2002 Kia Rio cinco 1.5 from North America


I rather take my bike to work because its more dependable


I have electrial fuses blowing constantly and when it happens my car shifter locks up. had it in the shop 4 times KIA still to this day can't fix it. now they want me to pay to try to fix it.

General Comments:

KIA does bad business and can't even fix their own car,no matter who pays for it. I will never again buy KIAS junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2005

2002 Kia Rio 1.5 from North America




I had a head on collision in my Rio neither airbag went off nor did the seat-belt function.

This allowed me to going into the windshield my chest went into the steering wheel folding it in half on the top.

General Comments:

I will never own another Kia we are in the process of just getting rid of our Sephia.

You would think sure I got a great deal on this car sometime something is going to break down.

You wouldn't think about the things that are supposed to protect you failing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st July, 2005

13th Jul 2006, 21:34

I have a 2001 Kia Rio, and have never had any problems with my seat belt... Maybe you should talk to a lawyer? That is something you can sue over. My Rio has been kicking strong since I got it new off the lot in 01...

24th Oct 2008, 02:43

Seatbelt problems will only be put to the ultimate test in a crash situation. Are you saying that you routinely crash your car to test the seatbelts? Could be a little rough on the car long-term.

2002 Kia Rio Sedan 1.6 from North America


Reliable with some inconveniences


The brake pads were gone @ 20K

Change tires is a big trouble that the dealer has not been able to correct. The automobile shakes when it reaches 55 mph without an alignment work and swinging can correct the problem.

The guarantee of it manufacturer doesn't cover this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2005