2005 Kia Sorento Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2005 Kia Sorento EX 3.5 V6 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance1760 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Excellent vehicle

Faults:

The Sorento is a wonderful vehicle.

It handles very well on and off road. The interior is dynamic, prestigious looks and comfortable seating.

General Comments:

I absolutely love the vehicle and I would certainly buy another Sorento for sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2005

22nd Oct 2006, 21:13

The Kia Brand has no street cred and they make rubbish cars like the Rio and the Optima (ready for scrap heap as soon as they come off production line). It baffles me that anyone would buy a Sorento (which has poor ride, is heavy and thirsty) when you can buy a Suzuki Grand Vitara (which is a great car) for the same price. cheers.

5th Nov 2006, 21:32

I don't agree.

I test drove both before deciding on the Sorento.

I found the Sorento to have a more solid feel when driving.

For Quality I found both to have the same interior finish, but the exterior finish on the Sorento I thought to be superior.

Bang for buck you get a lot more on the Sorento. Mine came with leather seats.

Reputations change. What was bad 10 years ago might not be bad now. I don't care if people laugh when I say I got a KIA. I remember the same thing when I bought a Skoda Octavia. Best car I ever owned.

If I remember rightly Suzuki was a bit of a joke until time and good cars removed the stigma.

I notice KIA is beginning to pick up some customer satisfaction awards. This will probably mean a price hike. Time to find another 'underestimated' car brand?

2005 Kia Sorento EX 4WD 3.5 Liter from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance800 miles
Previous carGMC Jimmy

Summary:

The Sorento is what smaller SUV's should be, and now are, thanks to KIA

Faults:

Passenger side airbag switch has issues. Sometimes it is off when there is a passenger in it. You have to raise up for six seconds to get it to reset. Requires a trip into the service department.

General Comments:

Compares favorably to all SUV's in this class. We went from a GMC Jimmy to the Sorento, and we could not be happier.

The EX 4WD with the automatic transmission and 4 wheel disk brakes, drives nicely in the city and on our country roads. The automatic transmission control slides to the right and allows you to select up and down through the gears manually, allowing terrific control on hilly roads.

The four wheel disk brakes are fantastic for quick stops. There is very little diving when applied as an emergency simulation.

The acceleration is quick and smooth, it performs well in city traffic.

It has nicely appointed features, and is easily a luxury type small SUV.

I have driven four wheel drive SUV's for 20 years and my Sorento test drive was on the hairy edge of sanity on a back road. I was anxious to prove to my wife that a Korean SUV wouldn't compare to the other similar SUV's we were considering. I was wrong. I was sold. I might buy another one as the budget allows for it compared to what we were going to buy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2005

23rd Jan 2006, 19:30

I bought a 2005 KIA Sorento EX 4WD in November 2005. I have just over 2300 miles on it and it is great. The vehicle looks good and handles well on the highway and in the snow. The interior is well appointed. I never planned on buying leather seats, but with the Sorento they are nice. Even have seat warmers!!!

Had the 4WD going right after buying it and driving in the snow was a blast!!! I recommend it highly.

17th Apr 2007, 23:39

I have read the other comments on the Sorento, and it seems that they have all done very low mileage. I do like the Sorento, but the service STINKS - local in South Africa as well as backup from Korea. My Sorento's seatbelt reminder chime continues to beep after the engagement of the seatbelt (intermittently) and then I also get this strange sound from my front RH wheel. This was reported immediately to the dealer (+- 1000km) who suggested I drive until the noise gets worse on the wheel and regarding the chime, this will be fixed with the first service. First the seatbelt harness was replaced with no luck. Then the dealer says that ALL Sorento's have this problem and actually it's standard and I need to insert the seatbelt before I start the vehicle. (Why then fit a reminder?) I contacted Korea who suggested replacing the "Electronic Unit', this was done and still the problem continues. From this day forward I get NO response from Kia SA nor from KIA - KOREA. (They probably hope the problem will disappear by itself)

With regards to the wheel problem, still got the same noise and going on 45000km with NO help from the dealer.

Makes you think doesn't it!

2005 Kia Sorento EX luxury 3.5 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.5 litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carHolden Acclaim

Summary:

It is a seriously good car

Faults:

Nil.

General Comments:

The Sorento has exceeded every expectation I had. I have never owned a 4 wheel drive before and so I test drove a Mazda Tribute V6, Mitsubishi Outlander, Hyundai Santa Fe and Nissan Xtrail. I found that the Sorento surpassed all of the other vehicles in all of my key areas, size, power, features and value for money. Like most Australians, I had previously owned large 6 cylinder cars and the Sorento came closest in size and features. So far it has been an absolute pleasure to own and drive. It is so comfortable and quiet that it is like driving a normal passenger car. The only difference is that it has seriously good off road capabilities. All of my friends agree that it looks great. This car is a winner!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2005

2nd Sep 2005, 04:42

There is a 5 year Manufacturers Warranty, not too shabby!!

31st Oct 2005, 14:56

Even a wheel barrow has a warranty and it's no doubt much more reliable.

5th Jan 2006, 08:01

Got my Kia Sorento new in August 2003, 73000km done, nothing has gone wrong. Been to the African bush on bad dirt roads numerous trips; no creaks nor cracks on the car.

That proves it...

Ingo Steinhage

Cape Town

South Africa.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 20 reviews