2000 Kia Sephia Reviews - Page 5 of 18

2000 Kia Sephia LS ? from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission ? Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired5000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carKia toyota tercel

Summary:

Thrifty, but expect repair costs

Faults:

I had to replace brake pads/rotors three times - the first time at 7000 miles!

Shifting assembly got stuck (might have been the victim of a coffee spill)

Alternator just went at 85000.

The dashboard padding is sticking out at the vents.

General Comments:

Just drove her cross-country with no problems.

Absolutely no pickup when the a/c is on.

I think whatever I have spent in repairs is more than paid for in the money I have saved from getting such good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th July, 2006

2000 Kia Sephia standard from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carCadillac Escalade

Summary:

A very reliable car

Faults:

Burnout clutch at 60,000 miles.

General Comments:

It handles excellent, no problem at all, after 127,000 miles still running like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2006

2000 Kia Sephia 1.8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 miles
Most recent distance117000 miles
Previous carDodge Stratus

Summary:

Okay for what I paid

Faults:

O/D light flashes on and off and engine light is on. Code P0734 gear ratio 4.

General Comments:

The car looks really nice inside and out. It drives fairly well. I recently bought this car at a car auction. We are building a house so I needed to save money so this was the best route. I have only had it for a week. I replaced the tires, spare plugs, filter, and had the oil changed when I first got it. The same day we got it the O/D light started flashing and the check engine light came on. We took it to auto zone to have it scanned and it came back P0734 which is the gear ratio for 4th gear. I am unsure what this means, and hoping it isn't going to cost a lot of money. But the car drives well and it has made it to 117000 miles so surely it isn't too bad of a vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th March, 2006

28th Mar 2007, 12:10

That's good to know because I might buy a 2001 Kia Sephia for my college commute which is only 5 minutes.

2000 Kia Sephia from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance36526 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheap poorly built econobox

Faults:

Engine problems @11,000 electrical problems from day one wheel bearing went out trunk won't stay close raido works when it wants to carpet is cheap and wears quickly ignition switch replaced list goes on and on.

General Comments:

Piece of crap handles like crap I know it's a econobox, but my ford escort with 150k was way better in every way too bad I sold it I wanted a newer car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th March, 2006

30th Mar 2006, 16:55

What's astonishing is Kia's leap in quality between '00 and '06. It's a shame people won't try a brand again after their particular car performs poorly. I like the Ford Fusion, but I wouldn't buy one after owning a Ford Focus.

11th Jul 2006, 09:33

I'm confused, did I buy a one of a kind for my son?

I bough this 2000 sephia with 50,000 miles in 2002, for my 17 years old son to learn to drive; "Surprise" it's 2006 and now with 127,000 miles still running great.

It's still running with the original plugs/hoses/cables/and gas filter, and the reason is, my son is trying hard for me to buy him a $34,000 Mazda RX8, (sorry son).

He hit a big pot hole at high speed and demolished the tire (no problem to the front end) and rear ended a big car, no damage to the Kia,$1500 repair for the other car, well this are the only times I was told because I have to pay, I only can imagine what he don't tell me. Thanks Kia.

2000 Kia Sephia from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carChevrolet forgotton

Summary:

I Like It

Faults:

Emergency brake cables needed replacement.

General Comments:

Was a Demo car. Have had one problem with it in six years. Slightly low on power, but sufficient. Handles OK overall, but shaky on snow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

2000 Kia Sephia from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired58000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

Very good vehicle for the money

Faults:

Since purchasing this vehicle used 2 years ago with 58,000, I have experienced very few problems.

Replaced front brake pads, and new brake shoes in the rear around 70,000 miles.

Replaced battery during first winter season due to weak starting power. Since replacing the battery (which appeared to be the original KIA battery from 2000) it has gone through two winters starting like a champ in even sub zero temperatures with no problems.

General Comments:

All in all this has been the most cost effectve vehicle I have ever purchased. I paid only $2000 for this vehicle in 2004 with just over 58k miles. I wanted a small vehicle with good gas mileage to use for my 35 mile work commute, and this KIA has done just that for the past two years.

Seats are comfortable, no major complaints.

Runs and drives smooth, lots of pickup, shifts well with the manual transmission. No complaints at all.

Handles well in the snow, so light just tools right over the weathered roads.

Rear seats fold down for added trunk space.

Not much leg room at all for back seat passengers. Front is OK as seats can be repositioned.

Bottom line, my KIA has served me well thus far and is running strong approaching 100k miles with no out of the ordinary problems what so ever. With a $2000 price tag I'd say this is the most economical used car on the market today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 65 reviews