2002 Kia Rio Reviews - Page 19 of 21

2002 Kia Rio Cinco from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16200 miles
Most recent distance16400 miles
Previous carGeo Metro

Summary:

Definitely not for people who like driving fast

Faults:

So far, nothing has gone wrong with it. It starts to shake slightly around 70 mph, but it gets up to 80 and 85 mph without shaking even more. It's 98 horsepower, so that's understandable.

General Comments:

Basically, the Kia dealer didn't know much about the car. The salesman claimed it was under original factory warranty, but the lady who explained the contract said it wasn't. She didn't explain the contract very well. Also, the salesman lied to us saying he reduced the price of the car, but all he did was take off some "life insurance" that was thrown in the price of the car. If/when this car breaks down and there's no warranty as promised, there's going to be heck to pay. It has nice headroom, and is a nice little family car for my wife, but overall, the service of the dealership was unacceptable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd April, 2003

22nd Apr 2003, 21:41

I would have kept the Geo Metro you had before they are much better cars than that Kia's, I'm sure you could have found a 2001 Metro with low miles for a great deal and that would have lasted many years you wouldn't even have needed a warranty.

24th Jan 2004, 17:38

Um...if you bought the vehicle used then it is no longer under warranty. The original owner can only use the warranty. If the car is sold then the 100,000 miles 10 year warranty is terminated. You may want to have a little sit-down with the dealer…good luck.

2002 Kia Rio 1.6 from Korea

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

A Great economy Car For a Tight Budget

Faults:

The only Problem that I have had with this automobile is a rock hit the window and chipped it. Other than that it is a very reliable and cheap automobile. Two Thumbs up to those people at KIA!

General Comments:

This car is a little sluggish, but it will keep up with all of the automobiles in it's class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2003

2002 Kia Rio 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.6 / 10
Distance when acquired28 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

A piece of crap

Faults:

Transmission replaced

Clutch replaced

Timing belt replaced

CV joint replaced

Motor mounts replaced

Rubber gutter on roof replaced 3 times

Rides extremely shakey and Kia doesn't know why.

General Comments:

Whatever you do, don't buy a KIA Rio.

My check engine light came on a month after I bought it. They said it was because of something with my gas cap.

Then a couple months later, my car started shifting bad, and I'd heard a grinding sound. The transmission and clutch had to be replaced.

A while later, my engine started sounding like a fan was loose or something. It wound up being the timing belt, and I was hearing a popping, so they also had to replace a CV joint.

Recently I just had to get all three of my motor mounts changed. The car still shakes though. It shakes pretty bad from 55-65 mph, and they say there's nothing wrong.

My brakes suck too. They always did feel soft, and now are really shaky too.

I'm trying to get KIA to buy back the car, but New Mexico's lemon law is not tough enough.

Can anyone help me? I think it's time for a class action suit against Kia for making garbage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th February, 2003

13th Feb 2003, 10:21

Does car have leather bra? It will cause vibration that worsens the faster you go, because front of car is flimsy. If it has one take it off.

1st Jul 2003, 18:53

I also have a 2002 kia rio I am trying to get lemon law right now cause my car is having the same problems. I actually wrecked a week ago because the brakes fail too. My check engine light came on too and they also told me it was because of my gas cap. Kia cars are dirt.

2002 Kia Rio LS 1.5 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance9000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Barina

Summary:

Good value

Faults:

Cd player sometimes cuts out for a few seconds.

Gets stuck in second gear.

Fuel tank spits at you when it is full.

General Comments:

I purchased my Rio in May 2002, It has been a good little car and it was purchased due to the cheap price and features, the car has been good though if you leave the car on ACC then start it it will become stuck in second gear and I needed to pull over, tough once the engine is turned off and put back on it is fine, another problem I had was once I filled up the tank it would spit out petrol, I'm not sure whether this is all of the Rio's. I wrote to Kia expressing my concern about the car getting stuck in gear and spitting out petrol, they were great about it and told me to bring it in. Overall this car is very good, the engine isn't very big, but it gives a good roar!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 69 reviews