2001 Kia Sportage Reviews - Page 10 of 12

2001 Kia Sportage LX 2.0 Liter DOHC from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter DOHC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14054 miles
Most recent distance14123 miles
Previous carFord Aerostar

Summary:

Its an incredibly good deal for what I got.

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with my Kia. It has proven to be very reliable and dependable.

General Comments:

I really like everything about mine, with the exception of it doesn't have cruise control. But that isn't a big deal. Its just a little different than my previous vehicle. Overall I like my Kia a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

2001 Kia Sportage 1.5 ltr from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 ltr Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired5350 miles
Most recent distance12300 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

A pile of junk

Faults:

At purchase, battery was dead, blown fuse links, park-shift inter lock device, rear windows and radio did not work.

Thirty days to the date of delivery, battery went dead. Replaced under warranty.

Sixty days from delivery, dead battery, again.

Four months later, again dead battery, and park-shift interlock device not working. Battery replaced under warranty, but park-shift interlock part had to be ordered.

Eighteen days later, dead battery. The Sportage was in the shop from 10-18-02 to 11-4-02 having numerous electrical parts replaced. I picked up the vehicle and did not make the 30 mile trip home for the car to over heat and the a/c was not working. Back to the dealer she went and still sits.

General Comments:

The Kia sportage has serious electrical problems. I've been told the Kia battery is not strong enough for the vehicle it was designed for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th November, 2002

2001 Kia Sportage LX Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Gas Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance21600 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

So unreliable it's not trustworthy enough to be a parts car in a junk yard

Faults:

I had minor problems with the outside mirror not working on remote, repaired under warranty. No problem.

I have had the dashboard engine warning light come on more times then I am able to count. Nine or more times the car has stalled when the light began to flash. Of those times the car started and eventually ran okay, twice, seven times I had it towed to the dealer.

Seven times it has been towed to the dealer and repaired. Six times I have been told the car was repaired. The last time I was told they "thought" they had found the problem.

I picked it up on a Tuesday evening this is Thursday morning and as I write this the car is on a flat bed wrecker in route to the dealer. The dash, check engine light came on, started flashing and I limped home, 20 minutes to travel 1.5 miles. The dealer is exasperated. They have no idea what to do next. I can't reach anyone higher then customer service at KIA's worthless 800 number, to get repairs. Repairs are not working and KIA of North America is not willing to help on a trade for a reliable vehicle.

I own two Spectra's for family members and this Sportage for me. KIA's buyer loyalty does not exist. There solution is "fix it" while I sit without a car and can't trust it when I get it back. They should find a way to trade if for a non-lemon. I am pursuing the lemon law, but that takes too much time. I did mark price as excellent the repair cost all work seems to be covered by warranty. However, if your without transportation, their rental policy is $15.00 for three days maximum, them paying for repairs means nothing when your car brakes down weekly, your still on foot.

KIA should pay me to just this SUV. I will not, nor will my family or friends ever buy another KIA.

General Comments:

I will not name the dealer. I believe they have done all they possibly can to fix my car. The problem is in the poor, poor quality of this Sportage engine and electrical system and lack of KIA backing. I have a special circumstances in that I need my car to visit my terminally ill father who lives 1800 miles away from me and 400 from the nearest city to fly into. Kia has put me in a situation where I may not see him again. Yet they will not go the extra mile to trade the car, even when I am ready, able and willing to carry the upside down amount in my new payments. This is truly a corporation without heart. No matter who one talks to at KIA, North America, their not responsible. All they can do is pass you on to customer service. Customer service has no authority to do anything, but see if the warranty is being honored. The company is terrible and that is a complement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

8th Jun 2003, 00:37

I agreed with these comments. I have test driven several Kia's Sportage, Spectra and Rio. All of them idled roughly. The only Kia model that I know that did not do this was the Kia Optima.

11th Jan 2004, 12:52

Maybe you can try taking the vehicle to Mazda. I know it sounds expensive, but they designed the engine and it sounds like the KIA computer is just garbage. Mazda will want about $2000 (guess) for a new FE3 engine computer if they can get it, but it might just fix this car.

11th Nov 2005, 12:22

What are you going to do when the warranty runs out and you can't trade it in, that's where I'm at.

18th Nov 2009, 02:55

I believe some people are mentioning earlier model Sportages, as 2001 and onwards did not have things like "rear wheel covers" (seeing as the spare was mounted underneath).

It is known that the earlier models had problems. Apparently most of these were sorted with the 2001 update.

Average review marks: 5.0 / 10, based on 48 reviews