2002 Kia Rio Reviews - Page 8 of 21

2002 Kia Rio 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carKia Rio

Summary:

Big Mistake

Faults:

OMG...After all the recalls that I had to do, the car finally died in 3 years! Brand new. I will never buy a Rio ever again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 2007

21st Jun 2007, 18:10

Definitely sounds like a lemon. Sorry about all thet trouble. What did you buy after that?

2002 Kia Rio from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

I will never own another one again!!!!!!!

Faults:

Flex Pipe blew with only 47,000 miles very expensive need make a universal part for it at a cheaper rate.

Windshield wipers are crap with the safety devise that KIA claims is on it. Very his wind they stop. to much rain they stop or to much snow they stop. If you are driving and using them and they stop and you don't have wrench to fix them Too bad.

Tie rodes went out.

Have had to replace front tires 3 times now.

Inside seals are awful. Winds fog bad and ice covers the window on the inside in the winter.

General Comments:

We have 2 KIA's a Rio and a Sadonia and we have had nothing, but problems out of both of them. On the van there has been 2 can plug that have blown and there is nothing that can be done about it. Not sure of the reasoning as to why. The brakes have been bad and expensive to replace. To replace a headlight in the van is a task within itself. We thought that these would be a couple of good cars to get us through till our kids graduate from school, but that isn't going to happen. My brother that works on cars tried to tell us to not get them and we should have listened. Now anytime he has to fix something he laughs and says that he told us so. Body wise the cars are in great condition, but the rest is crap. Our next car will be Chevy or Pontiac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2007

4th Apr 2007, 13:05

You know this Kia Rio was based on the 1994-1997 Ford Aspire.

9th Apr 2007, 23:49

Ford Aspire was made by Kia in South Korea with Mazda drive train and the Rio is a continuation of this vehicle, but the Rio and the Aspire has nothing in common besides that. Different body/chassis/drive train etc. Please check your facts.

10th Jul 2009, 07:15

I bought my 02 Kia Rio in 03. Only 5 miles on it. At 48,000 miles the Flex Pipe went. Can only get it thru dealer, not auto parts store. Hood starting to rust. Is there a recall on the Flex Pipe? The replacement should be gratis.

2002 Kia Rio RXV 1.5 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carSubaru Legacy

Summary:

Great reliable family car, excellent on Gas, worth every penny!!!

Faults:

Nothing wrong... Only problems I have is that the car is very low to the ground when 4 adults in car... tends to bottom out when going over road bumps. RPM a bit high bout 4000 when in 5th gear on highway doing 100 km hour.. feels like I should shift up. Air Conditioner sucks the life out of the car... I hear 2003 engine more HP and is no longer a problem.

General Comments:

Great Family car, Good for when the kids are young. Not much leg room for adults in the back seats. Trunk space is excellent. Excellent on gas, never burns oil, easy to park easy to drive, manual transmission a bit weak, but is made up for when you get the bill for gas.

If you have a small family and you are looking for a reliable, cute, fuel efficient car that happens to be priced far less that most cars of it's age, shape, and size... grab yourself a KIA Rio RX. It rocks :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2006

2002 Kia Rio RXV from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 kilometres
Most recent distance70000 kilometres
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

This car is excellent for any individual or family!

Faults:

Clutch needed to be replaced on my manual transmission.

General Comments:

This car has been a great vehicle for me and my family.

The cargo area holds my Rottweiler/German Shepherd cross and some of our luggage!

This vehicle has not given me any problems and the warranty is excellent!

The gas mileage on this car is incredible! I never have to worry about the gas cost when we take a trip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2006

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 69 reviews