2005 Kia Spectra Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2005 Kia Spectra 5 2.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance8100 miles
Previous carChevrolet Corsica

Summary:

Weak engine

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

This car has poor fuel economy for its size. I owned another car (5 years old) with bigger engine and got better mileage!

The engine makes a lot of noise and don't go anywhere fast. All bark and no bite. Could be a safety concern during freeway merging. The car just doesn't have enough horsepower.

Nice interior fit and finish. Better than some of the luxury cars. However, the leather on steering wheel is too slippery.

You do get a lot of features for the money paid.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th December, 2005

23rd Jan 2006, 14:45

My Spectra 5 has plenty of power and I never have problem merging onto a highway or over taking another vehicle.

8th Apr 2006, 00:13

I agree with the last comment, My Spectra 5 is an automatic and has plenty of power to merge. I have no problem staying up with traffic at 70 mph and not even know I am going that fast. This is a great car!

2005 Kia Spectra ex from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance5400 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

Fantastic overpriced economy car

Faults:

No problems.

General Comments:

The KIA is a very nice small car. The stereo, a/c, and engine seem great.

Too bad it costs too much. This is a fantastic car at $9,000 but the sticker is $14,000. The hood and trunk don't seem solid, kind of "tinny". That is expected with low priced cars, as is the ride, almost feeling the rough texture of pavement. But $14,000 isn't low.

I feel this car needs a much bigger price gap. If someone can't buy one for $9,999, test drive a small Buick, the Kia is no match on ride.

I plan on keeping my KIA many years and will buy another if the price is right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th December, 2005

3rd Jan 2006, 16:55

What world are living in? There are no new cars for $9000 anymore. What small Buick? Buicks are junk.

3rd Jan 2006, 22:06

Buicks are great cars. They are well built, offer a very nice highway ride, and have a lot of options for the price. In 2003 the Buick Century was rated more reliable then a 2003 Toyota Camry by JD Power and Assoc. Check your facts before you stick your foot in your mouth.

16th Jan 2006, 11:07

I purchased my Kia Spectra for $9,000 once all the rebates went through. No one pays the sticker price on a car especially a Kia...hahaha.

23rd Jan 2006, 14:54

I agree that you can't get a new car at a sticker price of $9000 but, you can haggle and get them to come off the $14,000 sticker price. I paid $9100.00 (after trade in) for my Spectra 5 and it is now a year old with 21,000 miles on it. New Buick's are of good quality, but, I have never seen a new one for $14,000.

2005 Kia Spectra Spec V 1.8 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired35 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles

Summary:

KIA has a nice product, but the front effects must be lifted in some way

Faults:

The front effects on the vehicle came off. After looking over the car the front effects are real close to the ground. The vehicle was driven through the streets during a rain storm and the effects came off. KIA's regional manager won't replace because there are scuffs on the bottom of the effects. I've had the car for 1 1/2 months and it has 1,200 miles on it.

General Comments:

The car runs great!

Has a very smooth ride.

I truly like the car just hate that the front effects came off.

The car handles nice just watch for streets that increase in ground grade.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st August, 2005

3rd Aug 2005, 16:19

I totally agree with you that the car definetly looks and runs great, but the front "effects" need to be re-vamped! I only put on less than 500 miles and the front "effects popped down, who's to say that the scuffs didn't happen after it dropped down. So I agree 100%.

16th Oct 2006, 10:12

I too have had the same thing happen to me.

Front ground effect came off in storm. Was loose already. Dealer will do nothing. Looking for aftermarket parts.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 13 reviews