2000 Kia Sportage Reviews - Page 4 of 17

2000 Kia Sportage LX 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired84000 miles
Most recent distance84900 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

A complete heap, and a disaster of a car!

Faults:

Engine needed totally replaced.

Petrol tank then replaced because of multiple leaks.

Starter motor then had to be fixed as all fuses blew.

Interior is rotten.

Car rattles.

General Comments:

Absolutely painful. As an Irishman, please everyone in the World, despite any good comments, this car is the worst car on the planet. I don't know why Atletico Madrid are sponsored by Kia!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th December, 2009

30th Jan 2010, 17:05

How old is this review, what is the age of this car?

Kia are giving 7yr warranty for goodness sake.

Would you like to give a bit more information on why you make these comments???

I only ask as I am thinking about buying one, and see them as a good value for money towcar.

I am going to buy new, if I do buy one.

2000 Kia Sportage from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance142683 miles
Previous carChevrolet 3104 Pickup

Summary:

Great

Faults:

The only problem I have had is that the check engine light came on, and it was because the fuel filter needed replaced.

General Comments:

This car will fly even though it's a four cylinder. I can drive at 120 and just hold it there. I think the main reason it goes fast is because it's a standard, but it's a beast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2009

2000 Kia Sportage from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance93000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

This car is a really big headache

Faults:

The O2 went out. The exhaust manifold decided to take a crap, at 93000 miles, while my Taurus exhaust manifold took a crap at 130000.

Now it has shot the battery out. The battery has only been in there for less than a year. It also killed the spark plugs by the oil getting into the heads some how. It's been worked on for 2 months now. Issues and more issues keep coming up.

General Comments:

My girlfriend thought it would be a good car. It's been less than a year since she has owned it. The previous owner didn't tell her what issues he had with it at the time of purchase.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th June, 2009

2000 Kia Sportage EX 2.2 liter from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.2 liter Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance223000 miles
Previous carVolvo S80

Summary:

Decent for the money

Faults:

Nothing, 5 speed, highway driven, oil changed every 3000 miles, all other fluids changed to factory specs.

Everything still original; A/C, gaskets changed, no leaks, runs good.

No 4wd, this is a basic 5 speed manual 2wd.

General Comments:

Feels heavy duty,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2009

2000 Kia Sportage from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles

Summary:

It is a piece of junk, and I can't wait until I can afford to get something decent

Faults:

4 wheel drive had to be replaced with hubs.

Starter.

CJ shaft and bolt.

Heater motor.

Rusting out.

General Comments:

I thought this was going to be an enjoyable little car, but it has caused nothing but trouble and eaten up tons of money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd February, 2009

2000 Kia Sportage EX 1.?? from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.?? Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance189000 miles
Previous carKia 88 & 92 Ford Festiva (built by Kia)

Summary:

Must have been built on a Wednesday. I would love to have another

Faults:

1st year dealer replaced front hub seals. Kia built with only one seal and should been two. The redesigned and had two seal hubs for the replacement. Problem with one seal is moisture is sucked into the hub during cooling and the hub rusts out.

Approximately 150.000 miles had to replace the front drive shaft.

Approximately 186,000 miles had to replace the fuel pump.

General Comments:

This car had many hard miles as a delivery vehicle with only normal maintenance except for the items listed as problems. I removed the rear seat and often had 1500lb loads. I got 65k miles on OEM tires, then replaced with BFG's and got 105k on the first set. I really loved driving this vehicle especially after putting on the BFG's. Although the car leans like the tower of Pisa it stuck to the road like glue.

At 188k miles and oil changes every 8k - yep 8k - still going 1/2 qt between changes. Never failed to start. Plowed through 10 - 12 inches of snow like it wasn't there.

Then on 8/14/08 some stupid a** kid running from the police about 60mph rear ended my little baby shoving it into my wife's Subaru and shoving it into the rear of my 97 T&C. She expired a brutal death having served proudly and faithfully for almost 10 years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2008

Average review marks: 5.1 / 10, based on 62 reviews