2000 Kia Sportage Reviews - Page 10 of 17

2000 Kia Sportage EX 2.0L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Great first car!

Faults:

Brakes have worn out from normal use.

Rotors and Calipers might need replaced, but this is my fault.

Engine light has been on, but nothing has gone wrong with the car.

Had to replace the alternator.

General Comments:

Has been very reliable, even though I've beaten it up pretty badly being a teenager.

Acceleration is fine for what it is.

Gets good gas mileage on the highways. I would drive from western Michigan to Indianapolis every weekend, and it was nice not having to get gas until I was half way home after my trip. About 300 miles per tankful.

Very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th June, 2004

2000 Kia Sportage 2WD 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

Cheap car for a cheap price, what do you expect?

Faults:

Leaking brake fluid.

O2 sensor replaced at 70000 miles.

General Comments:

The engine has always sounded horrible, but really never has cut out or anything bad.

The gas mileage is terrible for a light 4-cyl SUV.

Not comfortable, not much room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th April, 2004

2000 Kia Sportage EX 2.0 DOHC 16v 130hp from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC 16v 130hp Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance45000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Bargain car, bargain price, bargain performance

Faults:

No problems as of yet.

General Comments:

I'm a fan of Sport Compact Cars... so what am I doing driving a KIA?? LOL. Well beggars couldn't be choosy since the 2000 Kia Sportage was a Christmas present (received in December 2003)... and a GOOD GIFT it has been.

Like I said I like Sport Compact Cars, and I enjoy spirited driving every once in a while. I've driven cars like 2001 Volkswagen GTi VR6, 1996 Mitsubishi Eclipse GS-T, 1996 Mitsubishi Galant S, and 1994 Nissan Sentra XE. The Kia is not a sport compact car and it shows during acceleration... 0-60 12.1, but once up to speed the Sportage can keep up with the pace. I've left people on the highway SLACK JAWED that their car was beaten by a stock Kia Sportage. What I'm trying to say... I LIKE THIS CAR / SUV. I'm one of those lucky who is not experiencing any problems. So far I've racked up about 10,000 problem free miles with the Sportage.

What I don't like about the Kia Sportage is when the 4WD drive system is off, it's RWD (Rear Wheel Drive). RWD is OK when the roads are dry. Once the road is wet or covered with snow, 4WD MUST BE ON. Otherwise, the 4WD system has kept the Sportage going forward in rain, and snow.

What I am not satisfied with a stock KUMHO 798 tires, they lose GRIP TOO QUICK. I will be replacing them with Yokohama AVID Touring tires (80,000 mile warranty) instead.

I'll keep you posted

mflogistics@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th March, 2004

22nd Aug 2005, 08:33

Kia is a throw away car! anybody who buys a kia must not know anything about cars or is flat out too cheap to buy a real car. why be cheap with yourself?? EVERYONE IS LAUGHING AT YOU!!

2000 Kia Sportage from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

A total lemon!

Faults:

Since I bought this car in April 2003, I've had to take it in for repairs four times for the same problem. All the gages stop working and the car loses power. The dealer couldn't figure out what was wrong with it! They finally told me the wiring harness needed to be replaced and would cost me $1,000!!! I will try to get rid of this car as soon as possible! I will never buy another KIA.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 2004

2000 Kia Sportage X 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance113000 kilometres
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Cute an cheap, but noisy an expensive to repair

Faults:

Noisy motor.

4x4 system started to make noise at 21000km an still do it. The Kia service never find the problem.

My cup holder broke without any good raison.

My radiator was dead after only 2years an a half.

Rust appear after the first winter on the spare tire rack.

General Comments:

I have a bad truck an a bad service from the dealer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th February, 2004

2000 Kia Sportage EX 4WD from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 0 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.2 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Don't ever ever buy one!!!

Faults:

The four wheel drive has been replaced twice.

Wiring has either burned out or gone bad in some form or another, such as the radio and dome lights going out, then coming back on. Windshield wiper blades have turned on for no reason.

The alarm doesn't sound sometimes when the doors are locked with the remote.

The fan settings have stopped working in the second and third position.

The paint is failing and the frame that carries the spare is rusting and tainting the paint on the bumper.

Rims are already pitted.

Noisy cabin.

Lousy placement of the cupholders and cruise control buttons.

I can go on and on, but in general, this SUV sucks, there's a reason they give you a sick warranty.

General Comments:

I take really good care of my cars, I don't have a lot of money so I try to make things last as long as possible. There is no way I or any Sportage owner can be held responsible for the stuff that goes wrong with this car. Mine is only three years old and has 22,000 miles on it and the four wheel drive has to be replaced again! It left me stranded in a snow storm without it just when I needed it the most, and YES, I do engage it once a month and if it rains bad. This car is so cheaply made and I don't feel safe in it at all.

I keep it in a garage, the dealer's garage that is, because that's where it seems to spend most of it's time.

Please, don't buy this care without reading more reviews on it!

I feel bad for everyone who owns one.

I think the people who like and have had no problems with it just got lucky, or live in the south where they don't need an SUV. Let's see what they say in a few thousand more miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 5th December, 2003

5th Dec 2003, 19:20

Sorry to hear that..but..i knew kia was garbage years ago.. i only had hoped you had done some research before hand. next time.. u live and learn.. I actually own a kia.. a ford festiva.. it is the ONLY good vehicle KIA makes. all other kia is poorly made. sell it asap!

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews