2000 Kia Sportage 4 cylinder from North America


One of the best 4x4's available!


The auto hubs ceased to work due to the vacuum pump failing.

General Comments:

I've had almost no problems with this car. The auto hubs went out due to the vacuum pump failing, so I replaced them with manual hubs (easy fix, parts about $100 and about a half hour of my time). Absolutely no other problems in over 100,000 miles!

Very economical (about 25mpg) and will easily give stock Jeeps a run off-road. Well behaved on highway performance, if somewhat underpowered.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2003

21st Feb 2004, 17:54

I have 50K and have had no problems. It is a 2000 and I love it.

23rd Nov 2004, 16:30

I own a 2000 Kia Sportage and love it. Many people claim to have so many problems with them. I believe this is simply because the owners are not taking very well care of the vehicle. Kias are WONDERFUL cars, especially the Sportage!

7th Mar 2006, 10:35

I have a 2000 KIA Sportage in Thailand. It has been a very good vehicle. I have had only minor problems. Gas mileage is less than I would have hoped (~ 20 mpg), but the four wheel drive works well. Other Sportage owners tell me the vacuum hubs will fail. I will replace them with manual hubs when they do.

2000 Kia Sportage Base from North America


A good SUV at a small price


Two days after I had the vehicle it was back in the dealer for a replacement of the shifter knob.

Three weeks later I noticed a leak under the hood and the master cylinder was replaced. Luckily I had purchased an extended warranty.

Both of the cup holders had to be fixed. The back seat ashtray was missing and replaced.

The seat belt would not stay buckled, entire mechanism replaced.

The check engine light comes on now and no body knows why.

General Comments:

I enjoy the room and somewhat spacious interior. It has come in handy many more times than my previous Miata and it always starts when I need it too. The air conditioner and heater is great and makes traveling a breeze.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th February, 2003

2000 Kia Sportage from North America


KIA stands for Keep It A@&


One week after purchase of the vehicle the windows would not roll down (electric) The driver window is off track and takes several attempts to roll up completely.

The transmission slips and when stopped on an incline with the vehicle in drive it will roll back when you take your foot off the brake.

Seat belts have twisted so that it makes it impossible to position the belts securely.

Spare tire holder does not latch.

General Comments:

Very uncomfortable to ride in.

Poor design of console. Difficulty to adjust temperature settings.

Impossible to get into the hatch area if you have anything in your hands too many steps to open and close.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd January, 2003

2000 Kia Sportage EX 2.0 from North America


All around good deal


Oxygen sensor failed at 20,000 miles. Dealer replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

The engine is a little underpowered for expressway driving, especially when towing. Installing an aftermarket (K&N) filter seemed to help.

Back-seat passengers like the elevated seating.

The ride is comfortable enough, although some people may feel it is a little to stiff. Some of the other mini-suv's ride more like a mini-van. This is a truck frame, not uni-body.

Be sure to research the dealership as well as you do the vehicle. They will make the difference in your experience as an owner and KIA dealerships aren't as widely planted as the more popular car companies.

You do get what you pay for, so don't expect a Lexus. You may be surprised though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

2000 Kia Sportage EX 4.0 liter from North America


A great little go-getter!


There are only two things that have ever gone wrong with my KIA Sportage. The first was a slight rattling noise under the driver's side. I went to our local dealership and they replaced the center silencer cover because the original bolts had rusted and were coming off. Living in South Dakota with all of our snow, this is very understandable.

While at the dealership I mentioned in passing that I would like to get the power windows looked at some time, as they we not rolling down or up. The technician asked me when I bought the vehicle and I told him August 2001. He said that the windows were part of a service campaign that KIA was hosting and that he could fix them free of charge. Because the mileage was so low on my Sportage, he could also replace the center silencer cover under the warranty.

Basically, I had only two problems the entire time I've owned this vehicle, and both were fixed quickly and without charge. I had over $600 worth of service done that day and I didn't pay a dime! This car has run great since!

General Comments:

The interior is quite comfortable and roomy. I always have plenty of room for groceries or other packages.

The steering wheel and driver's console are well placed and comfortable to reach.

The 4-wheel drive is wonderful and has gotten me through many near-accidents on the snowy, slippery roads of South Dakota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2002

29th Sep 2002, 10:44

I wasn't aware Kia made a 4.0 liter for any of their vehicles...