2006 Kia Rio Reviews

2006 Kia Rio 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2012
Most recent year of ownership2014
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

I don't trust this cheaply made car

Faults:

Clutch out at 123K miles.

General Comments:

The car feels cheap.

Good gas mileage.

I drive cars hard, but other cars have held up.

I feel like many things could go wrong with it at anytime.

I need to sell it soon. I don't trust it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2014

22nd Apr 2014, 07:29

So you bought a vehicle that was already 6 years old and has 99,000 miles on the odometer with an unknown previous owner, that who knows how they treated the vehicles, and you fault the vehicle due to having to replace a wear and tear item - the clutch?

Also you even admit to "I drive cars hard", so just because other vehicles have held up you assume that all vehicles will? Have all your previous vehicles been used with as many miles when purchased? Were these previous vehicles small vehicles with small engines as well? How exactly are you treating these vehicles? Sounds more like a driver issue than a vehicle reliability issue!

2006 Kia Rio LX 1.6 gasoline from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance94000 kilometres

Summary:

Love my Rio5

Faults:

Within the first two years, I had to replace two ignition coils. Dealerships were friendly and prompt with replacing them. They claimed it was a bad batch.

General Comments:

It has now been five years and 94000KM since I bought my RIO5 new. I have not had any other problems, and the car is as tight as the day I got her. It drives and looks like I bought it yesterday.

My only complaints are the stock tires P175-70-r14 are way too small for Canadian roads. I immediately upgraded them to P195-65-r14. And the engine air intake snorkel was too restrictive for lots of highway travel, so I changed it out for a larger custom one, and she now drives like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2011

2006 Kia Rio LX from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Junk junk junk!!!

Faults:

What a horrible piece of poo this car is!

O2 sensor went bad, all 4 ignition coils went bad, spark plugs went bad every couple months, catalytic converter bad.

And KIA would NOT honor any of their warranties, and this car had only 30,000 miles on it when we let it go back, because it would only run 5 mph with the pedal to the floor board!

General Comments:

Doesn't run right. Breaks down all the time. Not very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2010

15th Mar 2010, 19:54

"Doesn't run right. Breaks down all the time. Not very comfortable."

- You now know why KIA = Killed In Action.

7th Sep 2011, 21:09

KIA = Killed in Action. Oh I just love your joke!

2006 Kia Rio RS 1.6 V4 from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 V4 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired26 kilometres
Most recent distance26789 kilometres

Summary:

This car is crap!!!???!!!

Faults:

Everything from the transmission to the seats has needed to be repaired. This car is crap!!! Don't buy it.

General Comments:

Everything is crap. My eight year old can't even fit in the back seat, and he's not even 5 feet tall!!!

It fits two adults comfortably.

It takes 14.7 seconds to go from 0-100km!!!???

I am embarrassed to drive this car.

I want to get rid of it but I don't have a cliff high enough around here to roll it off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2008

12th Aug 2009, 22:43

Girlfriends Rio 5 5 speed has 20k on it and running perfectly fine. Transmission is awesome regardless of her learning standard on it. Back seats fit 3 adults fine.

6th Nov 2009, 23:12

Why did you buy it in the first place?

2006 Kia Rio from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance13900 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Good car for the money

Faults:

The passenger airbag off indicator light does not always go out when someone is sitting in the passenger seat.

The blower for the heater sometimes doesn't work in the low settings - you have to turn it all the way up to 4 and then back it down to the 1 or 2 to get it to come on.

General Comments:

Overall I think the car is very good - especially for the money. I can foresee that there will be many repairs in the future, but it has such a good warranty that I won't have to worry about anything for the first 10 years of ownership - by then I will have gotten my monies worth out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2008

Average review marks: 5.5 / 10, based on 9 reviews