2002 Kia Sedona Reviews - Page 9 of 26

2002 Kia Sedona from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

We love our Sedona and will most likely get another when the time comes years from now

Faults:

Makes an interesting slide-flute/whooping sound when the A/C is on at highway speeds.

General Comments:

Handles well, feels very secure, runs great.

Love the multitude of cup-holders.

My husband is 6'2", I am 5'1"; the driver and passenger seats adjust to fit both of us comfortably--don't see that every day.

We have had this van for almost 3 years and have had no problems with it at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2006

2002 Kia Sedona LX from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance50300 miles
Previous carFord Aspire

Summary:

If you buy cheap, you get cheap

Faults:

The driver's seat falling apart. Passenger door handle won't go back to the way it's supposed to. Rust spots in various spots. The air conditioner wasn't keeping cool last summer '05' and this summer, the ac won't even start. The interior rear lights work when they want to. Gas mileage isn't nearly what I thought it would be. I understand that I came from a small car into a minivan, but my mother gets better gas mileage than I do and she's got a chevy venture. My husband and I get about the same mileage and he's got a dully truck. I love the way the new 2006 looks, but I don't know if cheap is really the way to go. Thanks for your time. Illinois.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2006

2002 Kia Sedona ex from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance58500 miles

Summary:

This van stinks!!!

General Comments:

I have been battling with KIA ever since we bought it. I have brought it in several times for the same issues yet nothing is ever resolved. KIA's service department would have to be the worst I have ever come across.

I have had the battery replaced 2x, alternator replaced, fuses keep blowing, brand new brake job a month ago after replacing brakes less than a year from that and brakes are still not working properly, front left speaker on the door hasn't worked since we bought it (warranty doesn't cover that), rust going on, lights dim in and out as if not enough power.

I will never buy a KIA again. Unfortunately they have left a very bad taste in my mouth. Maybe we should stick with american cars instead!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

2002 Kia Sedona from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carMercury Villager

Summary:

Not a trustworthy or well built van

Faults:

The plastic piece in the armature for the windshield wiper broke, scared me so I thought the motor had blown up. I do not have money to keep making repairs of this sort

When I got the van I assumed the sound of it was normal for a KIA. I now find it upsetting and do not have the money to really find out what the problems are.

I will not give a good recommendation to anyone for this van. And am so sorry I bought it only 4 months ago since I am now unable to sell or trade it in.

I am a senior citizen and find this most upsetting to have to make this kind of repair.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th April, 2006

30th Apr 2006, 14:52

Depending on the mileage and how well the previous owner (s) maintained the van, you may be in luck. Many of the more costly repairs may have been already done laeving you with this recent irritant.

However, you may be in for a surprise depending on whether the timing belt was replaced. If not, well, be prepared to lay out large money. Also, this van has a history of alternator failure at about 60,000 miles, another surprise waiting for you.

How do I know this, I owned a 2002 and just traded it in on a North American van. Good luck with your Sedona.

2002 Kia Sedona EX 3.4 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carKia Pontiac Montana

Summary:

Dealer has made it a very very good deal!

Faults:

Tie Rod end (defective; replaced free)

Windshield (cracked; replaced free)

Radio/CD (shorted; replaced free)

Idler Pulley (defective; replaced free)

Rear Upholstery (split; replaced free)

Hood (paint defect; replaced free)

General Comments:

Despite some first-model-year quality issues, and the known low gas mileage (due to the heavy weight), we have enjoyed this vehicle. We knew the gas mileage estimate (20mpg), but computed that the lower vehicle price well offset that. And it did.

We love the vehicle looks and appearance, both outside and in. Looks, feels and rides "beefy", yet cushy. Turns like a truck, but that's what it is, so that's OK.

We very much like the wood grain accents.

What I must say is that our Dealer has been EXCELLENT and Gracious!!! I read that other dealers have stonewalled folks re all the known problems (see above), but our Dealer has been absolutely wonderful, apologetic, and has fixed and replaced everything for FREE! I highly applaud and recommend HEART KIA in Poughkeepsie, NY!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2006

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 87 reviews