2011 Kia Sorento 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Misrepresented mileage, would not buy another one

Faults:

I bought the 4 cylinder model because it was supposed to get 30 mpg on the highway. This vehicle has never gotten above 22.5 mpg on the highway. I took it to the dealer; they essentially said to drive slower.

General Comments:

Comfort is OK.

Bluetooth works most of the time, if not, the dealership blames the phone.

Would not buy another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th April, 2012

20th Apr 2012, 19:15

Consumer reports considers that a midsize SUV, and its tests show it gets about 20mpg overall. And if you are going to trust a government agency to tell you what it's going to get... you are in real trouble. Our government is good at starting wars and getting in debt, but not much else.

The Internet is filled with information on what a car/truck/SUV should get in the real world. Do your homework before you buy your next vehicle.

28th Sep 2012, 14:29

Kia doesn't set the MPG's printed on the MSRP, just like every other car dealer doesn't... the government does. I own a 2012 Sorento, and I manage 28 MPG in town and 33 on the highway...

2011 Kia Sorento EX 6 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Best vehicle I have owned, highly recommended

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

This is a great vehicle, and one of only a few in its class. We were looking for a small to mid sized 7 seater, that was reliable and eye appealing, and we found it in the 2011 Sorento.

The power train is excellent with loads of power, and the 6 speed transmission makes passing a breeze.

The interior is nice, with only a few flaws in my mind, which are the driving position is not that great, as there are no arm rests, and the mid console is too low to rest your elbow on. The road handling is good, and the ride is a little stiff, but it is a $25000 Kia, not an $80000 Mercedes.

I would highly recommend this vehicle to anyone looking for an affordable, comfortable vehicle that seats 7, and has excellent reviews and an awesome warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th December, 2011

16th Aug 2014, 22:54

Update to my original post:

Both keyless entry fobs' batteries died, not covered under warranty.

Rust spots around windshield and rear glass, not covered.

Rear wheel bearing went, replaced under warranty, but $600 to replace rear brakes.

Oil leak from sending unit, warranty.

Just turned 102000 km and the batteries in the keyless entry are dead again, not covered.

Second rear wheel bearing gone, not covered.

No longer the best vehicle I have ever owned, will never buy an import again. Think twice before you buy a Kia.

2011 Kia Sorento EX 4 cylinder from North America

Faults:

A very good car except for the gas mileage. Beware! You will not get the miles per gallon that Kia says you should. I appealed and got nowhere with Kia. I feel deceived and cheated with the 4 cylinder engine. I am a senior driver and get 20.5 mpg. Terrible mpg. Beware, beware!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 2011

17th Jul 2011, 23:28

I have a 2012 Sorento 4 cylinder AWD. I love it. 20.5 is great fuel economy. My 97 Silverado gets 8 mpg.

30th Aug 2011, 11:51

Me too; an owner of 2011 Kia Sorento. So far so good... Gas mileage is not that bad, in fact quite good when you think about how big is it...

23rd Nov 2011, 20:06

Some KIA Sorento I4 owners have complained about their gas mileage. In many cases, it is much less than the V6, particularly when carrying loads, used in hilly regions, or where the transmission has to downshift a lot. The I4 Sorento , particularly the AWD, is somewhat under powered for the vehicle's weight, and thus the engine must work hard to feel sprinty. On flat terrain, most report that it gets about 24-26mpg, which is good for AWD, however once in heavy, fast moving, but stop and go traffic; or running with 4 or more people; or in hilly areas, the mileage really drops. However, depending upon your type of driving, over 20mpg might be reasonable. The newer direct injection I4 is much better, and the V6 outdoes both overall, if under anything but almost empty conditions. That is also why you will find so many more used I4s for sale than V6s.

28th Sep 2012, 14:32

Again... Kia does not "say" it will get anything... The government puts the ESTIMATED MPG on the moroney stickers.