2006 Kia Rio 4 cylinder from North America


I don't trust this cheaply made car


Clutch out at 123K miles.

General Comments:

The car feels cheap.

Good gas mileage.

I drive cars hard, but other cars have held up.

I feel like many things could go wrong with it at anytime.

I need to sell it soon. I don't trust it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2014

22nd Apr 2014, 07:29

So you bought a vehicle that was already 6 years old and has 99,000 miles on the odometer with an unknown previous owner, that who knows how they treated the vehicles, and you fault the vehicle due to having to replace a wear and tear item - the clutch?

Also you even admit to "I drive cars hard", so just because other vehicles have held up you assume that all vehicles will? Have all your previous vehicles been used with as many miles when purchased? Were these previous vehicles small vehicles with small engines as well? How exactly are you treating these vehicles? Sounds more like a driver issue than a vehicle reliability issue!

2006 Kia Rio LX 1.6 gasoline from North America


Love my Rio5


Within the first two years, I had to replace two ignition coils. Dealerships were friendly and prompt with replacing them. They claimed it was a bad batch.

General Comments:

It has now been five years and 94000KM since I bought my RIO5 new. I have not had any other problems, and the car is as tight as the day I got her. It drives and looks like I bought it yesterday.

My only complaints are the stock tires P175-70-r14 are way too small for Canadian roads. I immediately upgraded them to P195-65-r14. And the engine air intake snorkel was too restrictive for lots of highway travel, so I changed it out for a larger custom one, and she now drives like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2011

2006 Kia Rio LX from North America


Junk junk junk!!!


What a horrible piece of poo this car is!

O2 sensor went bad, all 4 ignition coils went bad, spark plugs went bad every couple months, catalytic converter bad.

And KIA would NOT honor any of their warranties, and this car had only 30,000 miles on it when we let it go back, because it would only run 5 mph with the pedal to the floor board!

General Comments:

Doesn't run right. Breaks down all the time. Not very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th March, 2010

15th Mar 2010, 19:54

"Doesn't run right. Breaks down all the time. Not very comfortable."

- You now know why KIA = Killed In Action.

7th Sep 2011, 21:09

KIA = Killed in Action. Oh I just love your joke!

2006 Kia Rio RS 1.6 4 cylinder from North America


This car is crap!!!???!!!


Everything from the transmission to the seats has needed to be repaired. This car is crap!!! Don't buy it.

General Comments:

Everything is crap. My eight year old can't even fit in the back seat, and he's not even 5 feet tall!!!

It fits two adults comfortably.

It takes 14.7 seconds to go from 0-100km!!!???

I am embarrassed to drive this car.

I want to get rid of it but I don't have a cliff high enough around here to roll it off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 23rd June, 2008

12th Aug 2009, 22:43

Girlfriends Rio 5 5 speed has 20k on it and running perfectly fine. Transmission is awesome regardless of her learning standard on it. Back seats fit 3 adults fine.

6th Nov 2009, 23:12

Why did you buy it in the first place?

11th Oct 2015, 12:44

I would hope in the future you would test drive a car while looking at the space for all occupants of said car. A test drive with your kid along for the ride would have jeopardized you from buying it in the first place.

11th Oct 2015, 20:26

Yes it's true. Hyundai and Kia made a lot of average to junky cars in the 2000s. But the newer ones are a lot better. But the car has done well with people that are easy on their cars, do regular maintenance and never abuse them. The only early ones that at least could take a little abuse and are somewhat reliable were the:

07 Hyundai Azera.

Hyundai Sonata/Optima 4 cylinder only.

Hyundai Tucson 05/07, not 06.

Kia Sportage 06-07.

That's it for the older ones. So used car buyers should look elsewhere if the above cars don't appeal to you.

12th Oct 2015, 15:28

For the above comment:

Hyundai Sonata, 4 cylinder only, 06-08.

Kia Optima, 4 cylinder only, 07-08.